We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the heart of the Medina”
Review of Dar Malak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Malak
Ranked #342 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of the Medina”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is the place to be if you want to get to know the real city but at the same time have your moments of peace.
Eric (the owner) has been super nice and attentive, I felt at home. Of course my breakfast here in London is shameful compared to the yummy unlimited breakfast served by the staff. I got from freshly made Moroccan pancakes to fig jam! Delicious!
Some people mentioned the location and that it is at the end of an alleyway. I see the point and didn't walk there too late, but lots of families love around there so I can't really see the danger.
I am definitely coming back!

Room Tip: I'd choose on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJ281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    18
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
57
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This list of positive reviews says it all – Dar Malak is a gem. We spent five nights in the Orient Suite, every bit as impressive as its website photos, lovely. Eric and his friendly staff could not possibly have done more for us. Location at the northern end of the souqs is close to the action but Dar Malak is tucked away down a side street and is a blissfully quiet retreat from the energy-sapping old city. Even the early morning call to prayer sounds distant, although mosques are not so far away. A real home from home, this was our first stay in a riad and we were fortunate in our choice. The loose floor tiles in the room even took on a charming quality towards the end (but it wouldn’t take much to secure them, would it, Eric?!). Good value all round, very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: The decorated ceiling in the Orient Suite is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We simply think it is a perfect place to rest and regain energy for the next day our work life.

Well located and very quiet (something not easy to combine in Morocco), a step away from it all, and have a really a good team and a better owner.

simply...5 stars place.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FredericoPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My 2 friends and I stayed in Dar Malak for 3 nights in April 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room on the 1st floor overlooking the central courtyard was spacious and beautifully decorated. Dar Malak is conveniently located in the Medina, within easy walking distance of many restaurants and attractions.

The owner Eric was extremely helpful throughout our stay, recommending restaurants and booking a trip to a fabulous hammam also (Les Bains de Sindibad). One of the highlights of our stay was observing Latifah (one of the staff) preparing a dinner of cous cous for some guests arriving on our last night. She was most gracious in allowing us to invade her kitchen!

I would highly recommend Dar Malak to those looking for a beautiful, quiet place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

So friendly and welcoming, beautiful spacious rooms, strewn with rose petals for our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice and pancakes were delicious,and it really was an oasis of calm just outside the kasbah.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Dar Malak is an oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of the old medina of Marrakech. Situated at the end of a quiet backstreet, the warm staff and extra large rooms made me feel immediately at home. Breakfast was served either in my room or on the rooftop terrace. Fresh mint tea and Moroccan treats were served day at the end of the day, and was a great way to relax after the heat and chaos of the medina. Further, Eric, the owner of this Riad was extremely helpful with organizing trips, recommending restaurants and sights, and in general just making me feel welcome!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had a lovely stay over four nights in the gorgeous Orient Suite at Dar Malak. The staff were fabulous and Eric was extremely helpful and informative in providing recommendations, bookings and advice. We opted to visit the local hammam with two members of Erics staff (segregated) and it was an amazing experience which I would thoroughly recommend.
Location is perfect - it's about 5 mins walk from the souks, 3 mins walk from the nearest taxi spot, 10 mins walk to the main square and it felt very safe.

The best thing about Dar Malak was the peace and tranquility. It was a little oasis and a cool beer in the evening after a day in the heat was just lovely. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the airport transfer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Ihssane
Dar Ihssane
#384 of 1,139 in Marrakech
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Rose Du Desert
Riad La Rose Du Desert
#10 of 280 in Marrakech
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#898 of 1,139 in Marrakech
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#229 of 499 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 499 in Marrakech
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Property: Dar Malak
Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Malak 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing