We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at small Riad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Merstane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Merstane
Ranked #482 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at small Riad”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This Riad was recommended by a friend as being small and quiet. They were very organised with bookings and we very pleased with our stay there. The two managers (Rachid and Rachid) were both extremely helpful even going so far as to walking us towards the medina the first time we attempted this. The cook and her assistant made a fantastic dinner for us, and breakfast was very nice and made for us whenever we got up, whatever time it was. This Riad has internet/wifi and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merenptah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We chose to stay at Riad Merstane as short stop between tours as it close to bus and train stations and just away from hustle and bustle of main medina. The Riad was lovely and peaceful, with cool courtyard, relaxing lounge area and rooftop terrace. Rooms nice and clean and everything worked. Service from Rachid was excellent - he helped us book bus tickets, etc and went beyond the call if duty by rushing our iPad to the bus station when we left it behind

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexcstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Beautiful Riad to north of medina. Room or whole house booking available - as a family we took the whole house option. All the rooms are tastefully decorated with everything you could need. The twinkling candles in the evening set off the Riad beautifully. Home cooked food a joy and staff couldn't do enough to help us, particularly the house manager, Rachid, who organised trips and bookings, taxis etc for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyS7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnamurra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A really lovely riad in a perfect location within walking distance to everything in the medina but whisper quiet at night. We were really surprised how quiet it was considering it was so close to everything. The staff were amazing. Both Rachids were so helpful and were always so happy. The rooms were clean and the atmosphere of this riad was exactly what we imagined. We knew we were in morocco. Loved it! The roof top was good for a quick morning yoga session before it got too hot. We also booked a cooking lesson which was a lot of fun from the shopping experience to eating the finished product. We would highly recommend this riad.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm010990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This a small Riad located within the old Medina. In addition to the 5 bedrooms there is a cosy salon, where you can relax and listen to music, a lovely courtyard the ideal setting for the included breakfast, a dining room (for winter meals) and an amazing roof terrace. Once inside the walls you are welcomed by the warm and friendly staff, who offer an exceptional service. Rachid, the house manager was very helpful, with tips on where to go and more importantly how to get there. Rashida provided a satisfying breakfast each day and Sukina ensured that our room was spotless. Rachid (number 2) took care of any needs we had at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had an extended weekend in Marrakesh and stayed at Riad Merstane on a tip off from a friend. An absolutely perfect find and will be passing it on to others. It's the full Moroccan riad treatment with a perfectly beautiful interior - courtyard, rooms and all - plus genuinely helpful staff. Really loved the sights and restaurant tips they gave and felt we got to a few hidden gems even with the short time we had. Thanks for sorting out the baggage too!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliV431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our trip to Marrakesh was a wonderful experience, made all the more enjoyable by staying in the tranquillity of Riad Merstane. It is beautifully decorated in traditional Moorish style also most clean and comfortable and with delicious breakfasts. After the chill of the English spring it was heaven to sun ourselves on the roof garden. When we were in the riad we were almost always offered tea.
We liked the fact that it is outside the main tourist area but walking into the centre along tiny congested streets was not easy for me so we had to take taxis quite often.
Alan and Kate, the owners. were real friends, helping us in every possible way, with advice and tips, even guiding us in person on several occasions.

Room Tip: Our upstairs room was comfortable and nicely warm in the evening. Downstairs rooms, easily accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneG216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,169 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 494 in Marrakech
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#281 of 494 in Marrakech
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#83 of 1,130 in Marrakech
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Merstane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Merstane

Property: Riad Merstane
Address: 13 Derb El Merstane | Riad Merstane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has 5 double bedrooms all ensuite and individually decorated with traditional finishes and furniture set around a tranquil plant filled courtyard garden. There is a large roof terrace with High Atlas Mt views, sunbeds and seating and a comfortable sitting room with an open olive wood fire in winter. There is also a separate cosy dining room. The riad is fully staffed with friendly and helpful staff and an excellent cook - cookery sessions available on request. All bedding is smooth Egyptian cotton and towels and hairdryers are provided. The riad is in a historic and authentic area of the medina a short walk from the souks and through them to the square of Jemna el F'na also near several museums and sights as well as having good access through the walls to the new town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing