We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Riad Safa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Safa
Ranked #128 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this riad for 4 nights and there's really nothing negative to say about it, on the contrary only very good things. We arranged airport pickup which was useful as it could be hard to find the first time. It's more than what you'd pay for a taxi but worth the smooth arrival. We had lunch once in the riad: best tajine I had in Marrakesh by far and nice to be able to have beer in the riad: not all have that. You pay European prices or even slightly more for this, but it's very tasty and nice as a ones off meal, especially as the first one in Marrakesh.
The pool on the roof is definitely the highlight of the riad for me. We bathed in it every day during the hot hours of the day and it's such a blessed refreshment in this hectic city. Definitely recommended to break the day in 2 parts with a return to the riad for a swim in the afternoon if you've got the time to do so. It's really only 10 minutes walking to jama el fna and it is a good thing to be just outside of it. The riad staff is all super friendly and professional and the atmosphere very peaceful. Everything super clean, new and in good condition. Again, we really enjoyed our stay. I can honestly say choosing this riad booted our trip to Marrakesh from being good to excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Yishai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Safa this May. The owners and staff are superb - welcoming, but aren't too pushy of services or hospitality, which can sometimes be too much elsewhere in Morocco. The riad is tastefully decorated, and overall vibe is all about comfort and tranquility. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace every morning, and spent a few afternoons relaxing by the dip pool. Our stay at Riad Safa was definitely one of Marrakesh highlights for us, and we would highly recommend. One thing -- there is a minaret next door to the riad, so the call-to-prayer is heard loud and clear. Adds to the ambiance though!
You can see more here: http://www.victorianinbloom.com/2013/morocco-lodging/

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housetolaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I arranged to stay at Riad Safa with seven girls on a hen weekend in Marrakech. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We were brilliantly looked after - we had spa treatments on the roof terrace, airport transfers, chaperoning on arrival and in the evenings so we always felt safe, they organised us a day trip into the Atlas mountains and even looked into local festivals for us in advance of our visit. The location is ideal to visit the souks and local restaurant Fondouk is another great recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very beautiful and extremely quiet place. You really feel like at home.
The owners, Frederick and Jean Michel are delightful and honest people.
The terrace on the roof has everything you need to relax, get some sun and refresh yourself in the small pool.
Great location: 10 minutes from Jemaa el Fna and few steps from the north entrance of the souks.
Personally, I strongly recommend the Airport transfer.

A little stink comes up from the bathroom drains. Not a fault of the Riad itself, but better keep them closed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantibis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A friendly face met me and 6 friends on arrival in Marrakech as Jean Michel and Frederic had arranged our transfer from the airport (highly recommended, and a good price). We had to walk the final stretch of the way as the Riad is situated through narrow streets. After the hustle of the street, Riad Safa was a calm oasis and we were welcomed by Abdul. A fabulous traditional meal was arranged for our first night, again I would recommend this as we arrived quite late and negotiating the streets would have been daunting on our first night. Our hosts were generous with their time, helping us with maps of the area, giving us valuable advice about local customs and places to visit. They arranged an amazing trip to the Atlas Mountains, in which we had an opportunity to visit a Berber home and share a mint tea with the lady of the house, took in spectacular views and enjoyed lunch on a sunny terrace alongside a pool. Our driver was Adil (please excuse if I've spelled this incorrectly) who was a good guide as well as a safe driver. The roof terrace with its plunge pool was the best way to unwind at the end of a day's haggling in the souks, and restaurants recommended by Jean Michel and Frederic all had excellent food, and any entertainment was fab. We were very well looked after for the whole of our trip, so a BIG thank you to all of the staff at Riad Safa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

A dear friend recommended that we stay at the Riad Safa in Marrakech and so we decided to bite the bullet and book a trip in April. We took advantage of their offer of a transfer (very reasonable) and booked an evening meal at the riad that night (very good value), both proved to be very wise choices indeed.

Marrakech is a city of big sounds and smells and sights to behold and we effortlessly glided our way through it all, taking it all in while being transferred to the riad. Please note that the taxi can only take you so far and you will need to walk a short distance through the souks to get to the riad.

The riad is really lovely and modern, with wifi, an oasis of calm amongst the souk. We were welcomed by Abdul who made us a delicious cup of tea with some pastries and talked us through a map of the surrounding area. We were shown to our lovely rooms and we negotiated about 40minutes to freshen up before our meal. The meal was delicious and we were able to try some local morrocan wine too. The service was awesome and as my dear friend stated, it was one of the most delicious meals we had in Marrakech. We had two meals there in total both delicious, both different. We also visited the Fondouk which they recommend, not far from the riad, which was also nice. Breakfast was included in the price and was a nutritious yummy mixture of breads, croissants, pancakes, jams, yogurts, fruit, juice, tea or coffee, very filling and beautifully presented.

The owners Jean-Michele and Fred were incredibly warm and friendly. No request seemed too hard for them. They purchased bus tickets for our onward journey to Essuaoira, they hired a very good guide for us for our day tour of Marrakech (Syed) and made our stay very comfortable. I only wished we had stated longer than the 3 nights. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We just stayed at Riad Safa for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience there. We arrived in the evening and took the airport transfer back to the riad (recommended especially at nighttime as the taxi drop off point Place du Moukef is quite disorientating if you haven't been to Marrakech before). A Moroccan dinner was prepared and waiting for us when we arrived at the riad as we had ordered it in advance of our arrival and it was delicious. The owners, Jean-Michel and Frédéric were fantastic hosts (along with Kermit the cat) and upgraded our room to a nicer location in the riad because there was availability. The hand drawn map of the surrounding area including the souks and fastest route to the main square was incredibly helpful, as was the advice on how much dirham we should expect to pay when taking a taxi from Place du Moukef to the ville nouveau (20-30) to visit places like Jardin Marjorelle and get to the bus station for excursions (50). All in all it was a great choice for accommodation on our first trip to Marrakech. We highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have good sunlight from the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#43 of 1,172 in Marrakech
347 reviews
0 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#197 of 1,172 in Marrakech
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#48 of 1,172 in Marrakech
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#54 of 1,172 in Marrakech
674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Turquoise
Riad Turquoise
#85 of 1,172 in Marrakech
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Safa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing