We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The peaceful and beautiful oasis in the busy medina.”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #91 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The peaceful and beautiful oasis in the busy medina.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Riad Massarah is at a great location in the medina, 5 minutes walk from Bab Doukkala. Majorelle Garden (Saint Laurent Garden) is 20 minutes walk northwest, Jemaa-el-Fna square (the big square) is 20 minutes walk southeast. It’s very convenient!

The Riad is very beautiful and clean, Michael and Michel keep it impeccable. We walked through the narrow alley ways and busy noisy medina every day, and love to come back to the Raid, there is nice jazz or classic music going on, it’s very serene and peaceful!

They are the best hosts, very attentive and friendly. They know everything you need to know about Marrakech. Go shopping with Michel if you are lucky. They have the best map and restaurant recommendations than any other travel books or website.

They also have the best staffs, they always smile and do the best service.
The chef is amazing! She makes different bread for breakfast every day. And the wonderful dinner! We ended up having dinner here 3 nights out of 5 nights we stayed here. The chicken tajine with pear and blue cheese is not traditional Moroccan but very yummy!! Lamb tajine with plum and almonds is out of this world!

I begged Michael to have the chef made us sandwiches for train ride to Fez. We opened the big bag on the train, there were sandwiches, oranges, bananas, cakes, water and napkins. That’s how thoughtful they are!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
254
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a place in the middle of a bustling area and street, hidden gem, tranquil place. Michel and his staff are superb on every level - expect to be dazzled by the real Morocco, décor, rooms, and do have a Hammam! - wow. A little nervous but well worth the experience. I have stayed in lots of places - this is up there. Book it !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Very helpful tips from Michel and Michael,they go to a lot of trouble to help you get what you want,including shopping. Feels very safe, lovely food, oasis of calm, good wine, books on hand. We really hope to go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I booked 4 nights here for my husband's birthday and it was absolutely perfect. All restaurants and excursions were booked in advance which took a lot of hassle away from the planning.
The service is also top notch with lovely staff. Our breakfast was brought up to the table outside our room and we had one delicious dinner when we arrived.
The amber room has its own open fire which is nice in the winter and there is a sitting room downstairs with a large fire where we were able to enjoy a few beers after a day's shopping.
The location is also great - edge of the Medina but down a quiet Derb with about 15 minute walk to Jama El Fnaa.
It's not often I really don't want to leave a place but this riad made me want to stay much longer. When we return to Marrakech I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Better than excellent, the Riad Al Massarah was fundamental in making our trip to Marrakesh a success. Michael, Michel and David take the time to sit down with their guests and talk them through how to get the most from their visit: everything from decent places to eat, to when to visit sites, to how to deal with the local "guides" that pounce every time you open a map on the street. Marrakech is exhilarating, but it is also a challenge. This advice is an essential, as is the privilege of being able to retreat from the hurly burly of life in a Third World city in to a Riad that is calming, unfussy and gloriously cossetting. The ambience here is sophisticated and cool, the service is impeccable and from the moment we arrived it felt like home. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. Breakfasts are a joy - home made breads and pastries, yoghurts and crunchy fruit salads with freshly squeezed orange juice. We ate twice in the Riad in the evening, and each time our dinner was better than restaurant quality: the fish tagine we enjoyed on our final night was a particular delight. The Riad has a hammam, where you can undergo a deep clean and massage from a personal attendant, and - although we weren't sure we were brave enough to do this (British reserve and all that) when we did it turned out to be a highlight of the holiday. The roof terrace, where our room was, is lovely - so good we spent two whole mornings up there, soaking in the sun and the sounds from below. Transfers to and from the airport were as smooth as butter. Truly can't recommend this Riad highly enough, believe what all the other Reviews said (and thank you Trip Advisor) - don't go to a concrete block in the new town, come to the breathtaking ancient medina, and Riad al Massarah for a holiday you will never forget.

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is lovely. You will get woken up early by the call to prayer (and an ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. Charming ambiance, very nice rooms, great location and very lovely hosts. Made us feel very comfortable in the riad, walked us around a little to make sure we had a feel for the city, prepared wonderful food, had great recommendations, and were just a pleasure to hang out with during our stay.

Would certainly go back there if we end up in Marrakech again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D'Arcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

There are several riads in Marrakech but what sets this one apart are its little touches. Michael showed up to Bab Doukkala gate to pick us up to walk us to the Riad so that we are better oriented with the location and routes! Very touched... Micheal and Michel make every effort to ensure you are comfortable and that you're best positioned to make the most of your time in Marrakech. Dinner reservations, cafe recommendations, mountain travel arrangements, public hammam arrangements etc, there is precious little the staff won't do to give you a superlative experience!

The rooms are tastefully done up and the food is amazing. The wifi works except in the terrace rooms so that you should keep in mind before your booking.

Room Tip: Wifi doesn't work on the terrace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#40 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#140 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#86 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#93 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#94 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing