We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #98 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at this charming riad for a few days before moving to their sister property in the countryside.
Riad El Mansour is very charming with excellent service. We were delighted with both the accommodation and service. The riad is small but very beautifully decorated and fitted with many nice touches that if it were not for the Moroccan décor, we would have felt that we were at home. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed in the blue room, `Azure which was small, but the least expensive one they had so we could not complain. Strange this is that the bathroom is almost as big as the bedroom itself. Both breakfasts and dinner (we ate on the night of our arrival which we prearranged before we arrived) were very good and exceedingly too much too eat. If it were not for the heat of Marrakech (we were there in June), I am sure we would have gained a few kilos.
Although it was our intention before leaving to Marrakech to have a spa treatment, because of the heat we decided against it preferring to retire to our air conditioned room. The riad organized for us a few excursions that were very enjoyable, one was a tour of Marrakech with a private guide who was very knowledgeable and did not much to our satisfaction pressure us into buying anything. The other was to Orika valley for the day which was although less than an hour away, was much cooler and so double enjoyable. For a friendly, clean and professionally run raid where you will be made to feel more like a family member than a paying guest, I highly recommend Riad El Mansour.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
499
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Even before we had started to think about packing we were having excellent email conversations with Wadi and Abdess about what to do when we were there. I am glad we had read on TA about the walk down the alley to get to the Riad as if I had been trying to find it myself I think I would have turned back thinking I had gone wrong. I am so glad we booked the hotel taxi service. Door to door service with a smile. Our taxi driver even took us to the ATM so we could have local currency straight away - he disappeared when he took us to the hotel, so we know it wasn't so he could get a tip! Abdess suggested we have 20 mins to relax and then he would show us around the Riad. I cant believe they can cram so much into such a small space without anything feeling small. In fact although they were full, we never really saw any of the other guests! We got an amazing map with loads of handwritten comments on places to visit, good coffee houses, bars and where to get dropped off by a taxi for the way back (the Riad location is hard to explain to the local taxi drivers as its off a one way street that goes in the opposite direction than you need). That night we had arranged for the Riad to provide dinner for us and as many have said, it was the best dinner in Marrakech (and best value). The lemon chicken was to die for. We were staying in the Amber Suite and it was beautiful, long and narrow as expected in a Riad but with top notch furnishings/linens, but also plentiful water, fruits, nuts and so quiet. unbelievably quiet..apart from a friendly bird that starts singing early in the morning. The next morning we met, Wadi and he introduced us to the amazing breakfasts they serve. Wow! Great food, great service and a haven to relax in. Abdess and Wadi arranged for their local taxi driver, Abdelaati to drive us to restaurants on 2 nights and into the square on another night, each time meeting us at the end of dinner/when agreed. This was such a relief and such just another reason why this Riad is the best. The reception foyer is full of Trip Advisor awards and a guest book full of amazing comments.
Marrakech is mad, busy, noisy, hot, dusty, captivating and maze like, but the Riad el Mansour is a haven of calm just a 20 minute walk of short taxi ride away. We loved it and felt 3 1/2 days was just about right to do all we wanted to do without pushing ourselves too much. At 115 degrees we couldn't really cope with too much more.
Do it, experience it.....and spend the rest of your life remembering it.

Room Tip: Amber Suite is the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharfieldPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This Riad is absolutely stunning, beautiful, traditional decor and traditional food to match!

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of food -all traditional (which is exactly what you should want from a place like this!). We also ate here many times as the Moroccan dishes are the best we tasted and so traditional! They even let us buy one set menu for the two of us because there was too much for us! Although it is lovely to go out to visit other restaurants (we went to al fassia, woman's cooperative one and a French one in the new town), the traditional Moroccan is lovely in the hotel and VERY much recommended!

Lovely enough atmosphere at the hotel to relax on some of the days and close enough the the centre to visit all the sights and sounds (although bring comfy shoes as the walk is too long for impractical sandals!).

Recommend the YSL garden and the Badi palace as well as the obvious choice of the souks!

One of the owners (Robert) was staying at the same time as us and was an absolute joy, so helpful and down to earth and knew the little things to offer us to make the stay magical! The hotel staff also help when you arrive by giving you an annotated map of the city and guiding you on the best route to the attractions, this was unexpected but lovely to have and much appreciated as I can imagine it's a hard city to navigate without local insight!

Don't be put off when you arrive by the back alleys that lead to the front door! Once inside it's heaven and after the first few times of using the alleys it becomes easy to remember and find your way around. The locals are also all very friendly and never gave us any trouble and most smiled! So do not worry!

I recommend this whole heartedly and would love to go back myself!

Thanks to all at the riad and sorry for the late response!

Becki and Tom (06.05.12-13.06.12)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjenkins91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Where to start ? Absolutely everything was just perfect during our stay at the Riad El Mansour. Mustafa, the driver was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport. Abdess greeted us when we arrived at the riad - what a beautiful and tranquil place in the midst of the craziness of the medina. Once inside you hear nothing but birds chirping. I was very impressed by what had been prepared for our arrival: a handwritten welcome note, a city map with all kinds of handwritten tips and suggestions and the way to the riad marked up. Abdess then showed us around the riad and went over the map with us giving us some more useful information during the conversation which came in very handy during our stay. The rooms are furnished and decorated which much care and taste and they are very clean and made up twice a day !! Fruit and nuts and pastries were offered every day in the room along with fresh flowers: absolutely lovely. It was my husband's birthday the day we arrived and he was presented a handwritten birthday card along with a bottle of wine and a homemade cake after dinner. That really made his day !
We had originally booked the room "Amethyst" which we loved and later we were even upgraded to the "Amber Suite" on the first floor which of course was also absolutely lovely and such a nice gesture.
Breakfast is wonderful and starting our day on the rooftop terrace every morning was a delight. We also had lunch and dinner at the riad when we weren't out and about and the food is marvelous - typical moroccan food that was delicious.
The best thing about this riad is the staff and their helpfulness. I have traveled to many countries and stayed in many places and I think it is safe to say I have never encountered people that were so friendly and willing and able to help and always with a smile. They were always there to give us directions or call for a cab and even made some phone calls for us when we ran into some small problems with an excursion we had booked from home. Mustafa, as well as the other cab driver they call in the evenings were not only very friendly and welcoming but also absolutely reliable. We had asked for a pickup from the bus and train station after the day trips we went on and every time Mustafa was already waiting for us upon arrival in Marrakech with a big smile on his face. Knowing he would be there to take us to the riad quickly after a long day of sightseeing made it all very relaxing for us - and all for a very good price.
I enjoyed an amazing massage on our last day which the riad also organized for me and was given in a nice cozy room at the riad. They supply bathrobes and slippers in the room, there is a hair dryer and wonderful bath supplies - you really needn't bring much.
There is a small gym on the top floor and they have common rooms where there are books to read, games to play and some travel guides for the area to peruse.
We booked this particular riad based on a recommendation by a co-worker of mine who had been there last fall. I am so glad he told us about this gem and am more than happy to recommend a stay there to all my friends as well.
Trust me, you can't go wrong if you stay there and will go back home with lots of good memories of your stay in Marrakech !! Thanks again for 5 wonderful days !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room "Amethyst" and loved it. It is nice and cool and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mja1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We loved Riad El Mansour and would recommend it enthusiastically to any and all travelers. We were lucky to be at the riad during one of the owner Robert's periodic sojourns to Marrakech (he lives in Sitges, Spain), and he could not have been more helpful in orienting us and recommending activities and restaurants. The riad is beautifully appointed, and the hammam is truly marvelous. We enjoyed the full treatment, including a rather intense exfoliating scrub down in the hammam and a sixty minute massage shortly thereafter. Given the crazy energy and occasional mayhem of amazing Marrakech, these treatments were all the more splendid. The food at the hotel's excellent restaurant could not be fresher. The chicken tajine with preserved lemons and olives was the best we had in Morocco.

Robert has assembled a first-rate staff. Mustafa, the riad's driver, was among the friendliest people we met during our ten-day visit to Morocco. Mustafa drove us down to the Ourika Valley the Atlas Mountains for a splendid day trip and regaled us with stories of his family and information about the culture and history of Morocco. We loved his sunny disposition and would recommend his services with the greatest enthusiasm.

We loved our stay at Riad El mansour.

Room Tip: We loved the amber suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel was just amazing. From the very warm welcome on arrival at midnight through to having your room made up twice a day. The staff really made this place so special, always willing to help and give advice when asked. Location is very good as it is a 10-15 minute walk from the main souk. There were some teenagers over the weekend which would pester you and not leave you alone as you enter the main street. Will definitely stay here again if we come back to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Amethyst room is spacious and beautiful, bathroom was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SindeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

we stayed here in september 2011! the hospitality was amazing, they could not do enough to help, the food was yummy, traditional and they catered for our every need! the riad itself is architecturally stunning, and we looked forward to returning after a day of exploring! facilities were great too! we stayed in the green room! the shower was fab and the bed was comfy. over the moon with our choice we would definitely reccommend! x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luce80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 494 in Marrakech
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#81 of 494 in Marrakech
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#45 of 494 in Marrakech
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#60 of 494 in Marrakech
351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#40 of 494 in Marrakech
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 494 in Marrakech
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing