We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for family celebration”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #34 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2010

A really lovely riad - a real oasis in a bustling and frenetic city. Beautifully furnished, full of charm with an amazingly helpful staff. The owners, Lisa and Michael, were full of valuable information and advice. A fantastic place for my mother's milestone birthday celebration.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mthendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I spent our 1st wedding anniversary in Marrakech, and absolutely loved our stay in Dar Charkia.
In total we spent 9 days in Morocco, and Dar Charkia was the best Riad we stayed in, by far!
The owners Lisa and Michael made us both feel very welcome and comfortable and the staff were simply wonderful, very friendly and always willing to be of assistance.
Lisa took the time to explain the souk to us, and recommended some fabulous shops, it felt as though we had known her for years! Her warmth really shone through, and she really did make us feel like we were 'home away from home'.
The riad it's self is beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious, and we had a very comfortable stay indeed!
We are looking forward to returning to Morocco in the near future, and will not give any other riad a second look!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Amin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I came here with a couple of friends that had stayed here before but i had no idea what to expect. The staff and the owners lisa and michael welcomed us so warmly. There is so much attention to detail in this riad, it has been decorated gorgeously. The info chat Lisa gives is spot on for guests who don't know the city. Lisa and Michael have done an amazing job in making this feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoewyeth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Me and my husband stayed for 4 nights in Dar Charkia and we both loved it!
I want to give our best compliments for everything: the location (just a 10 min walk from Jemaa el-Fna square and 7 min walk to the suks),
kind and lovely staff (all speaking english, very helpful and kind),
beautiful rooms and the riad in general (extremely clean, decorated with love in a very stylish way),
fantastic breakfast (a choice of french patisserie and morrocan dish every morning),
and last but not least: the owners Lisa & Michael (such a lovely couple who made our stay even more special!!!)
On the arrival day Lisa spent good 30 - 40 minutes showing us the map of Marrakech telling us lotos of tips :
which resturants to go to, where is good to stop for a coffee or a clean loo, where to buy a carpet or jewels...and so on.
They made us feel special.
I would definately reccomend it to anyone who wants to have relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARINAWOOBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This is one of the most beautiful places i have ever stayed behind the dark door is a small peice of heaven the pictures do not do it justice . The rooms are fab it is the littlle touches like dressing robes petals in the bathroom, the staff are always there but you dont really notice them. The breakfast is the best especially if you eat on he roof terrace. We went with friends who felt exactly like we did. The arrange all the trips for you and on arrival Lisa will tell you all there is tell and the map that she supplies with all the smalldetails is priceless like where are the best toilets a must in Marrakesh, if you want a heavenly place then this is a must.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spraggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This delightful riad right opposite the Dar el Bacha palace in the medina of Marrakech is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed, and we have stayed in many in the world. The owners, Lisa and Michael, could not have been more welcoming and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them or their charming staff, even down to having our own personal map of the city with clean loos pointed out! ( a definite must in this town!) Our suite was spacious and comfortable with extra touches such as a heated towel rail and a two-way adaptor. We felt as if we were staying with old friends and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We had 4 fantastic nights staying in Dar Charkia on our honeymoon in Morocco. The riad is beautiful throughout - from the rooms to the lovely terrace on the roof, and is in an excellent location. The staff could not have been more helpful and the owners Lisa and Michael went out of their way to recommend places to visit and to eat at. They genuinely could not have done any more to ensure that we had an amazing time whilst in the city. Dar Charkia is an oasis of calm within the madness of Marrakesh and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 502 in Marrakech
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £75 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing