We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, peaceful, welcoming and unique”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Myself and my husband stayed in Dar Charkia, a lovely riad tucked away in the back streets of the centre of the busy old town of Medina, Marrakech. It's the perfect peaceful antidote to the hot bustling streets of the city. The plunge pool in the courtyard surrounded by an eclectically decorated orange tree and relaxing seating area helps! The owners, Michael and Lisa, made us feel welcome straight away and were without doubt responsible for the enjoyment of our stay in Marrakech. They advised us on the best restaurants to go to as well as which market traders in the souks to visit or avoid, with very useful bartering tips! Nothing was too much to ask. The attention to detail in terms of service and decor in the riad is definitely high end and made our romantic weekend away feel very luxurious. Rose petals strewn on the floor of our bathroom being one example. Unfortunately the interior design throughout was so good that it inspired us to try and mimic it back home which has ended up in us buying half of Marrakech in the process! I thoroughly recommend Dar Charkia for anyone wanting a special and memorable stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

From the moment we arrived we were treated with a warm and friendly greeting. We were made thoroughly welcome and relaxed. Our needs were soon recognised and advice was flowing on an individual basis, so our stay in Marrakech was all we wanted it to be. The accommodation was very tasteful and classy without losing its charm and intimacy. The service was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Lisa and Michael made everyone feel special and at home. The location was ideal if you wish to get the true Marrakech experience, although it can be a bit of a culture shock if you have not stayed within the old town walls before, but we feel this added to the whole experience. We would definitely recommend Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix01Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We chose Marrakech for the weather, culture, chic riads and fine dining, we were not disappointed. Lisa sorted a great itinerary for a 50th B'day trip, with shopping, golf and restaurants. The riad felt like home from home, cool and spacious, fully equiped for every eventuality with great staff on hand to top up the beer/vino etc. The rooms were fantastic with individualised decor, classy lighting and beautiful touches everywhere. The communal areas and roof terrace were spectacular providing space for eating, drinking and just chilling out (aided by an extensive CD collection). It was great to share a drink with Lisa and Michael and hear about the history of Marrakech together with the current gossip and best places to shop. The riad was beautifully positioned in the Medina only a short walk from the main square and near the taxi rank by the Palace, so access was a breeze. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks Lisa & Michael.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srjmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Some of our pals stayed in Dar Charkia earlier in the year so we knew we would like it, and Wow it was great!

Marrakech is a full-on, crazy busy shopping, haggling heaven...if you didn't have an oasis to retreat to I think you'd go loopy.

Behind the unassuming walls and wooded door of the riyadh lies a serene and tranquil paradise. A great blend of beautful interior design mixing traditional Marrakech and asian pieces in a very modern and calming style. Calm, cool, and hip.

We stayed in the Douiria suite - which is their largest room. It was gorgeous - well worth spending a little bit more for if you can stretch to it.

Lisa has a great eye which along with Michael and her advice on souks to go to, inspired our shopping all weekend....DHL were the main beneficiaries!

Definitely have lunch in the Kosy Bar, supper in the Jad Mahal and the women's cooperative restaurant (all recommendations from our gracious hosts).

I'd avoid spa treatments (they don't do service like asia/europe), and Lotus Privilege like the plague (very average food in a library atmosphere for lots of money).

Overall an awesome place to stay and Lisa and Michael really make the experience. We will definitely go back to Marrakech, and definitely stay at Dar Charkia again. Don't even hesitate - book it now!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisverebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

From the time we arrived till the time we left we could not have been treated better, this was our first experience of a riad and nothing was too much trouble, we would return
Mick & Irene Taplin

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICKADVISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

This was our first trip to Marrakech and it certainly won't be the last! The Dar Charkia was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay just a few minutes walk from the bustling Souks and some fabulous bars and restaurants.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded, our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had the best decor of any hotel room I have ever stayed in. Michael and Lisa where great hosts, answering any questions before and during our stay. Can definitely recommend having dinner in this Riad too the food was beautiful and the setting perfect.

I can't say enough good things about Dar Charkia, location, setting and hospitality are all faultless. I loved it here and I have already looked into flights so that I can come back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotsoftripsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Before our stay i had been avidly reading the reviews on trip advisor, and was getting slightly worried that Dar Charkia would not live up to all the fantastic reviews.

However the Riad, owners and staff were every bit as wonderful as the reviews suggested. The evening meal we had on the first night was fantastic and the breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. The riad was beautifully decorated and we were made to feel like we should treat it as our home.

Michael, Lisa, Small Samina,Tall Samina,Abdu and all the staff could not have made our stay at Dar Charkia any more enjoyable.

Cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieann_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 501 in Marrakech
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#28 of 501 in Marrakech
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
1,080 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £83 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing