We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Borjs de la Kasbah - Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #24 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just returned from this beautiful Riad in Marakech. We stayed for a week and it was absolute bliss. Staff were fantastic and so helpful. The Riad had everything we required and a whole lot more!!!! Food in restaurant was Moroccan inspired and delicious! A nice 15 minute walk along the Rue du Kasbah and we were in the main square (it was like stepping into another world, snake charmers, monkeys etc - what an experience) Again the hotel was a little oasis for us in this very hot city, lovely pool, hammam and spa. Little touches made the difference - rose petals on the bed everyday and the hepful staff with tips on how to handle the haggling!!!! Can have a lovely lunch by the pool which was nice especially after a hot dusty morning sightseeing. We will definitely be back. Aileen, Cheshire

Room Tip: We had a suite which was great value for money and on the second floor. It also had a little privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aileenChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very good hotel located in the kasbah, and is a far better option to the riads of the medina. Room was most comfortable and traditional in style with good furnishings, albeit it was the only hotel during my trip where despite it being early season I was given a single room as booked. Service was also very good throughout my 4 night stay, and there was a free internet terminal for guests to use. The courtyard areas were most pleasant to relax in and had much character. Staff were all most polite and helpful and the breakfast choice although limited was quite adequate. Standard in rooms was very high with comfortable bed, good pillows, and quality towels. Good level of cleanliness everywhere and difficult to fault. Room was nicely heated at night and hot water was always available. Room rates were also good when stayed late February, as had 4 nights for price of 3.
However, I left this hotel feeling sour after using the self coded room safe during my stay. It was the first of 11 hotels during a 5 week trip around Morocco and I carried 20x £20 notes as a reserve for card failure/loss This money was check counted into the room safe on arrival and recounted before I left and two of the notes were short. Said nothing at hotel as had received such polite service and knew would only be told "it is impossible" and "you are mistaken", but I was not. Lesson learnt for rest of trip and the reserve remained otherwise intact until my return. So be warned , in what is an otherwise good standard hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

It is most regrettable that what seems to have been a really enjoyable stay (to judge from the generous comments of this contributor about the hotel itself and, indeed, the staff) should have been marred at the very end by such an unhappy incident which we view with great concern. This is only the second time since the hotel opened five and a half years ago that a resident has complained that money has gone missing from a room safe, although that will be of little comfort to the Reviewer himself. Such claims are alarming, of course, but they are also particularly frustrating when, despite the lack of any hard evidence to support them, they are also impossible, categorically, to deny with the result that a lingering suspicion inevitably hangs in the air about the integrity of certain staff, whether justified or not. We are extremely careful about whom we employ at the hotel and comments about staff in TA reviews tend to bear this out. Certainly, neither the management nor the police have been able to uncover evidence of dishonesty in relation to this particular allegation. However, as a precaution, all the locking mechanisms of room safes have been changed since submission of this review and this, we trust, will provide peace of mind for future visitors. Finally, although we understand his reasons for not doing so, it is a matter of regret to us that this reviewer chose not to make his alleged loss known to the Hotel Director before leaving. Whilst the Director may or may not have been able to resolve the problem there and then at least it would have given him the opportunity to take immediate action to address the matter (which the police would certainly have preferred) as opposed to doing so only some time after the reported event.

Mike Bruce-Mitford
Joint-Owner, Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

……… in the madness of the Medina, chill out in luxury at ‘Les Hotel Borjs de la Kasbah’………… highly recommended / Cliff and Louise

Room Tip: all single rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The enthusiasm with which other travellers had written about this riad raised our expectations - we were not disappointed. The staff were courteous and pleasant, the ambience extremely tasteful and the food was well cooked and presented with a wide enough choice for us to eat dinner in the restuarant for four out of the seven nights we stayed without getting bored. We upgraded to a suite (booked through a British Airways package holiday) which was superb and made the holiday for us - not so expensive to do it, £160 extra for the week. As others have written, it is extraordinary how you step through a door from the hurly burly of the city into an oasis of calm within the courtyard of the riad. This riad was built in 2007 but based on traditional designs and they have done a cracking job. The pool area looked rather cramped in the photos but we found it was fine in reality. A couple of fairly minor points - service could be very slow at lunchtime (dinner was good) so allow plenty of time and the air freshener in the bathroom was a very strong and persistent scent of naphtha (mothballs) - not to everyone's taste, maybe it's a Moroccan thing? Overall, though, Les Borjs de la Kasbah is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nativelondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Although we did not stay here it is definitely top of the list for next time.

We had coffee here and were given free access to view the hotel.

The Hotel consists of about four Riads combined around courtyards with fountains and swimming pool.
The overall character is of quiet tasteful quality and the staff were very helpful in answering our questions and showing us round.

On the edge of the Kasbah close to the Palace walls on a very quiet and clean street it is about 30mins. walk to the square but only 30dirhams by taxi. 30 dirhams is the standard fare within the Kasbah so make sure that you agree this with the taxi driver before getting in to avoid misunderstandings at the end of your journey.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great Riad tucked away in a quiet corner of Kasbah area of Marrakech, Medina. The Riad is about a 20mins to half hour walk to the main square and souk. Therefore, it is not a centrally located venue. The Riad itself is stunning. Great ambience, and the attention to detail and the service is faultless. The only let down is that...more » there are bedrooms with physical single bed. I found this is very disappointing, considering that a lot of visitors to Marrakech are there on holidays - and lets face it, who would want to sleep in a single bed? Let alone sleeping in a single bed while on holidays for 4 nights? Aside from this, I could not fault the Riad. It is run and managed very well, location wise is fine as long as you don't mind the walk. The facilities are well maintained; swimming pool, clean and peaceful outdoor space for you to enjoy the sunshine and to relax. Breakfast is well seved; freshly squeezed orange juice each morning, Morroccan pancakes, fresh fruit.I would recommend the Riad as I really enjoyed the ambience it offers, but I would probably not stay there again given that I was allocated a room with a single bed

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyeman, General Manager at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Whilst such a clearly enthusiastic review as this is always most welcome and gratifying, it is also exceedingly frustrating to read the concluding comment that the reviewer is unlikely to return due to a problem which could hardly have been easier to remedy had it been mentioned at the time of the visit. RL333 was not simply 'allocated' a room regardless of his requirements, as he implies, but was given exactly what he asked for, namely a Small Single room. As the hotel website makes clear, there are just three of these, each a mere 9-10 sq ms and priced accordingly, but there are also 2 Small Doubles and several Standard Doubles all of which can be occupied as Singles by those requiring a bit more space. Our occupancy levels for Small Singles indicates that there is a clear demand for this type of inexpensive accommodation but it is also entirely possible for such single guests wishing to have a bit more space to upgrade to a larger room and, indeed, a larger bed. We would be happy to ensure this were RL333 to visit us again which I hope he will do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had a really lovely short break here - staff were knowledgable and very helpful. I would have loved to swim in the pool but as it was not heated, sadly this was not an option.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtyardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#30 of 500 in Marrakech
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £82 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007), combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff, close to the Royal Palace, 15-20 min walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. 18 non-smoking rooms, 3 lounges, bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. There is also a secluded 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah), and a SPA with traditional Hammam and treatment rooms. Direct access to front door by car and minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing