We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting, great hospitality”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #43 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Nothing to disappoint whatsoever. Delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. Great service and hospitality. Lisa and Michael going the extra mile in terms of good advice and a warm welcome - made a huge difference in terms of orientating ourselves in Marrakech. Other staff always smiling anbd never less than helpful. We stayed in Khmissa room - absolutely no complaint, comfortable and elegant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_and_PhilH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

Given the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor our expectations were high. We were not disappointed. Easy access from the airport into a quiet stylish courtyard welcomed by smiling staff and ushered to beautifully decorated suite - we relaxed immediately. All of our restaurant bookings and shopping itineraries had been pre-arranged with the delightful Lisa ahead of our arrival and with Micheal at her side, they were the perfect hosts. We had nothing to do or think about other than where and when to have our delicious breakfast (it is served all day, if you have serious jetlag or a late night dancing).
Marrakech is perfect for a short weekend getaway within easy reach of London and with Dar Charkia there to welcome you this is a place to return to time and again.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Took my wife for a mini-break as she has always wanted to visit Marrakech. I planned it myself (which is in itself unusual) but to have made such a successful choice of boutique hotel, easy to find, wonderful staff and the best hosts one could wish for in Michael and Lisa won me extra brownie points which made for one of the best weekends we can remember. Well done me!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhenrysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Lisa made us feel very welcome again, this was our second stay at Dar Charkia. Once again we found the staff helpful. The location is good for getting around walling you to dip into areas and dip out and relax on the roof terrace. Breakfast an enjoyable start to the day. We has as before good advice from Lisa on where to go and what to do. Would we go back yes we will but try a different part of the year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I traveled to Morocco for the first time with my mom in February. As soon as we arrived to Dar Charkia, we were greeted with a warm welcome by Mike and Lisa. They welcomed us with mint tea and cookies. After a long day traveling this was just what we needed. Lisa then proceeded to hand us a map of Marrakesh with all of her notes of places to visit and things to do on it then made us dinner reservations at the most amazing restaurant. This type of service continued throughout our 4 day stay. Outside of the warm staff, our room was beautiful as was the entire hotel. It was so nice to return to such a tranquil environment after a long day out and about.
I work in the hospitality industry and have been to plenty of hotels all over and I can honestly say, Dar Charkia offered some of the best service I have ever experienced. Thank you again Mike, Lisa, and your gracious staff for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kla1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

From first stepping into the hotel my friends and I were met with the highest standard of hospitality, friendlyness and expertise I have ever experienced at a hotel establishment. All members of the staff are always happy to help whether it is answering questions, book guides during your stay, giving helpful hints for navigating in Marrakech or what you would like to have for breakfast. I cannot imagine a more perfect location for a stay in Marrakech; you are within a maximum of 5 minutes walking distance from the main square Jamaa el Fna and right outside your doorstep are numerous shops and dining places. We perticularily loved cafe Arab which is only 2 minutes away from the hotel. The rooms themselves are the decorated flawlessly with Moroccan luxuries and it was a joy sleeping there.You truly feel that you are cared for in this little establishment. Also, the breakfast you will be served every morning is one of the most wonderful meals you will ever have in your life! When I go back to Marrakech one of the highlights will without a doubt be to repeat my stay at Dar Charkia. Imagine a hotel which is perfectly sized, perfectly staffed, perfectly located and has an incredible standard of luxury and you have just described Dar Charkia. I loved it here and was truly sad to leave at the end of our journey to Morocco. You will not regret spending you time in Marrakech based at Dar Charkia!

Best Wishes

Christina

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed at Dar Charkia over New Year and had a brilliant time. The staff were delightful and Michael gave us invaluable advice on where to visit and what to see. The riad is perfectly situated in Dar el Bacha, an easy walk to the medina. We had a wonderful banquet on Hogmanay with memorable dancing! Michael and Lisa were terrific hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
594 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#21 of 500 in Marrakech
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing