We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book! Don't bother looking any further...”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #106 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a wonderful hotel - not only compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Marrakech and Essaouria but also compared to other hotels around the world. Everything, from their own map of Marrakech to the breakfasts on the roof terrace, was done for the comfort and enjoyment of the guests.

The five greatest things about this hotel?
1. The French and English owners were on site. At the other places we stayed the owners were absent, which resulted in a different level of service, language problems and a lack of attention to detail. All of which you will not find at Al Massarah.
2. The Medina (old town) of Marrakech can be a nightmare to navigate. You know the arguments you used to have in cars about map-reading, before sat nav's existed? Expect to have them in Marrekech when you're on foot. But Al Massarah does everything to help - from pointing out landmarks when they've picked you up, to providing their own map with detailed routes from the hotel to the main attractions, recommended restaurants and best shops. Furthermore the riad is just off a main thoroughfare, making it easy to get around. And it's not in the touristy area.
3. The staff were very well trained and obviously enjoyed working there. Nothing was too much bother for them. They played Bach in the mornings, and jazz in the afternoons.
4. The hotel is very well laid and thought out. The rooms were beautifully turned out, there are chairs dotted around on all floors, the roof terrace has great loungers, the fireplace was lit every night... and the breakfast was different every day.
5. Michel, Michael (the owners) or David (their manager) advise you on anything you want to know - where to buy the best tassles, where to eat the most local food, how to get around. They arranged so many things for us - taxi's, bus tickets to Essaouria, making our trip hassle free.

I wish I was still there...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have just had 3 nights at this wonderful Riad, only 5 minutes from Bab Doukkala. It's decorated so tastefully and it's so beautiful when candlelit at night, and such a relief to return too, after the hustle and bustle of the medina and madness of the souk! Michael and David were so welcoming and provided us with so much information and advice on how to get to certain places and where to eat etc. Their staff are so pleasant and attentive, and we loved having breakfast on the terrace each morning, and a drink in the evening before "running the gauntlet" of the souk or main square!
Being a Riad it's not the quietest of places in the early hours, with the 4am call to prayer, and a local cockerel which I would have liked served up for dinner, but take some ear plugs for bedtime, and I can guarantee you will have a fabulous time, and I cannot recommend the Al Massarah enough, I will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ambre, which had a huge bath, and a small table and chairs outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Riad Massarah is at a great location in the medina, 5 minutes walk from Bab Doukkala. Majorelle Garden (Saint Laurent Garden) is 20 minutes walk northwest, Jemaa-el-Fna square (the big square) is 20 minutes walk southeast. It’s very convenient!

The Riad is very beautiful and clean, Michael and Michel keep it impeccable. We walked through the narrow alley ways and busy noisy medina every day, and love to come back to the Raid, there is nice jazz or classic music going on, it’s very serene and peaceful!

They are the best hosts, very attentive and friendly. They know everything you need to know about Marrakech. Go shopping with Michel if you are lucky. They have the best map and restaurant recommendations than any other travel books or website.

They also have the best staffs, they always smile and do the best service.
The chef is amazing! She makes different bread for breakfast every day. And the wonderful dinner! We ended up having dinner here 3 nights out of 5 nights we stayed here. The chicken tajine with pear and blue cheese is not traditional Moroccan but very yummy!! Lamb tajine with plum and almonds is out of this world!

I begged Michael to have the chef made us sandwiches for train ride to Fez. We opened the big bag on the train, there were sandwiches, oranges, bananas, cakes, water and napkins. That’s how thoughtful they are!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a place in the middle of a bustling area and street, hidden gem, tranquil place. Michel and his staff are superb on every level - expect to be dazzled by the real Morocco, décor, rooms, and do have a Hammam! - wow. A little nervous but well worth the experience. I have stayed in lots of places - this is up there. Book it !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very helpful tips from Michel and Michael,they go to a lot of trouble to help you get what you want,including shopping. Feels very safe, lovely food, oasis of calm, good wine, books on hand. We really hope to go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I booked 4 nights here for my husband's birthday and it was absolutely perfect. All restaurants and excursions were booked in advance which took a lot of hassle away from the planning.
The service is also top notch with lovely staff. Our breakfast was brought up to the table outside our room and we had one delicious dinner when we arrived.
The amber room has its own open fire which is nice in the winter and there is a sitting room downstairs with a large fire where we were able to enjoy a few beers after a day's shopping.
The location is also great - edge of the Medina but down a quiet Derb with about 15 minute walk to Jama El Fnaa.
It's not often I really don't want to leave a place but this riad made me want to stay much longer. When we return to Marrakech I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Better than excellent, the Riad Al Massarah was fundamental in making our trip to Marrakesh a success. Michael, Michel and David take the time to sit down with their guests and talk them through how to get the most from their visit: everything from decent places to eat, to when to visit sites, to how to deal with the local "guides" that pounce every time you open a map on the street. Marrakech is exhilarating, but it is also a challenge. This advice is an essential, as is the privilege of being able to retreat from the hurly burly of life in a Third World city in to a Riad that is calming, unfussy and gloriously cossetting. The ambience here is sophisticated and cool, the service is impeccable and from the moment we arrived it felt like home. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. Breakfasts are a joy - home made breads and pastries, yoghurts and crunchy fruit salads with freshly squeezed orange juice. We ate twice in the Riad in the evening, and each time our dinner was better than restaurant quality: the fish tagine we enjoyed on our final night was a particular delight. The Riad has a hammam, where you can undergo a deep clean and massage from a personal attendant, and - although we weren't sure we were brave enough to do this (British reserve and all that) when we did it turned out to be a highlight of the holiday. The roof terrace, where our room was, is lovely - so good we spent two whole mornings up there, soaking in the sun and the sounds from below. Transfers to and from the airport were as smooth as butter. Truly can't recommend this Riad highly enough, believe what all the other Reviews said (and thank you Trip Advisor) - don't go to a concrete block in the new town, come to the breathtaking ancient medina, and Riad al Massarah for a holiday you will never forget.

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is lovely. You will get woken up early by the call to prayer (and an ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#30 of 499 in Marrakech
872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#32 of 499 in Marrakech
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#98 of 499 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing