We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Riad: Magical Team”
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical Riad: Magical Team”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband & I spent six nightsat the wonderful Riad el Mansour. We had such a magical time. Abdess and Wadi were fantastic and ensured that our experience in Marrakech was something that we would
remember. However it just wasn’t Abdess and Wadi: the entire team was
gracious and attentive.  The property itself provided everything that we needed and we loved the location: it allowed us to be relatively unobtrusive(my husband is very
tall and I’m blonde!) in allowing us to see the way of life in the medina away from the masses of tourists and the walk to and from the main sights was always an experience in itself. We will always have brilliant memories of our stay at Riad el Mansour.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
499
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Riad El Mansour is a fantastic little Riad in Medina. The service is impeccable and you get exactly what you see/read on their website. I have booked this hotel after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed.
It is true that the riad is about 15-20 mins walk from the main square, but the walk is very well posted from the hotel to the main street, so it is impossible to get lost there. The Riad is quiet, clean with lovely interior, amazing food (you must try their dinner!!), small refreshing pool and great hamam and massage room. The service is one of the best I've encountered, very personal and very attentive.
I would highly recommend it. Many thanks to Robert, Abdess and everyone else there for making my stay in Marrakech so lovely.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nt7169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This riad is beautiful. Modern rooms overlook the tiled courtyard. This riad really takes care of its guests. They picked us up at the train station and brought us to the house in the middle of the medina. Walid and Abdess were always available to help. They had breakfast on the terrace, drinks on the second floor, and laundry service. They made dinner reservations and answered all our questions. The first night, one of the maids walked us to and from a restaurant in the medina.
The riad is quiet and cool in the middle of the hot and hectic medina. If you want to experience life in a medina, this is a great place.
It is not close to the Jemaa el Fna square. We walked to a taxi stand at the edge of the medina to go to the square or into the new town.
The cost is reasonable for the level of service you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We had the bad luck of being stuck in Marrakech due to the volcanic cloud, but it actually turned into being very lucky having stayed at this hotel!

We had planned to come for just 3 days, but ended up staying an amazing 6.

The owners of this hotel really should pat themselves on the back they have created a true oasis of calm, there are so many small touches that make this place unique.

After a full day of haggling in the souks, it was a relief to come back ‘home’ and sit on the terrace and relax.

The food at the hotel was the best we had in our stay in Marrakech, and there is a lot of it, we never went hungry!

The hotel is a haven, when we first arrived we were offered a complimentary drink on the terrace whilst Abdess spoke of the things to do, to see and to be aware of in Marrakech. He told us to treat Riad El Mansour as our home.We could have breakfast whenever we wanted, which we took advantage of, as one day we got up at 11.30 am, and we still had breakfast on the sun drenched terrace!

We had a late evening departure to Paris, and then on to London, and although our room was booked for that night, Abdess let us have use of another room to put our luggage into and have a shower before leaving. We were also allowed to use their phone and fax to sort out our flights home.

I picked this hotel due to all the comments here, and can honesty say that the vast majority are true. I liked the area the hotel is in, it is down a quiet cul de sac so and no mopeds trying to run us down! It is in the ‘real’ Marrrakech, and you see real life here, people going about their day to day business. It has to be seen to be believed.

I have told my friends all about this hidden gem and I know a couple that have already booked. If you are lucky enough to find a room at Riad El Mansour, I would highly recommend it.

A big Thank you to Abdess, Wadi, Mustapha (the hotels’ smiley driver) and Latifa the cook who fed us too much!

All the staff deserve a huge praise but unfortunately I can’t remember all the names!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed at Riad El Mansour for a total of 4 nights (3 at the beginning and 1 at the end of our trip to Morocco) in April. Before commenting on the Riad itself or our room, I have to say that the staff really made this Riad experience an excellent one. Wadi and Abdess were always gracious and available to answer my questions even before we arrived from New York City and helped a great deal once we were there. They picked up our train tickets to Fes, gave us an orientation to the Medina, secured restaurant reservations for us and were always on hand for any issues that arose.

The Riad, as many on Trip Advisor have previously indicated, is quite a distance from the Djemaa by foot. It took us about 20-25 minutes to walk there and at first, the narrow streets and multiple turns seemed a bit intimidating. Thankfully the Riad has now put up some white arrows on the last series of streets to guide guests to the Riad. A couple of days into our stay, we felt more comfortable going back and forth but once we were back at the Riad in the evening, we often didn't feel very enthused about going all the way back into the center of the medina. That is something to think about if you pick this Riad.

The Riad itself is small but well appointed and our rooms were pleasant and comfortable. Nice touches included dried and fresh fruit every day, water, a turn down service in the evening and fresh flowers.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_rck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 25 April 2010
We thank the reviewer for this genuine review which is most welcome. We are very pleased that she found our service, rooms, cleanliness and sleep quality all ‘Excellent’.

We are very proud of our service and many of the small things that have been mentioned many times before and once again in this honest review, fresh and dried fruit, fresh flowers and turn down service in the evening and what was not now mentioned, Complimentary airport transfers, and Complimentary massages, free maps, bottled water in the room amongst many other nice touches.

The reviewer is quite right in saying that the distance to Place Djemaa is through winding streets and turns, but what was not said is this particular way to the Square is only a temporary one as the actual route which is much easier and quicker is temporarily closed by the local government.
We hope that the normal way to the Square will be reopened shortly.

Many of our guests do enjoy this walk as they see and experience the actual Medina where people actually live and work and not necessarily only where tourists abound such as the Square. As a point of fact, we are only 10 minutes walk from the famous Marjorelle Gardens.

The reviewer did not feel very enthused about going back to the Square, in the evening every night, but there is so much more to see and do in Marrakech than the Square and for this we offer a taxi service that not only meets our guests at our Riad entrance but also escorts our guests back.

We are very happy that the reviewer enjoyed her stay with us as have the vast majority of our guests have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed here for four nights in April 2010 and our stay easily lived up to all of the reviews we read here before booking. Abdess and his team could not have done more to make our stay a great one. All of the staff, without fail, are extremely friendly & hospitable. The Riad itself is very nicely refurbished with a very pleasant courtyard & great roof terrace. Abdess was very friendly in helping to arrange different things that we wanted to do - but in no way pushy. The hamman & massage are recomended as is an evening meal on the terrace. It's not the closest Riad to the main square but once you have your bearings there is a very pleasant walk into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clanc00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2010

You can journey anywhere on the planet and not experience greater hospitality than at Riad El Mansour. Abdess, Mustapha, Wadi and the staff all give generously from their hearts. Enjoy fresh squeezed orange juice with a tomato cheese omelet on the sun drenched deck in the early morning light, farm fresh tagine chicken served under the starlit Moroccan sky, rose petals randomly arranged in the bedroom and delicate pastries at our bedside for a midnight snack. Delievered with a joyful smile throughout your stay, the El Mansour staff will graciously fulfill all of your requests without hesitation . Be sure to have Mustapha show you the Marrakech he loves and knows so well. And the lovingly restored Riad captures the magic of Marrakech: the geometric tile work, the central courtyard and the winding staircase leading to the 6 stunning rooms. This is for real and not to be missed. FYI, I have never given an online recommendation before, but Riad El Mansour deserves the generous praise it receives from the guests who are lucky enough to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiianCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#330 of 499 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#361 of 499 in Marrakech
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#283 of 499 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#432 of 499 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#180 of 499 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing