We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY highly recommended, flawless service and a truly beautiful hotel”
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #104 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY highly recommended, flawless service and a truly beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad El Mansour in early March and it's one of the finest establishments we have ever stayed in. First and foremost, the staff are EXCELLENT, incredibly friendly, helpful and courteous - we had many interesting and laugh-fillled conversations that really helped to enhance our understanding and enjoyment of Marrakech, the Riad staff definitely contributed to making this one of our favourite ever holidays.

Much respect and thanks to Wadi, Abdess, Mustapha, Fatima and the very cheerful girls who brought us breakfast every morning on the lovely roof terrace. All the staff have mastered that fine balance of being right there when you need something/want to have a chat, while at the same time giving you space to enjoy yourself... we felt like we were being welcomed by old friends from the outset.

On the one day it was a bit rainy we used the hotel's in-house Hammam and got a top notch massage, followed by a delicious home cooked dinner that was easily the best meal we had.. compliments to the chef.. food was so tasty I actually ate a good deal more than my share.. don't think I've ever been that full before

The Riad itself is a beautiful old house that has been done up to the nines, furnished with taste and attention to detail, and the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. We stayed in two rooms, Room 2 for most of our stay and The Suite on the final night as Room 2 was booked.. both were a pleasure to spend time in. There are loads of little classy touchs in the rooms like handmade soap, jellaba style robes, a nice basket of stuff when you arrive, etc and it all helps to make you feel like a truly appreciated and welcome guest. Also the staff allowed us to use one of the unoccupied rooms to relax in on our final day as we had booked a late flight, this kind of gesture makes a big difference and is typical of the incredibly warm and accommodating service.

The rooms are cleaned twice a day, every time you go back to your room it seems to have been cleaned in your absence! While some reviewers have mentioned that the Riad is a bit out of the way/down a couple of alleys.. we actually found this to be a huge plus - for one thing they aren't alleys, they're residential streets, and we never felt unsafe... there was a friendly neighbourhood vibe to the place. Being in the northern part of the medina away from the bustle (and hustle) of the Djemaa el Fna is preferable.. it's nice to "go home" to somewhere less tourist saturated after a long day of trekking around in the souks. The Riad is about 15 walk/5 min cab from the sqaure, and ideally placed to venture into Gueliz (the new town). All in all we had a fantastic time and would recommend Riad El Mansour for anyone visiting Marrakech, you won't regret it.. we hope to return there someday soon ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnes1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
499
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Would agree with all previous comments about this Riad. It is a delightful place to stay. The staff are wonderful and do eat in at least once, the food is the best we had in Marrakech, cooked fresh to order. The location down the ubiquitous alleys is daunting at first, but you soon realise that it is as safe as they say it is. It provided what for me was the essence of Marrakech ie. the contrast between the sensory overload within the Medina and the peace and tranquility once you step off the streets and go behind those big wooden doors. A day trip with 'Smail' to the Atlas mountains was expensive but well worth it...I wouldn't have missed it. He epitomised the gentle courteousness of the majority of the people we met. Have a Hammam....you have to experience it to describe it!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensi0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This is a great riad with a really attentive staff near Bab Boulud, approximately a 15-20 minute walk from Djemma el Fna and the souks. The best feature of the riad is the staff: they go out of their way to help you do things, even suggesting some local shops where I could buy things for less money (and with less hassle) than I could in the souks. I'd recommend this place to anyone coming to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxl277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Just back from a four night stay booked on the recommendation of others on Tripadvisor. Frankly its hard to add anything that hasn't already been said. Abdess, Waadi and the Team are the epitome of customer service and could not do enough for us. I am sure that some people would be put off by the location of the Riad particularly on first arrival ...but they musn't be. People are kind and friendly and at no time did we feel remotely unsafe before or after dark. Abdess is happy to arrange taxis and ,if you are at all concerned ,you can be walked to the door. Day trip arranged to the Atlas Mountains was a particular highlight but be warned that the "walk" to the waterfall is more like a rock climb and strong footwear and nerves are highly recommended! If you want to stay in the centre of the action and get a proper sense of the real Marrakech it is hard to imagine finding a better palce to stay than the Riad El Mansour. Superb!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We booked this riad based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and were not at all disappointed, and even having read such great things about it, we were still very impressed. The outside of the riad gives no warning of how gorgeous the place is once the door is opened. The decor is beautiful and feels really intimate because it is so small. This is a place for people fed up with the impersonal style of huge, generic hotels. We had the suite, which had the biggest, most beautiful carved wooden four poster bed. We loved having breakfast each day on the terrace in the sun. The menu is not very extensive but the french bread and freshly squeezed orange juice was the perfect way to start the day.

As has been said many times before, the staff absolutely make the holiday, particularly Abdess. We were treated like treasured guests from the very beginning, but it never felt suffocating, they were very unobtrusive, we loved the twice daily maid service! It was my birthday on the second day, every member of staff wished me a happy birthday during the day, and I was given a candle holder and bottle of wine. We felt extremely pampered.

We both had the hamman and massage package, which was lovely and relaxing and we would definitely recommend it, although space restricts them from doing both people at the same time so the second person does have a bit of a wait.

People have mentioned in previous reviews that the location is not the best. The riad is at the end of a few small alleyways which can be confusing on the first day and dark at night, but we very quickly learnt our way, and we actually loved being in the thick of the old town. Most of the big hotels are out in the new town, and you could be anywhere. When you come away you'll appreciate having seen life in the medina. Contrary to what we'd read about Marrakech, we were never hassled around the riad, as it's not a touristy area, and we also felt safe, even at night.

In short, worth every penny, you must go here!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Having recently returned from a first visit to Marrakech I was lucky enough to experience the superb hospitality offered by Abdess and his staff at this delightful Riad.
For those who have not been to Marrakech before it can be quite a daunting place. The old walled city, where the Riad is situated, is a chaotic, noisy place where, if not careful it is extremely easy to get disorientated and then completely lost.
However Riad El Mansour is the perfect antidote. Centered on a tranquil courtyard this 200 year old building is nearer to a small palace. Each room has been carefully and sympathetically restored offering a great blend of modern facilities whilst retaining the integrity of the building.
However the real highlight of this hotel is the staff, led by Abdess. From the moment of arrival they never tire of serving any request. So much so that after a day they will anticipate your need`s.
I would urge any visitor to take their advice on touring and recommendations on restaurants. For the unwary it is very easy, almost mandatory, to be overcharged. Rely on these staff from the moment you arrive and you will get the best from Marrakech
A superb, relaxing hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comlongon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

I'm not going to waste your time reading what has been said before a couple of dozen times. However I will just reinforce why you should use El Mansour. We are hotelliers and own and run a small , quite similar, place in South of France and you can believe what we say.

It's all true , this place is wonderful. High point without any doubt is the quite exceptional service provided by Abdess and the staff. Nothing, absolutely nothing is missed by them - they sort problems and anticipate your needs without fuss and make you feel that helping you is a very great pleasure to them. Food is great, public spaces are great - bed rooms and most public rooms are no smoking which is essential these days but difficult to find . Rooms are immaculate and beutifully decorated - They are rather dark as the windows are half glazed but that will be a benefit in summer and is absolutely original. They are also long and thin. Why - because you cant use a palm trunk as a beam over 2.5m long or it will bend and there were no other big trees useable for construction in the 18th and 19th century..

There are fancier places, there are cheaper places but I bet nowhere has the level of personal service provided here. I would give Abdess a job tomorrow - he is a star!

Dont waste your time searching any further.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#332 of 500 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#364 of 500 in Marrakech
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#269 of 500 in Marrakech
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#275 of 500 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#175 of 500 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing