We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Enchanting Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Merstane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Merstane
Ranked #509 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Enchanting Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Gorgeous riad with a traditional authentic feel, a perfect santuary to chill out relax from the hustle and bustle of the hectic medina. We stayed 4 nights in the amber room which is lovely and cool with the most beautiful double 4 poster bed (very romantic) and antique claw footed bath also with a shower. Staff were amazingly helpful especially the manager Rachid who went out of his way to ensure we had a fantastic stay, advising us on everything from where to go for the best quality handbags to organising our trip to the Atlas mountains. I recommend you eat in the riad at least once , we had the most delicious fish tagine cooked by Rachida, so full of spice and flavour was by far the best meal of the holiday! This was the third time we had stayed in Marrakech and by far the most enjoyable will definitely be coming back to stay in Riad Merstane next year.

Alice Bales

Room Tip: the lower floor rooms amber and spice rooms were cooler but the first floor rooms seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Riad Merstane is a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay. It's some distance from the main square but that meant the area was not full of tourists and we had an interesting 20 minute wander to and from the tourist hub. It provided everything we want - clean, comfortable room, good shower, air-conditioning and very helpful staff. There is a roof terrace if you want to sunbathe or sit under an umbrella as well as courtyard seating and inside seating with books and music. Lots of greenery, birdsong and the occasional cat made it feel relaxed but we had it to ourselves for a lot of the time. When it's fully booked it might be noisier.

Room Tip: The difference in temperature between the ground floor and the first floor is noticeable. The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72DMM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonRiadowner, Owner at Riad Merstane, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the riad and in Marrakech. The downstairs rooms are wonderful in the heat of summer and upper rooms better in winter although we have both heating and airconditioning/fans to make them all comfortable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I flew to Morocco from Sydney and as a solo female traveller was looking for accommodation that was authentic and safe. I was staying prior to taking a Sahara desert tour.

The walk to the main square is not particularly hard or over long but the map provided by the manager Rachid is useful; I did get lost but a text to Rachid had him collect me from one of the typical Marrakesh laneways (derbs). I met local women and saw how the locals live and interact.

My room (Rose)was compact and had all I needed. There are other areas to sit such as the rooftop garden, the courtyard and the common living room and library.

I only had breakfasts at the Riad and they were of good quality and quantity.

Rachid (the evening manager) was particularly helpful and sorted out my new camera and the necessary programs to allow downloads to my laptop - thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

One has to look hard for a place that gives one the kind of attention and service we experienced at Riad Merstane. From the manager Rachid to the cook Rashida and the night guard Rashid we were met with kindness, thoughtfulness and a genuine interest in making our stay in the Riad and Marrakesh memorable. Everything simply worked. The staff have lived in the medina all there lives and can advise on a plethora of options, make bookings if necessary and even help you out if you've got lost! :) Rashida's cooking is lovely and to ask her to make an evening meal in Merstane instead of going out one night is a delight not to be missed. The Riad itself is tastefully furnished and the inner courtyard as well as the roof terrace are a delight to sit in, sunbathe and wind down after a day in the Souk. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Alan, who was staying at the Riad for a week and even he was a font of knowledge wrt what to do are where to go not only in Marrakesh but also in the Atlas mountains and at the coast. We'll be back one day for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern US
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a nice, quiet place with pleasant surroundings. The staff was friendly and warm and gracious. We were a bit confused with respect to the maze getting to the riad, but that's the norm in Marrakesh. They will guide you to a very nice (ie. expensive) restaurant too if you wish. We were, unfortunately, very tired and just needing 'a bite to eat' and were told he'd take us to a place a friend owned. We were really surprised when we got there as we weren't dressed for that restaurant and weren't expecting it to be that pricey since we really were too tired to enjoy a meal of that type. So, you may want to ask about that if asking for a restaurant referral.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This Riad was recommended by a friend as being small and quiet. They were very organised with bookings and we very pleased with our stay there. The two managers (Rachid and Rachid) were both extremely helpful even going so far as to walking us towards the medina the first time we attempted this. The cook and her assistant made a fantastic dinner for us, and breakfast was very nice and made for us whenever we got up, whatever time it was. This Riad has internet/wifi and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merenptah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We chose to stay at Riad Merstane as short stop between tours as it close to bus and train stations and just away from hustle and bustle of main medina. The Riad was lovely and peaceful, with cool courtyard, relaxing lounge area and rooftop terrace. Rooms nice and clean and everything worked. Service from Rachid was excellent - he helped us book bus tickets, etc and went beyond the call if duty by rushing our iPad to the bus station when we left it behind

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexcstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#88 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#286 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#83 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Merstane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Merstane

Property: Riad Merstane
Address: 13 Derb El Merstane | Riad Merstane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #509 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has 5 double bedrooms all ensuite and individually decorated with traditional finishes and furniture set around a tranquil plant filled courtyard garden. There is a large roof terrace with High Atlas Mt views, sunbeds and seating and a comfortable sitting room with an open olive wood fire in winter. There is also a separate cosy dining room. The riad is fully staffed with friendly and helpful staff and an excellent cook - cookery sessions available on request. All bedding is smooth Egyptian cotton and towels and hairdryers are provided. The riad is in a historic and authentic area of the medina a short walk from the souks and through them to the square of Jemna el F'na also near several museums and sights as well as having good access through the walls to the new town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing