We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the peace and tranquility”
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Assouel
Ranked #206 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2008

The Riad is hidden away in the alleys where it does get very quiet at night however once you walk in through the door your in another world.

The staff are lovely and helpful in every way possible. I could tell a lot of effort had gone in to keeping the place tidy and presentable at all times.

If you want to treat yourself and a group of friends then this is the place - its a 8 minute walk from Cafe Arabe which was also a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2008

Recently, 3 friends + myself stayed at the Riad Assouel in Marrakech. After the anxiety of delayed flights and lost luggage, we were given a superb welcome + wonderful dinner. The next morning the manager Moutaa had already tracked down our luggage for us + following a delicious breakfast (which varied every day) drove us back to the airport + help us retrieve it. I then sat down + discussed with her exactly what we wanted to do over our 5 day visit + she organised it all, cars, restaurant bookings, spas the lot + the best bit was that we paid + tipped for all at the end. No time lost haggling for prices, (I know
it can be fun, but can be exhausting too). The Riad itself is clean, beautifully decorated with a small splash pool and lovely terrace and run by a great friendly little team. There is a hamman + massages are available (definately recommended.) Imagine, you come back shattered after a few hours in the Souk to be greeted by a robe laid out on your bed, + then escorted downstairs to the hamman. It is situated near the Medersa ben Youssef + a short walk from the square but a maize of streets..no problem, Moutaa has one of her house boys accompany you until you are confident to find your way on your own, better still - you can call + they will come + guide you back no matter what the time. Twice they met us after dinner which helped 4 ladies feel a lot more secure returning home. We had a fantastic few days and couldn't fault it - would definately reccomend a stay here and a visit to Marrakech. It's a city full of interesting things to see, some fun shopping, great restaurants and the people are so friendly and on the whole, cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yorkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

We have just returned from Marrakesh where we stayed at the Riad Assouel. We had a really excellent stay and couldn't have wished for a warmer welcome, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in one of the larger rooms with a sitting area and large bathroom and the other members of our party also stayed in a larger room, both were excellent.. Don't be put off by the location in a narrow alleyway off a dusty street, you'll enter another world when the door is opened to the riad. It can be difficult to find when you return after a day out but we found no problems locating it after the first day.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

If you are planning to visit Marrakech then I would recommend the Riad
Assouel as a beautiful tranquil haven to retreat to after wandering round the amazing and fabulous mad chaos that is Marrakech.

Our welcome was so good. Immediately we felt we could relax. The place
is a gem; pure delight. It is comfortable, great food and excellent service. The staff were so lovely and couldn't do enough for us.

Moutta the manager was great and having her mobile number with us whilst out and about was helpful and reassuring. Do have a Hammam. We found this so relaxing. Fabulous place. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

If you have ever seen Mr Ben on the TV when he walks out of the door to a different world the image could not be more fitting. Marrakesh as a city is colourful, busy and one of the most unusual places you can explore. But after a day in the Souks or town centre you will want utter peace and tranquility and you get it here. All the staff make a real effort to ensure you feel welcomed and all your needs are considered by the wonderful hotel manager, who will arrange visits anywhere with fantastic recommendations, organise taxi's where the driver will be instructed to walk you safely back to the hotel door. Accomodate any food preferences you have and cater for your every whim. I have never stayed anywhere before where they cared about you - going to the pharmacy if you are unwell or calling the local doctor for advice. Purchasing local produce to create tailored menus, through to geniunely wanting to ensure that you enjoyed every minute of your stay. The rooms were very clean and beautiful, each with their own identity and different decor. The top terrace has views of the Atlas mountains and is great to catch a few rays and have your breakfast. Generally the ambience is peaceful and relaxing. If you deserve a treat............stay here and be looked after.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank LucyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nata Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#153 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#66 of 502 in Marrakech
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#191 of 502 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £57 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Assouel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing