We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Perfection!!”
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Assouel
Ranked #171 of 1,156 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Perfection!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We have stayed at Assouel several times now and we feel so comfortable there that it now feels like our home in Marrakech! Its really reasurring to be greeted by the same lovely staff each time. This in itself indicates a happy well run Riad. The Riad is beautiful and the rooms are charming. It is a place of peace tranquility and relaxation. We just love it and would not consider staying anywhere else. The Service, like the running of the Riad, is quiet discreet and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble for Moutaaa and her staff. Having Moutaa around is just wonderful and reassuring as she can sort out any problems and help with queries and questions; this takes the worry and hastle out of the holiday. She arranged transport for us, booked tables, organised visits, gave us shopping advice, cooked special food for our daughter, and will send someone out to find us if we get lost. Moutaa is simply wonderful and it is thanks to her that the Riad is outstanding in every way. I thank her sincerely for making our holiday such a wonderful and amazing experience. Moutaa's Pigeon pie is exceptionally delicious!!!! We will be back ....and soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macjanet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    40
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villepot
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Arriving for the first time in Marrakech is something of a shock to the senses as noise and near mayhem seem to be all around. However after turning down the narrow and slightly mysterious alley that leads to the Riad Assouel and on stepping through the front door, tranquility reigns. The noise and the bustle are shut out and a peaceful delight awaits.

Unusually for a small riad there is a plunge pool to cool off after the heat and dust of the strreets

The manageress and staff are all most welcoming, friendly and anxious to ensure that one's stay is most pleasurable. Breakfasts were tasty, plentiful and varied. Do try to eat in at least one evening - we had two meals there and thought them better than many restaurants. It is a set menu and you are asked to state your intention to dine at breakfast, although a later request by us was met with charming good grace. Alcoholic drinks are available although the wine list is, unsurprisigly, somewhat limited. Meals can be taken beside the pool or on the roof terrace.

The riad had an arrangement with a local company who provided an up-market taxi service when we went out to restaurants at night. This did work out more exoensive than the 'petits taxis' but the drivers did make sure we found our way right to the door of restaurants that were well hidden away in alleyways. They also liaised with the riad to make sure we were accompanied back safely to the door at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le-pecheur-Villepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2008

The Riad is hidden away in the alleys where it does get very quiet at night however once you walk in through the door your in another world.

The staff are lovely and helpful in every way possible. I could tell a lot of effort had gone in to keeping the place tidy and presentable at all times.

If you want to treat yourself and a group of friends then this is the place - its a 8 minute walk from Cafe Arabe which was also a hidden gem.

  • Liked — Felt like home
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Recently, 3 friends + myself stayed at the Riad Assouel in Marrakech. After the anxiety of delayed flights and lost luggage, we were given a superb welcome + wonderful dinner. The next morning the manager Moutaa had already tracked down our luggage for us + following a delicious breakfast (which varied every day) drove us back to the airport + help us retrieve it. I then sat down + discussed with her exactly what we wanted to do over our 5 day visit + she organised it all, cars, restaurant bookings, spas the lot + the best bit was that we paid + tipped for all at the end. No time lost haggling for prices, (I know
it can be fun, but can be exhausting too). The Riad itself is clean, beautifully decorated with a small splash pool and lovely terrace and run by a great friendly little team. There is a hamman + massages are available (definately recommended.) Imagine, you come back shattered after a few hours in the Souk to be greeted by a robe laid out on your bed, + then escorted downstairs to the hamman. It is situated near the Medersa ben Youssef + a short walk from the square but a maize of streets..no problem, Moutaa has one of her house boys accompany you until you are confident to find your way on your own, better still - you can call + they will come + guide you back no matter what the time. Twice they met us after dinner which helped 4 ladies feel a lot more secure returning home. We had a fantastic few days and couldn't fault it - would definately reccomend a stay here and a visit to Marrakech. It's a city full of interesting things to see, some fun shopping, great restaurants and the people are so friendly and on the whole, cannot do enough for you.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

We have just returned from Marrakesh where we stayed at the Riad Assouel. We had a really excellent stay and couldn't have wished for a warmer welcome, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in one of the larger rooms with a sitting area and large bathroom and the other members of our party also stayed in a larger room, both were excellent.. Don't be put off by the location in a narrow alleyway off a dusty street, you'll enter another world when the door is opened to the riad. It can be difficult to find when you return after a day out but we found no problems locating it after the first day.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and the overall helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — The difficulty in finding it!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2007

If you are planning to visit Marrakech then I would recommend the Riad
Assouel as a beautiful tranquil haven to retreat to after wandering round the amazing and fabulous mad chaos that is Marrakech.

Our welcome was so good. Immediately we felt we could relax. The place
is a gem; pure delight. It is comfortable, great food and excellent service. The staff were so lovely and couldn't do enough for us.

Moutta the manager was great and having her mobile number with us whilst out and about was helpful and reassuring. Do have a Hammam. We found this so relaxing. Fabulous place. Hope to return soon.

  • Liked — charming in every way
  • Disliked — no dislikes at all
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

If you have ever seen Mr Ben on the TV when he walks out of the door to a different world the image could not be more fitting. Marrakesh as a city is colourful, busy and one of the most unusual places you can explore. But after a day in the Souks or town centre you will want utter peace and tranquility and you get it here. All the staff make a real effort to ensure you feel welcomed and all your needs are considered by the wonderful hotel manager, who will arrange visits anywhere with fantastic recommendations, organise taxi's where the driver will be instructed to walk you safely back to the hotel door. Accomodate any food preferences you have and cater for your every whim. I have never stayed anywhere before where they cared about you - going to the pharmacy if you are unwell or calling the local doctor for advice. Purchasing local produce to create tailored menus, through to geniunely wanting to ensure that you enjoyed every minute of your stay. The rooms were very clean and beautiful, each with their own identity and different decor. The top terrace has views of the Atlas mountains and is great to catch a few rays and have your breakfast. Generally the ambience is peaceful and relaxing. If you deserve a treat............stay here and be looked after.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#160 of 501 in Marrakech
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 501 in Marrakech
1,688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 501 in Marrakech
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#239 of 1,156 in Marrakech
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Property: Riad Assouel
Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,156 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Assouel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing