We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic time”
Review of Dar Malak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Malak
Ranked #387 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at Dar Malak over Easter and really had a wonderful time. It is such a beautiful place and we met many great people. Everyone was really helpful and friendly. The rooms, courtyard, and the roof terrace are just stunning. I certainly want to come back again....soon!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 666Tini666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were pleasantly surprised the minute we walked into Dar Malak, it far exceeded our expectations, every little corner was beautiful. Eric the owner gave us loads of information and advice and couldn't have been more welcoming. A delicious meal was prepared for us upon our arrival. It's in a great location near the souks, the central square and walking distance to practically everywhere. You step out of the hustle and bustle of the streets into the tranquility of the Riad and all you can hear are the birds, it's amazing. Our day trip with Eric to the Atlas mountains and Berber villages was educational and gave us an amazing insight into the way people live. It was a memorable holiday in every way. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had very high expectations of this riad after reading comments and visiting the website. However, during our stay we were a bit disappointed. This is not to say that it's a bad hotel, but I think that there are better options in town for the price we paid.
Positive is the helpful staff that picked us up from a square close to the hotel and gave us some good tips for restaurants. The room was clean and decent-sized.
Among the more dissapointing aspects is the general state of the building and furniture. It all looks a bit run-down and like it can use some maintanance and fresh paint.
Breakfast is Morocco-basic, but not very special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Dar Malak serves as a quiet, peaceful oasis in the middle of the busy medina. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful riad, with lovely food and very friendly staff. Eric, the owner, was very helpful with recommendations, historical facts and general advice. He took us on a day trip to the Atlas mountains; an unforgettable experience!
We will definitely come back here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank HelenaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is the place to be if you want to get to know the real city but at the same time have your moments of peace.
Eric (the owner) has been super nice and attentive, I felt at home. Of course my breakfast here in London is shameful compared to the yummy unlimited breakfast served by the staff. I got from freshly made Moroccan pancakes to fig jam! Delicious!
Some people mentioned the location and that it is at the end of an alleyway. I see the point and didn't walk there too late, but lots of families love around there so I can't really see the danger.
I am definitely coming back!

Room Tip: I'd choose on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMJ281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This list of positive reviews says it all – Dar Malak is a gem. We spent five nights in the Orient Suite, every bit as impressive as its website photos, lovely. Eric and his friendly staff could not possibly have done more for us. Location at the northern end of the souqs is close to the action but Dar Malak is tucked away down a side street and is a blissfully quiet retreat from the energy-sapping old city. Even the early morning call to prayer sounds distant, although mosques are not so far away. A real home from home, this was our first stay in a riad and we were fortunate in our choice. The loose floor tiles in the room even took on a charming quality towards the end (but it wouldn’t take much to secure them, would it, Eric?!). Good value all round, very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: The decorated ceiling in the Orient Suite is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We simply think it is a perfect place to rest and regain energy for the next day our work life.

Well located and very quiet (something not easy to combine in Morocco), a step away from it all, and have a really a good team and a better owner.

simply...5 stars place.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank FredericoPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#266 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £44 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Malak 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing