We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac
Ranked #97 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We also stayed over the New year for 5 days in total, split over two periods as we wanted to spend a couple of days on the coast. A truly lovely Riad with service that was second to none.

The staff couldn't have been any more obliging - it was like having our very own concierge service. Many thanks to Robert, Abdess and the whole team there who made our entire stay stress-free and very memorable.

Thanks again, Natalie & Elliott

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HeritageML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2009

We booked a 5 night break to the Riad El Mansour after reading the glowing reports on Tripadvisor. Our trip was absolutely fantastic and the Riad is well worth the excellent feedback it has received. We pushed the boat out and stayed in the Suite, which was a beautifully decorated, spacious room. The Raid was a great balance of Moroccan style with Western luxuries - Satellite TV, iPod dock, power shower, air con, large soft towels, bottled water, fresh fruit etc

The Riad staff went out of their way to make sure the experience was a good one. The complimentary airport transfer was greatly appreicated - it was quite daunting stepping out of the airport after dark into the full frenzy that is Marrakech - but the driver walked us right to the door.

On the first morning, the Riad organised a guided tour of the city for us. I would NOT recommend it! We have both seen the funny side now, but at the time we were just baffled and quite annoyed. We hadn't done our research on the guides, but it turns out that these guides earn up to 50% commission on anything you buy. We were shown a couple of tourist sites, then taken to a 'carpet museum' (i.e. a carpet shop) and given the hard sell on carpets. After about 45mins, we managed to escape this one, but were then taken to a pharmacy and given the hard sell on various oils and spices. Again, after about 25mins, we escaped, but lastly, we were taken to a hotel for lunch where they tried to tell us we had to have the set menu for 400 Dirums each (approx £33 each)! We kicked up a fuss as we only wanted something small.. the guide got annoyed, lost interest when he realised we weren't going to buy anything and took us back to the Riad. The annoying thing is that we had paid 400 Dirums for the guide (approx £33), which was more like a forced shopping expedition. In the afternoon, we took to the streets with a map and had a fantastic time!

Food-wise, we ate in the Riad twice and the food was stunning - beautiful, delicate flavours and excellent authentic menu. Portions are HUGE though, so don't eat too much beforehand! On the other 3 nights Abdess recommended and organised restaurants for us. Each one was fantastic. Abdess organised Taxis to take us door-to-door so we didn't have to negotiate the streets late at night. The only down-side was the cost of the taxis - the Riad settled all taxi bills direct and billed us for them upon departure. According to the guide books one taxi trip should cost no more than 10 Dirums in the day (with a 50% surcharge at night). We were charged 100 Dirums per night by the Riad (but the trips should have been no more than 30?). OK, you pay for convenience, but this seemed like a steep mark-up and we only realised when we came to settle the bill.

We also did the Atlas Mountains trip with the Riad's driver. I'd highly recommend this, although you pay a premium to use the Riad's driver rather than a taxi. The trip cost 800 Dirums (approx £65), plus another 200 (£16) for the guide at the mountains. The guide books state that a grand taxi will set you back around 400 Dirums. Great trip though and although we were offered the 'opportunity' to visit the carpet shops, ceramics shops etc on the way... we declined!

Overall we'd highly recommend the Riad. It's a fantasic place to stay and the staff can't do enough for you.

Stayed: January 2009
6  Thank I_need_another_hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Riad El Mansour and had a wonderful time. When the staff discovered it was my birthday we were immediately upgraded into an even more beautiful room than our original one.

We didn't venture out until after dark on our first day and although the Riad is down some slightly quieter and darker passageways we never felt uneasy.

We didn't eat in at the Riad in the evenings which we perhaps should have done because the reviews of the food on here are amazing. However,when we returned after our nights out staff were always happy to oblige us with our desires for mint tea, hubbly bubbly pipes and an extra heater!

The weather warmed up considerably by day 2 and we were able to enjoy breakfasts and lunches on the sunny terrace.

The only possible negative aspect was the amount of noise from the cats on the terrace at night (apparently it was mating season) they did make a terrific noise but really it was just another one of the many colourfui and bizarre memories I have of this wonderful city.

I am planning a return trip very soon with my husband and will definitely stay at the Riad El Mansour again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tolly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights over the New Year period. The Riad is worthy of all of the high ratings on this site as the service is excellent and the staff are so friendly and helpful (especially Abdess). The Riad is well located and the staff will help with directions and organised trips if you want them. The food in the Riad is worth sampling and the Hamman is definately worth a try and an experience you won't forget. The rates are higher than others places but I think it is worth it for the personal attention that you are given.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fandaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed over the new year period and had an amazing time.  We arrived at the riad around lunchtime having been travelling since 1am.  We had pre booked a hamman at the riad and what an experience, be preapared to get scrubbed to the bone! It was followed by a lovely massage and after a sensational meal in the lobby, we were well and truly refreshed and ready for Marrakech.You HAVE to eat at the riad, the chef is fantastic and you wont eat anywhere better for the money you pay.  We did go out one night to the Cafe Arabe which is well within walking distance (DONT GAT A TAXI) and reasonable with a lovely bar (which sells alcohol).  The breakfasts a substantial.We would recommend eating in the souks one night as it is an experience, and drinks at the Kosy bar are worth a visit.The Riad is a little further out of the medina than others rated highly on trip advisor but the service is immpecable and well worth the extra yards!
If staying over the newyear period the party is highly recommened includes all the food and drink you can consume as well as live music. A must!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rachaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Staying at the Riad El Mansour enhanced my overall visit to Marrakech. I truly felt as though I were a guest in their home.

The environment was charming and impeccably maintained. Our room was always clean, with turn-down service and fresh bottled water provided. There are great views from the terrace. The riad is located in the medina, beside local residents homes, which I quite liked as I felt like I was seeing the real Marrakech. Still, I felt secure inside the riad and it was a quiet oasis from daily life in the medina.

The staff (Abdess, Waadi, and Fatima in particular) was exceptionally friendly and professional. They were so helpful, always anticipating our needs and organizing a guide a transportation.

I suggest visitors take their meals at the riad before trying local restaurants - the riad cook is so good you may never veture outside! The menus offer a wonderful selection (the chicken tangine was my favorite) and the staff took the time to give some background on the specialty dishes.

Checkout was organized and efficient.

I cannot recommend this riad more highly. It is one of the best places I have stayed in the world, from bed and breakfasts to 5 star luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Grafittix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Riad Mansour exceeded all our expectations – Abdess, Wadia and the rest of the staff were warm, helpful and extremely professional. It is very well run. We dined here too and had the best meal of our trip.

Abdess arranged a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide who took us out for the day at an inexpensive price. Also he recommended great restaurants for us to try and other sites to see in the city.

The Riad was easy to get to by taxi (all arranged by the Riad) and convenient to the shops. I took advantage of the Riad Spa Package and had a massage and Hammas. It was so relaxing. The breakfast which was included with the room price is made to order and you have your choice of items from a menu.

I can't imagine what they could do to improve this Riad as our stay was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ilove2travel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#136 of 500 in Marrakech
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £107 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac is the best Desert Sahara Hotel in Marrakech Morocco . Where you will have an unforgettable Desert experience . We offer Single Tents , Double , Triple and group Tents . benefits an unique situation to the world: precisely facing the mythical village of the Agafay Desert Situated about thirty kilometers from the ocher city, this little-known gem stretches over several hundred hectares on the first heights of the High-Atlas massif. Its arid landscapes made of stones and rocks offer an immense panorama rhythmic by white dunes whose shape and color evoke those of the Saharan dunes of Erg Chebbi. Thereis an extraordinary Saharian traditional experience sleeping in Tents under the stars . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing