We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #30 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquility base”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I'm not that keen on big, hot, busy, hot, bustling, hot, hot cities when it is hot...but...my companion was eager to explore another souk and so we did. To arrive at Les Borjs was a delight after the drive in from Essaouira. It is dark and cool and water trickles in many quiet places where lush plants abound. We were welcomed by the hotel manager with mint tea and biscuits and given a quick sketch of the services and general layout of this jewel of a Riad. The room air con was perfect and controlled via a remote; our room a haven with a minibar and safe and plenty of hanging storage. Did I say the bathroom was a dream? Hand tiled and with both bath and two showers, it was complete with double sinks, lots of lovely toiletries and big, white bathrobes. We had two 'neighbours' on our landing and never heard a squeek.

We soon got into an early morning visit to the dining room for a slightly chaotic breakfast service complete with Moroccan delicacies and could order pretty much whatever one wished. Do try their 'smoothies' - a combination of fruit and vegetables. btw The staff were full of fun and returned smile for smile and were typically fluent in a couple of languages.

Couldn't wait to try the menu in their dining room the first night but I suspect a new chef as the service was tentative and food a bit heavy-handed. Meknes rose wine was delicious & that the room is open to the stars made it a magic evening. The Riad has a convivial bar area next to and overlooking the table area; put it to good use as most restaurants do not serve alcohol.

What else? Walking to the usual suspects - tombs & palace & marketplace - was fairly easy, even with a recent hip replacement. A guide and an air conditioned car will get you to all the nooks and souks; do shop at the co-operatives for haggle-free buying.

A week old restaurant, The Kasbah Cafe, about a 5 minute walk from the riad, served wonderful Moroccan dishes on a rooftop over-looking both the Palace walls opposite as well as the storks perched high above the churning crowds below. The rooftop dining area was cooled with the same technology as airlines - automatic mist lines were strung above the rattan umbrellas making the decor as sophisticated as the menu.

All in all, Les Borjs is a peaceful oasis of beautifully thought-out rooms and common areas. We felt pampered, catered-to but service was never intrusive. Salads and light lunches at the pool bar were absolutely perfect. Books-around-the-pool time in the afternoon was simply heaven after a hot trek thru the big, wide world outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellicherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    85
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
93
283
77
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from morocco having spent part of our stay at this riad. The room was beautiful, wonderful air conditioning and comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had a fantastic tour organised by the riad. We took part in a cookery course which we enjoyed very much even though it was very hot! Our teenage sons enjoyed their stay there as much as us old timers!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philclarej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A lovely escape. picked up at the airport; only a 10 minute drive away. Cool pretty and very well kept. Gorgeous room and lovely staff. Well situated ; very quiet . Great swimming pool and sun bathing area. Good dinners and we had a great hammam experience.

Nothing to do with hotel: they really still need to do something abouit the aggressive "guides" "taggers on" in the Souks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First trip to Marrakech. Excellent hotel - for families and couples, stayed with 7 yr old child, we all loved it. Location close to Jema' el fna - 15 mins walking, important historical sites eg saadien tombs and palace badi round the corner. Hotel - very clean and comfortable, staff superb - couldn't praise less, took care of all our needs. Hotel is in Kasbah ie old part of town, so you get to experience the true vibrant culture. Would definitely go back and recommend. Used hotel spa and hammam - very relaxing. Another mega plus point - very calm inside indeed; not noisy!

NB - the majority of guests staying did not have children with them, there was another couple with toddlers and ourselves with child staying there at the time, but this did not appear to be a problem for staff or any other guests so I would definitely rate this as a family friendly hotel. We have been back 5 days and I can't wait to go back!

Staff were very helpful, and housekeeping ensured that the beds were always madde and there were fresh rose petals everywhere daily! We only tried the spaghetti, it was nice, there are stalls outside the Kasbah where you can grab a quick bite too

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

About 10-15 mins walk from main square, gives you the ability to see a bit of the old town going to/from main attractions. Clean, good facilties and very helpful/friendly staff. Only problem was that they under-charged me as they failed to add the tip i included on the two meals i had in the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Les Borjs de la Kasbah on our honeymoon. It was our first time to Marrakesh and I did hours of riad searching previous to deciding on Les Borjs de la Kasbah.

I couldn't have picked a better riad! Our room was amazing, staff was beyond wonderful and the neighborhood was somewhat outside the square (but close enough to walk).

The food was amazing and we ate at the riad many nights because the food was great.

They also recommended many wonderful places to visit.

It was also very close to the amazing banya spa in the Kasbah.

All in all, I hope I go back very soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

This Riad is set in the Kasbah district of Marrakech.It is an exceptional small and friendly hotel where the staff go out of their way to ensure their guests have the best stay possible.It is located within easy walking distance of many attractions,Djemaa el Fina the main square is about a 15 minute stroll away. There is a Pharmacy( english speaking )and a corner shop very close by.Les Borj is typical of Moroccan riad- style hotels there are wonderful courtyards providing calm and cool in the heat of the day.The pool is set in its own terrace and is more than adequate.Our room was large comfortable and well furnished the en suite was spacious and the shower excellent.Wi-fi is available in public areas and some of the bedrooms,there is also a computer which is complimentary for guest use.Breakfast is served in a covered courtyard which gives the feeling of al- fresco eating,plenty of choice but do not expect a full english try the selection of pancakes and pastries instead.Dinner can be taken in the courtyard or inside we found the choice and quality of the french/ moraccan food very good.The staff are the hotels greatest asset they are all very welcoming and courteous english and french is spoken and they were always on hand to give advice on transport sight seeing and hangling in the souks.We stayed for 3 nights mid April and would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel and hope to return ourselves one day soon.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NealIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
664 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#70 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Property: Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007), combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff, close to the Royal Palace, 15-20 min walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. 18 non-smoking rooms, 3 lounges, bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. There is also a secluded 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah), and a SPA with traditional Hammam and treatment rooms. Direct access to front door by car and minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing