We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved praise”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #91 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 3 nights in this Riad in August 2012. This was during a relatively slow week, as we were the only guests on our first night. Nonetheless, the Riad is beautiful with interesting and intimate rooms, and great common areas. The location is walking distance from Djemaa El Fna and other sites/attractions, but far enough to be a quiet retreat when you need some rest. The staff and service are great. We had one dinner at the Riad, and the portions were so generous we could not finish any single dish. Definitely worth a look if you plan on spending any time in the Old City portion of Marrakech!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gsa_and_av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

Having spent 10 days in Morocco, Riad Al Massarah was by far my favourite place to stay. It is beautifully decorated, provides lovely breakfasts (on the roof terrace if it is not too hot!), great hamman treatments and the hosts are really helpful and knowledgeable. Upon arrival, Michael gave us a map of the local area, pointing out places of interest and good places to eat. He also called restaurants to make reservations on our behalf, which was really appreciated. Location is ideal, situated right in the Medina.
I'd recommend booking an airport transfer with the riad - it was a really smooth service and it would have been difficult to find the riad without them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We went to Riad al Massarah for my wifes birthday & had 4 brilliant nights. What a cool and comfortable riad, friendly staff, good food and wonderful architecture and bedrooms. We were bowled over & will be returning. Its especially good being located in the Old City so walking everywhere is very easy and not at all difficult - getting a bit lost is all part of the experience! We enjoyed a 4 wheel trip to the hills and a long walk all organised from the riad.

Room Tip: All rooms looked fine to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennydBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Recently spent 4 wonderful nights at Riad al Massarah as part of our elopement 'wedding-moon'. Really appreciated all the personal attention my husband I got from both David and Michael during our stay. They were incredibly helpful coordinating our visit, providing excellent restaurant recommendations and arranging fun excursions outside of Marrakech.
Definitely recommend the airport transfer they provide because the Riad can be tricky to find if it's your first time navigating the medina.
We stayed in the Jade room and loved the privacy up on the rooftop. Fires every night and delicious homemade breakfasts provided a relaxing escape from the wildness of the medina.
Love the proximity of the Riad to all the tourist destinations in Marrakech. With the helpful map provided by the riad, we were able to walk to the Jemaa, Ben Youssef and museum, Majorelle gardens, etc without any problem.
Clean, quiet, convenient, wi-fi and amazing hospitality made this Riad a wonderful place to start our Moroccan adventure! Thank you Michael and David for the lovely time.

Room Tip: Michael was very helpful on a skype call before we booked helping us decide on the perfect room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This riad is in the heart of the Medina, and if we were to return to Marrakech, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Michael, Michel and David run a very friendly operation and they couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are excellent, the breakfast magnificent, and the dinners tasty. They'll organise trips for you, book restaurants, and transport you to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This beautiful Riad is beautifully decorated with modern art, a touch of British plaid and antique pieces. Once you enter from the street you will be amazed at the spaciousness and beauty. The room was comfortable for two, the breakfast was served outside the room on the balcony or you can go up to the roof. We didn't have time to take advantage of the spa / hamman services on offer. The location is great with shopping all around, good cafes and restaurants to choose from and not far from all the souks. The owner on site was very helpful with directions and dining recommendations. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieW542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

we stayed for 5 days as part of our honeymoon. the hosts were absolutely wonderful and we would have been a little lost without them! the riad itself is wonderfully decorated and maintained. great rooftop to have breakfast and a drink post roaming the streets in the evening. even the hamman was pretty damned good! couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. thanks so much to everyone there!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank g h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#137 of 501 in Marrakech
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#337 of 501 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#250 of 501 in Marrakech
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#31 of 501 in Marrakech
843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 501 in Marrakech
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing