We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, Stylish Oasis in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #87 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Stylish Oasis in Marrakech”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Book far in advance if you'd like to stay here; the rooms book up quickly.

As soon as our taxi arrived at the drop-off spot, we were greeted by David, a wonderful guy. He had a luggage porter with him, and the trip to the Riad was effortless. He then offered us mint tea and told to sit down and relax -- which was quite natural with the laid-back atmosphere -- as our luggage was brought to our room. We had a nice chat with him then he gave us a tour of the riad. Great design and details.

Later we had the pleasure of meeting Michel, an owner, who was so kind and gracious. One day he took us and a few other guests shopping and gave us some tips. He also gave us amazing recommendations for restaurants, bought us a delicious cake from a french pastry shop for a birthday, and gave us fascinating history of design in Marrakech (and his inspiration for the riad).

We stayed in two different rooms and both were amazing, clean, and comfortable. The riad is a little removed from the tourist areas, which we preferred. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesohagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
254
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Michel, David and the attentive team looked after us and our friends in a quietly efficient way. Nothing was too much trouble, advice was available and after a days sight seeing or haggling there was an oasis of calm and serenity.
Would we go back, yes.
We didn't take a day trip to the Atlas Mountains, but I am sure it would have been fantastic. Seems like an excuse to go back?
There is a hammam in the building, but no gym. But it is not that sort of place. If you want a run a partner can be arranged, so you don't get lost

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. One is on a roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It is the personal touches, the design flare of the owners Michael and Michel, and the friendly atmosphere that make the Riad Al Massarah a special place to stay in Marrakech. We stayed for a week in early March in "Jade" which is the one room opening onto the communal roof terrace. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and included a rainfall shower.The remaining stylish rooms are on the floor below. The shared lounge, courtyard and dining areas on the ground floor encourage guests to chat with each other but if that's not your thing there are plenty of quiet corners to retire to. The location of the Riad within the old city means the "sights" and the souks are within walking distance. There is also a small, unpretentious local market you will pass through every day on your travels - wonderful aromas - spices, orange blossom, mint, cedar wood.

Room Tip: Fresh air fiends choose "Jade" on the roof terrace. Light sleepers choose quieter rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This Riad stands out. Beautifully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. The hosts, with their underpinning sustainability philosophy, (Green Key) was subtly balanced by offering the best experience.

As you enter the Riad, and experiencing our first mint tea and Moroccan treats, we knew we were in for an exceptional hospitality experience. And it was - providing us with helpful tips, directions and maps to ensure we maximised our short stay.

Each room is beautifully decorated, with its own theme, the beds are comfy and with large ensuite, and the Riad oozes interior flair. There are even sun hats and towels available if you relax on the terrace and green shopping bags to minimise plastic bag usage. We experienced a traditional Moroccan dinner which was great and our breakfasts were a standout. Water is filtered.

We also want to mention our hosts Michael & Michel and David, who responded enthusiastically to our questions and requests. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer than our 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryNorthMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Michael and the friendly staff took great care of us during our stay. This riad is very comfortable, quiet, and charming. It is down a few steps from a main walking thoroughfare and is away from the touristic areas, though not so far that you cannot walk. For us, that was a good thing as the locals were very friendly and warm, the food on the street delicious, and not a single person tried to sell us anything. The meals at the riad were delicious and the staff very accommodating. Next time in Marrakech, this will certainly be our base again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timitart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for six nights. It was the second riad we'd stayed in, and it didn't disappoint! Michael, David and Michel are very helpful and assisted us with whatever queries we had. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfasts are filling (my favourite is the fruit with orange blossom water) and the location is great. T was a satisfying stay, so thank you Michael!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgaine_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We spent 3 nights in this Riad in late January 2013. We originally planned to stay only two nights and then move on, but enjoyed the place so much that we stayed an extra night. The Riad is within the Medina, but in an area not heavily trafficked by tourists, which works out well - you can walk around in the area surrounding the Riad without being constantly hounded to buy something, which is what happens closer to the souks. Still, the heart of the souks and other tourist attractions are a short and relatively straight-forward walk away. The staff are all really friendly and gave us many good tips for dining, shopping and sight-seeing. Rooms are on the small side by Western standards, but very intelligently furnished to make good use of space and sunlight and the Riad's common areas are lovely. The hammam is worth a visit and the breakfasts were wonderful - we absolutely loved the homemade sheeps-milk yogurt. After traveling about in the countryside we returned to Marrakech for one night and stayed somewhere else, just to try something different. The other Riad we stayed at - the Riad Akka, paled by comparison. Riad al Massarah was much nicer and, it was actually less expensive. We plan on staying at Riad al Massarah on our next trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCNYC10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#41 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#141 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#89 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#88 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#96 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing