We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly hosts”
Review of Riad Safa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Safa
Ranked #130 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

With it being my first time in Marrakech and my first experience of riads, it was a pleasure to discover such a lovely place to stay amongst the hussle and bussle of Marakech. Based in the heart of the Medina, Riad Safa offers a beautiful sanctuary close to the main square, with a lovely roof terrace with its own pool. The owners Frédéric and Jean-Michel were the most helpful and welcoming hosts you could wish to find, giving us sound advice on how to make the most of our time in Marrakech. I'd highly recommend staying at this Riad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levifranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Riad Safa. If you are looking for the riad experience, a good location, competitive price and fantastic service, then you need look no further.

Marrakech is a frantic city. You need accommodation that is close to the action to enjoy it, but which feels away from it when you close the front door. Riad Safa ticks those boxes.

The French owner are extremely helpful, drawing out a local maps and recommending restaurants. Their manager, Saeed, however really goes the extra mile to ensure you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We stayed in the Lipari room, which was comfortable and had a good en suite. The roof terrace and plunge pool however are the real selling points. Ideal to chill out after the chaos of the souks and main square!

There is a lot of choice for accommodation in Marrakech but we were really pleased with the decision we made.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therichardbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights early April. We had booked the car pick up as we had read about the chaos of the medina. Unfortunately our flight was almost 3 hours late so I assumed we would need to call the riad once we landed. Imagine our surprise when we finally emerged to find a very patient driver waiting for us! He had been there the whole time, now thats service!

On the way to the riad we picked up Frederic who gave us a crash course in 'medinaesque'. Once we alighted he grabbed our bags and set off at an alarming pace (for me with very short legs) but after having been in the medina for a couple of days we understood why. Its hard to hit a moving target! Those people wanting your money are hard to shake off. (and there are many!) He drew us a mud map of the area, foolproof for getting back to the riad from the medina, except for us sufficiently talented fools!
The room was lovely and authentic, and Said the night manager is a sweet, considerate man, a real asset to the riad who gave us lots of helpful tips for surviving the chaos that is the medina.

When it was time to leave Frederic not only walked us out but negotiated a taxi fare for us as well.
I would stay here again in a flash

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was the second stay for my partner and I, this time joined by my brother and sister-in-law. An outstanding riad, wonderful staff and owners, super authentic - the perfect base for exploring Marrakech and it's surrounds. Particular mention must be made of the night attendant, Said, who is an absolute asset to the business and who made our experience of Marrakech significantly more authentic, welcoming and enjoyable than would otherwise have occured. Thanks to all the staff for another excellent adventure to Marrakech - we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_m_london_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent a total of 3 nights at the Raid Safa at the start and end of our Moroccan trip.
It is well located in the medina for the souks and the main square. The houses, it is really two that have been joined together, were beautiful restored and decorated traditional houses. We stayed in two different rooms, and both were well decorated and comfortable.
Jean-Michel, Frederic, Siad and the rest of the staff could not have been more helpful.
The food was excellent, good breakfast and a wonderful dinner – as good as anywhere else we ate in Morocco.
There is a lovely terrace which is ideal for breakfast, relaxing and enjoying a drink after a day’s sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had a great time at Riad Safa in early 2011. Owners were very helpful, gave advice on how much to pay for transport in the area etc., even drew maps for us to all the major attractions when we arrived. Riad is very centrally located, nice and clean, lovely balcony and good breakfast.

No complaints, if I were going to Marrakech again I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam0287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed here (first in 2007) and once again I cant wait to return. I could go on about how clean it is, peaceful, beautifully appointed etc but the best thing about this Riad is discovering it for yourselves!! The owners are so friendly and knowlegable and make you feel safe and welcome. Once again the riad dinner was amazing (2 x meals that were better than the local restaurant and ridiculously cheap and lovely). The location is convenient but surprisingly quiet. The night manager/caretaker, Said is just awesome and is fluent in multiple languages!! Really nice guy!! I was so happy to see Kermit (who fell asleep on my lap twice) and Peggy!! If u want to experience the real Marrakech, stay in the Medina. If you want to survive the medina (HA) stay at the beautiful and welcoming Riad Safa.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel_Yazbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#21 of 502 in Marrakech
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#46 of 1,170 in Marrakech
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#197 of 1,170 in Marrakech
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Turquoise
Riad Turquoise
#96 of 1,170 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#11 of 1,170 in Marrakech
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Safa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing