We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #99 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly a little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

These folk have it figured out. A gorgeous space, friendly, efficient staff, amazing food, and a seamless ability to coordinate everything and anything you may wish to do or see in Marrakech or further afield.
Marrakech is a bit of a seeming chaotic mess, and Riad Al Massarah is the perfect haven to retreat to. Once through the door the hum of the city seems miles away. The analogy my brain kept returning to is of ziplining: you start off at a safe place, then launch yourself over the abyss which is at once terrifying and exhilarating, speeding your way across, then suddenly you find yourself back on your own two feet on solid ground. Al Massarah was definitely that safe platform (especially for the first day or so), and Marrakech is that adrenaline-inducing thrill ride.
The food was consistently amazing, and we're so glad we arranged to do the cooking course with Chef Adbelwahed. The meals we had were some of the best we had anywhere in Morocco. Foodies take note!
I noticed some other reviews docked points for location, but for us it was ideal. Positioned at equal distance to both the heart of the medina, as well as to the Nouvelle Ville.
Without a doubt in my mind we will be returning to both Marrakech, and more specifically to Al Massarah!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
251
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Our thanks to Michael, Michel & staff for creating the perfect atmosphere for a relaxing haven from the chaos of Marrakech. Service was low key, unobtrusive but attentive and Michael & Michel welcoming and helpful.

One word of warning, when the guys offer transfers from airport or train station, accept without hesitation.
It is not possible to find this riad without their assistance, however much a experienced traveller you may be. Locals don't know of it's existence and touts will attempt to extort ridiculous amounts of money for leading you to the door of this well hidden riad, there are no signs to lead the way.
We found hotels to be quite disappointing in Morocco, a well run raid is a far more inviting and Al Massarah was the best raid we experienced in our two weeks traveling the country.

Room Tip: The Ambre room is perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonkersdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

A real find! We'd considered dozens of riads before choosing to stay at Al Massarah and it exceeded our expectations. Although it is some way (about 20 minutes) walk from the Jemaa el Fna, the route takes you through really interesting parts of the medina, including some great shops. The riad is also close to the walls with easy access to the new town. Because it's tucked away, it's also quiet: we woke each morning to the sound of cocks crowing! All the staff at Al Massarah were friendly, helpful and courteous. We travelled to Marrakech by train and the owners of the riad arranged for us to be met at the station and transported, without a hitch, to the riad late in the evening. They recommended and booked a table at a great restaurant and arranged a wonderful day trip to see the Berber villages in the High Atlas mountains. The lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace were the perfect way to start each day and as we stayed in Marrakech at the start of spring, we asked for a fire to be lit in our room each evening. We had a truly wonderful few days at Al Massarah and intend to soon.

Room Tip: For a treat, ask for the room on the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

I could not fault Riad Al Massarah, from the friendly welcome, to the amazing rooftop breakfasts and the delicious evening meal we had there (we only wish we had eaten there more than once). Returning from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech every evening, it was lovely to step into the peace and quiet of the courtyard, have a drink on the balcony or enjoy the facilities of the Hammam (where you are scrubbed within an inch of your life!). Michael, Michel and David made our trip there very memorable and no query was too big or too small for them. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickstirrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I've lived in Asia and Europe for over 20 years and have traveled extensively. Thus, the fact that the Riad Al Massarah made such a lasting impression is worth noting. Michael and Michel have perfected their roles as extrordinary hosts and their staff was equally as accommodating and charming. Guests immediately felt welcomed, pampered, and very special. From the gorgeous, peaceful interior spaces, to the fabulous meals, spa options, and amazing excursions offered....memorable moments were created at every turn.

Room Tip: Every room is the
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CML38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Had an incredibly enjoyable stay at Riad al Massarah. The location is incredible - you are right in the middle of the medina, but you still have the peace and quiet of the Riad. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are very comfortable. The rooftop breakfasts are lovely. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly but also knew how to leave you alone when you wanted peace and quiet. The arranged for all tours and transfers without any issues. I would definitely stay here again. I had an amazing time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borgcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed at the excellent Riad Al Massarah and could not recommend it highly enough.

It is an incredibly beautiful Riad that is stylishly decorated with lots of lovely areas in which to relax - whether on the rooftop terrace in the good weather or in the cosy lounge area with log fire if it's a bit more chilly.

In addition to this, the service was impeccable. The owners went out of their way to give us helpful advice before arriving - and then provided us with an excellent orientation on our first day. They were always available to provide top insider tips on good places to eat and shop during our stay.

All of this combined with an amazing daily breakfast and an ethical approach to tourism makes it a Riad that stands head and shoulders above the rest.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#39 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#150 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#93 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#106 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#352 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing