We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene oasis”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #97 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a lovely experience and just perfect after trekking in the High Atlas. Lets you experience the Medina but have a haven to retreat to. Michael and Michele are perfect hosts - attentive, informative, enjoyable. They have created a relaxing and authentic environment with top notch service and great advice on what to see and do. Feels as if you are visiting in a home. The staff is superb. Especially try the culinary experience!
Really hated to leave.

Room Tip: If you can climb up two flights to the rooftop - that room is special with a lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

I am writing the first review of my life because i felt the need to tell anyone who would listen how beautiful our stay ad Riad Al Massarah was. We stayed in two different Riads, one in the centre of town that cost more and had a louder presence on Trip Advisor, and then at Riad Al Massarah. Whilst the first was fine, if you are after something that feels beautifully authentic and in a zone that, whilst being a few minutes walk (safe day or night) from the main square, feels a million miles away from the intense tourist atmosphere of the centre, then Riad Al Massarah will be perfect. Walking through the old Souk you are not harassed or indeed seen as anything particularly stare-worthy (very refreshing) and get a good glimpse of daily life and start to feel part of the furniture after a week. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated with local antiques within a luxury setting. We stayed in the room on the roof (we had booked the smallest but were given the top room as it was free all week, which was very generous) it was truly beautiful and full of light, however we were able to visit all the rooms because, due to the awful bombing that had taken place the week before, there had been many cancellations and on the last night we were alone in the riad. We would have been happy to stay in any of the rooms as they each had their charm. The food was the best we had during our stay and the staff felt like family by the time we left. All in all, it may sound as though i am exaggerating but only because i remember the endless trawling through reviews online trying to decide between the hundreds there are to read, and I really wish someone had just told me about this one and said GO!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Amazing Riad - beautifully peaceful, amazing food and great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsogeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is a beautiful Riad. The owners have clearly put a lot of effort in to making this an oasis of calm in the middle of Marrakech madness. They made us feel welcome and were full of advice and tips, recommending great restaurants.

The rooms are spotless and staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with home made yoghurt being served.

In terms of location, the Riad is conveniently located 20 mins walk from both the old and new town areas. It is not in a very touristy part but locals seemed to just regard us with interest rather than pound signs in their eyes, like they do in the souks.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caseydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a four day trip to Marrakech and it was our stay at the Riad Al Massarah which made our trip truly special!

The Riad has been beautifully renovated by the owners Michel and Michael, who have put their heart and soul into creating a tranquil, luxurious and welcoming oasis in a fascinating corner of the old town. The Riad has just 6 beautifully designed and well proportioned rooms, and there are plenty of spaces to relax;, whether on the roof terrace ( wondeful to hear the call to prayer from up here), the peaceful courtyard, the balcony's, the hamman (I had a very relaxing massage here by Maria) or the very cool and shaded lounge. There is a vast selection of books in the lounge exploring everything from Moroccan culture, religion, architecture, art and politics as well as some great classics. I would strongly recommend sampling the food in the Riad, the chef Abdel-Waheed is really fantastic; our favourite meal in Marrakech was here.

Michel and Michael, are passionate about looking after their guests (and their great team.) Fatima, Hatice, Abdel and the others acheived the delicate balance of being attentive yet non-intrusive and their level of English was great. We felt incredibly looked after from the moment we recieved the email from Michael confirming our booking and arranging the details of our stay and this level of service was maintained throughout the visit.

The area, although a short walk (15 minutes) to the main square, and attractions is steeped in history and authentic culture. It was refreshing to step away from some of the more touristy areas of the Medina and to experience the hussle and bustle of this interesting corner of the city!

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This was our first visit to Marrakech and we weren't disappointed. The whole riad was spotless, tastefully designed and Michel was the perfect host. It was an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling Medina.
The staff were attentive, but not intrusive and most spoke very good English. Breakfast on the sun terrace good, but it is definitely worth staying in for an evening meal. This was Moroccan in style and five star standard in taste, presentation and service.
This is not a faceless hotel; Michael and Michel have put their life and soul into this riad and are passionate about the service and experience they provide.
I would recommend it and we would certainly consider staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally beautiful and you get a very good feeling for which one would suit you fron th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The reviews on trip advisor helped us decide to stay at Riad al Massareh, and were pleasantly surprised that the reviews (as good as they were) didn't give the riad, owners, and staff enough justice. From the moment we booked, to payment, to hotel transfers, to check-in, to arranging excursions. Micheal, Michel, and Dave had it completely covered and ensured all was setup perfectly. The one thing I feel really needs mentioning is you MUST at least one night ( if not more) eat dinner at the riad. The on-site chef is absolutely amazing. You need to tell them the night before that you want to have dinner. The food was delicious every time we had it. And the chef definitely takes pride in what he cooks.

We plan on returning for a girl's weekend and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#138 of 501 in Marrakech
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#338 of 501 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#243 of 501 in Marrakech
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#30 of 501 in Marrakech
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 501 in Marrakech
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing