We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable oasis in a mad, mad city.”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #39 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Michael and Lisa were the most fabulous and informed hosts. Their staff did them proud. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully decorated and the added bonus of an open fire. The breakfasts were amazing and different each day. We would very happily return tomorrow.
Thank you so much.
John and Heather

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

I've stayed in Marrakech before and was curious to try another Riad and also keen to stay in a good part of the Medina, as I've been hassled before. I was delighted with everything about Dar Charkia; much has been said about the owner's kindness and professionalism - and its all true, they went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely time - more should be said about the elegance and comfort of the Riad, it is a simply beautiful place to stay, a fabulous small palace furnished with lovely moroccan fabrics and pieces of art . The location is excellent, and if you hope to see a lot of Marrakech that's so important, near the souks, near the square, near to good places to eat, everywhere is walkable and there is a nearby taxi drop if one is exhausted or wants to try some of the fabulous places to eat in the Ville Nouvelle. Very highly reccomended indeed

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

This was our second visit to Dar Charkia and we still can't get over how wonderful the Riad is with the lovely Lisa and Michael as the most amazing hosts. Whilst we were here we met another couple who were also making their second visit, which says it all. The staff here really look after you so well. The food is great too - it can be a bit hit and miss eating out in Marrakech - some restaurants are amazing, some not so good, I can really recommend eating here for at least one night as it is consistently delicious! The bedrooms are lovely and cool and each one is decorated so beautifully, there has been so much loving care and effort put into this riad which extends to each part of your stay here - fab breakfasts and wonderful roof top with views of the Atlas Mountains. We also had a great meal at Chez Pascal which is definitely worth a visit. The Riad is also just a short walk from where your taxi drops you off, and in a good area. Some people we bumped into who were staying at other Riads said they had to walk quite a way to find their Riad and often got lost, which isn't a problem here at all. There really isn't anything that is too much trouble here and we wil be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaandbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We booked this riad after reading all the good reviews and we weren't disappointed. It was stunning, a luxurious haven amongst the chaos of Marrakech. Lisa & Michael and their wonderful team, did everything they could to make our stay perfect. From information on what to do and see, where to eat, what to pay for taxis and how to haggle in the souks, to the wonderful breakfasts, eaten when you want and where you want, whether it be on the roof top looking out to the Atlas mountains or sat in the quiet courtyard. The individual rooms are all beautifully decorated with large bathrooms. I would highly reccommend this riad to anyone, and would not stay anywhere else should i hopefully, return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

DAR CHARKIA RIAD is easy walking distance to the Souk & Medina. Lisa & Michael- the owners are on hand to help with any arrangements. Lisa has excellent local knowledge which she is keen to share and will give you in depth advice of local shops, restaurants, cafe's bars and key sites to visit. They do not have a full restaurane but can provide meals to order, drinks are available any time. The poolis a small plunge pool but very welcom afetr a hot day site seeing & shopping. Rooms are individuallt styled & offer relaxed comfort with panache..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinhealey3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Fantastic stay in Marrakech. Lisa, Michael and team could not have been more helpful and there is a personalised touch to all aspects of the service. The riad is stunning but above all welcoming. We ate fantastic food at both the riad and at places recommended by Lisa. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone seeking a beautiful oasis in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM_D2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This was my first time to Marrakech, and my first to a riad, but I have to take a moment to say how great this riad is. A very friendly, stylish and professional service from all the staff. A personal touch was evident throughout our weekend by the owners, who manage the riad to ensure everything you requested happens according to plan. We were taken shopping, transfers to the airport organised, excellent restaurants arranged etc. The one thing all nine of us agreed on, it felt like home, and that was special. Thank again to you all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregormiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#38 of 500 in Marrakech
599 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#22 of 500 in Marrakech
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing