We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
596
91
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
91
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan oasisroyal palacethe main squarehotel directorflower petalsfluffy towelskasbah areapool areasingle roomspa treatmentsmoroccan pancakesthe hustle and bustlemint teahotel restaurantlovely courtyardlarge bathroomguided tour
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed with my wife and two adult daughters. The outstanding feature of the hotel was the quality and friendliness of the service. Nothing was too much trouble and extra touches included providing a bucket of ice for our own wine we had bought and agreeing to provide evening meal service later than usual. All the staff were warm and helpful and this created an important atmosphere of welcome and relaxation. The rooms were beautiful although a slight disappointment was one having only a shower and no bath but the outlook from the bay window was very appealing. Air conditioning was an important reliable feature of the rooms given the 40 degree heat!!. Touches like arrranging flower petals on the bed and artfully folding nightware were also very good. Breakfast was vegetarian and very good quality although some things run out (pastries) if you eat later, as we did on one morning. My family very much enjoyed the spa and pool day too which was relaxing in such a peaceful environment. Dinner was good value and the first meal was excellent. There was some disappointment on our second meal when the steak that was ordered as rare came well done. My daughter then asked for some more jus to go with it and was given a vinaigrette tasting mixture and poured it over the meat before she realised what it was. She ate the meal rather than ask for a replacement but it was spoilt. Also my other daughter ordered a lamb dish the same as mine on the first evening and this was a less generous portion and not so skilfully cooked.

We would thoroughly recommend the hotel for all the above positive reasons and also as it is so central to Marrakesh yet is so peaceful and beautiful. It is only a 15 minute walk to the square not 25 as reported elswehere. We would have stayed longer if we could!

General recommendation for the future. We booked through expedia and paid a very high price for the airport transfer whereas if we had booked direct with the hotel the transfer would have been free. The hotel could consider this policy as other expedia hotels (eg Deux Tours) do not charge. It was also slightly disappointing that the hotel forgot us on arrival and we had to phone to be collected despite email confirmations beforehand.

Could the hotel also consider providing complimentary water, especially in such searing August heat, as we found it expensive to keep paying bar and mini bar prices

Room Tip: it is useful to speak to the hotel direct when booking if you have particular room requirements
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

From the courteous staff, to the lovely surroundings and the great food...this is definitely a good choice for Marrakech.

It is about a 20 minute walk from the centre, which is good as you get to see plenty on foot en route. Very near to the Saadian Tombs (about 8 mins) but everything else is just as easily reached on foot. Don't be put off by the hustle and bustle and lack of any real maps...the medina is worth exploring.

My room was small but perfectly clean and comfortable. Although this is a hotel it has a very 'Riad' style to the way it has been designed and decorated. The only complaint with my room was that there was a subtle wiff of stale water in the bathroom, but that was eliminated by keeping the plug in the sinkhole!

To avoid any annoying illness that might spoil a short 4 night trip, I decided to eat only in the hotel. This turned out to be a very good choice! Breakfast has a reasonable variety of food, which won't leave you wanting. The pool snacks that I tried were all really good portions and very tasty, and the Moroccan dishes in the restaurant were to die for! The vegetable tagine is just about one of the best things I have ever eaten...I'm not kidding. It might be worth noting that as a Vegan, I had no problem in this hotel getting what I needed.

The pool is an absolute God send in the heat of the medina and the courtyard is also a lovely peaceful place to relax and have a tea.

The only thing that left me wondering was a situation on departure. I was told that the credit card terminal wasn't working and that I would have to go to the cash point to get the money out to settle the bill. This also happened to a couple who were leaving the same time as me. We all said 'no way'. Not only it that not safe, it's not appropriate. There was some faffing about and they finally got the machine to work in an office next to the reception. They then tried to charge me for an extra night (I had booked a stay 4, pay for 3), so there was some debating and math going on before they realised their error, apologised and adjusted the bill. I didn't know until afterwards that this had also been the case for the couple who were leaving the same time as me. We could'nt decide if this was just bad luck mixed with a genuine error or someone trying to scam a few tourists?

It was a real shame, everything else had been so perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baozao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a perfectly ok hotel but did not live up to our expectations. After reading so many rave reviews on Tripadvisor we expected a lot more than we actually received.
The Location of this hotel is a lot further from the main sights than we were led to believe. The main square is a good 25 minute walk from the hotel and when returning later in the evening we were continually pestered by young boys near the hotel asking for money which became a real nuissance. The rooms are adequate but not plush and the toiletries in the room were basic and a dissapointment. Pressure in the shower fluctuated daily.
Breakfast again was ok but nothing to get excited about and was not very varied.
The staff all seemed friendly enough but one day by the pool i asked for some mayonaise with my toasted sandwich, I had to ask three times before it eventually arrived. when it did it was old and had oil running arround the rim of the bowl and so could not eat it!. Staff seemd to be wandering around in a bit of a dream.
So, sadly my husband and i were dissapointed with out stay at the Borj hotel.
Not the best Holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belleontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

After so many complimentary reviews over the past few years for Les Borjs de la Kasbah it was almost inevitable that a critical one would be posted sooner or later and this latest appears to be a case in point. Although, of course, every hotel prefers good reviews to bad ones we welcome critical comment if it helps us to improve some aspect of our service or the facilities provided. In the case of a review like this one, however, we are unable to use the comments for the mutual benefit of the hotel and future visitors because there is no word of explanation as to WHY or HOW the experience failed 'to live up to expectations' or why the author expected "a lot more than was actually received." The hotel's website contains detailed descriptions of just about every aspect of the hotel's services and, indeed, the location and we cannot believe that anyone having studied the information supplied (including the photographs) could reasonably claim to have been misled in any way. The hotel is described as being at the southern end of the kasbah, next to the royal palace, and there are many comments on TripAdvisor referring to the fact that the town's main square is a 20 to 25 minutes walk away (not an uninteresting walk, by the way). The rooms are described by the contributor (who, presumably, didn't actually see all the rooms) as being "adequate but not plush" (whatever 'plush' means). However, what is it in our description that led to this contributor's disappointment? She does not say, although plenty of others, using the full range of rooms over several years, have expressed not only satisfaction but, in many cases, a great deal more than that. Breakfast was apparently "OK" but what more did this visitor expect (a full English breakfast, perhaps; if so, why?). The one aspect of unsatisfactory service cited (staff slow to bring the requested mayonnaise) is most regettable and will be addressed, as are all negative comments contained in Trip Advisor reviews and our own questionnaires, but this was surely not, by itself, the cause of this contributor's disappointment. Our aim is to provide the very best service and facilities we can, within the limits of our small operation (we do not claim to rival the Mamounia!) and are always looking to improve. We are, however, perplexed by these comments because we don't understand how we could have fallen short of expectations in this case, unless, of course, those expectations were unreasonably and unjustifiably high. In the absence of substantive detail about the hotel's alleged shortcomings we can only assume that this person was looking for a different product and simply made the wrong choice. If Les Borjs de la Kasbah has received "so many rave reviews" from so many people since it opened in 2007 there is presumably a good reason for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My sister and I booked this riad as a surprise 5 night break to Marrakech for our twin sister's 50th birthday purely on the exceptional review's on trip advisor. We were not disappointed, the friendly manager welcomed us with mint tea before showing us to our suites which were beautiful, cannot be faulted one of the best I have stayed in.
Breakfast was wonderful, dinner exceptional, good choice of traditional/continental cuisine. One evening the riad held a traditional moroccan evening with entertainment belly dancer, musicians and we had a fabulous time.
Through the hotel manager we booked a private day trip to Essaouira which has a beautiful coastline. We had a fabulous fish lunch overlooking the beach recommended in our travel guide. Not to be missed is a private tour of the souk. We each also enjoyed the riad's spa traditional Hamman/facial and pedicure totally pampered not to be missed.
We have all said we will go back with our husbands for a romantic break. The riad is located just inside the red wall of the city 10-15 min walk to the medina which makes it very quite both by day and at night.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank marrakechMarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We are full of praise for the Borjs de la Kasbah. This hotel is beautiful, peaceful and so friendly. Greeted with mint tea which sets the theme for your stay. Every area is perfect for a relaxing and luxurious break. Our room was great and the rose petals on the bed each day were a lovely touch. The food and service is outstanding. Loads of choice for breakfast and the most perfect eggs. The massage in the spa is something not to miss and the hammam an experience to try. We thoroughly enjoyed the cookery lesson and would recommend the expense of taking a guide out with you to the Souk, you will learn so much more and the big bonus is no hassle !!!
A memorable and wonderful trip we are already saving up for another visit .

Room Tip: Room 205 (premium) spacious overlooking courtyard
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojobrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews