We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #31 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marrakech Experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great Riad with excellent facilities. Pool and spa, nice room, very good service from all staff, particularly reception, nice breakfast, location towards the edge of Medina area but great to be close enough to the action without it being noisy. Very little to fault. Would stay there again which is always the best test. If you want the Moroccan / Marrakech experience in a small and friendly hotel without being in a large standard 'Western' hotel then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in a premium room - not sure what the other room types are like
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    87
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
94
285
80
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for five nights in need of some winter sun and relaxation. We picked Les Borjs for the good reviews, the facilities and the price. We had both visited Marrakech once before, separately, so had something with which.to compare this experience.

Our room was comfortable and well appointed, my only criticism was that the beds were very hard (I do like a firm bed but this one did keep me awake a bit!). The hotel is built around a pretty courtyard so lovely views from everywhere.

We each had two spa treatments which were excellent, I particularly enjoyed my hammam. We also did the cookery class which the hotel offers; this was good fun and very good value as it fed us for both lunch and dinner as well as teaching us the rudiments of Moroccan cuisine.

All the staff were efficient and very friendly and the atmosphere was at all times both relaxing and convivial. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late for a one night stay and was warmly welcomed, shown to my room and presented with a pot of mint tea, lovely!
My room was on the second floor with a view of the pool on one side and and a small courtyard on the other. The double bed was very comfortable as were the chairs in the sitting area. A good size bathroom too.
The tv had several English channels including BBC 1 and 2, ITV 1,2 and 3 and channel 5. Free wifi was also available but I could only get it on the ground floor but that was ok as there are several very pleasant seating area's.
There wasn't a huge variety of food for breakfast but the pancakes I had were delicious!
As I had an evening flight I asked to keep my room on. Unfortunately there was someone else already booked into it and so the reception staff gave me a small room on the ground floor. And at no extra charge. This level of service I've rarely encountered on my travels. This hotel deserves every bit of praise already heaped on it. If you want loud music and entertainment every evening this hotel is not for you. If you want good service, good food, tranquility and a lovely clean room then this is definitely the place for you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nicely tucked away in a quiet street not too far from the main square, this place feels secluded, intimate and with a little bit of a luxury feel about it. Service was faultless from the very friendly staff and the food was very good indeed. All very laid back and a range of social and eating areas from the main courtyard, the open air lounge, the indoor dining room with the retractable roof, the pool and bar area. Be warned though the pool water is pretty chilly but refreshing on shot day which most are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull, gb
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

There are already lots of great reviews of this hotel, and we can endorse them all. But before we even arrived, we were very taken with the website which reads like a guide book of Marrakech, constantly updated by the owners who have devoted their careers to specialist tour operation. They realise the importance of a great welcome, and some of the staff who deliver it have been part of the ‘family’ since the outset. The hotel itself is created from 7 riads, re-constructed by local craftsmen with the added luxury of a pool (unique in this part of the medina). From the central courtyard, bordered by the public areas of bar, restaurant, lounge etc, there are passages to the bedrooms around a further 4 courtyards. It feels very exclusive and calm. The decor has been sourced locally, personally by the owner and is extremely tasteful; every room is different, and it’s all spotless. It's really lovely to return to a room that's been freshened up with rose petals, always in a different design, at the end of a hot day exploring. The whole place oozes 'care'. The food has been praised by others already, so I can only echo what’s been said. You must try the hammam and massage too but don’t expect to do anything much with your day afterwards!

Outside the riad, one is transported back in time - the medina is noisy, colourful, vibrant. The kasbah area is the posh end, and the historical palaces are nearby. The central square, Jemaa el Fna is about 10 minutes’ scary walk away, but only scary the first time as you soon realise that the other road users are actually very skilful. We were there around the time of Eid - an important family festival which requires the slaughter of a ram in each home, so for the first few days every second truck and moped (!) was carrying some poor unsuspecting creature. Very biblical. 

It is worth taking a guide round the souks - it is so easy to get sucked into shops and feel pressurisedI to buying spices, wooden objects, carpets, etc etc when you may have no idea of the quality. We just realised this at home, using the  "35 spice mix" for a chicken dish, to find it quite thin. The Ras el Hanout from Waitrose/Tesco, same thing but with fresher spices,  would have been much better. Of course we sniffed a very fragrant sample in the souk, but were sold a ready packed version! This is the only negative comment, however, and has nothing to do with the hotel.

Our thanks go to Tom, Fatima, Nora, Ilham, Mounia, Nawal, Miriam and the others. We have a very happy memory of our stay with you.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the 'honeymoon' suite, overlooking the pool on one side. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balanced36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in October. The hotel itself is very beautiful, the pool area good-sized, and the staff friendly and helpful (special mention to the receptionists here). The location is also perfect - close enough to the centre of the Medina to walk in the day and for evening dinner, but far enough away to be quiet. There were however for my taste a few negatives. It may have been the time of year but the hotel's public areas such as the bar, dining area and pool area seemed to lack atmosphere. I can't say what would improve this - maybe it was down to us guests to provide some buzz!? Because it was quiet there weren't always staff ready to serve when you needed them. Our room on the ground floor was a little small and the two twin beds had been pushed together to make a double. This would have been okay but they had to be pushed to a side wall and there was no room at the bottom of the bed - so whoever was on the wall-side had to clamber over the other person if they needed the loo in the night. All-in-all however I would have no qualms about staying here again. My one tip though is to try the street restaurants in the main square for food in the evenings - great food, good price, and a great buzz.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 if you want a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMember021620123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Just a few words in response to this generally positive review from an apparently widely travelled and experienced reviewer. I am not keen to address the issue of the reportedly missing 'buzz' at our hotel because appreciation of 'atmosphere' is largely a subjective matter. I would add, however, that 'buzz' at a small, intimate hotel such as Les Borjs is something that most of our visitors are happy to eschew, for reasons I think our website makes clear. Indeed, tranquillity and a certain exclusivity in terms of ambience are the very qualities that most of our visitors seem to appreciate the most. Of more concern to me personally are the comments about the room (102) occupied by this reviewer. Five of our 18 rooms are indeed very small, and are described as such, three of them being designed specifically for single occupancy. The two other 'Small Rooms' have a double bed and 2 single beds (in the case of 102), respectively, but neither is advertised as being entirely suitable for couples - indeed, 102 is usually occupied by two friends sharing or by two children. Yes, the rooms are indeed small (10-12 sq ms) but are priced accordingly. For couples we recommend our Standard Double rooms, or indeed Premium rooms which are, typically, about twice the size. I suspect that this reviewer took 102 because no other more suitable room was available; if so, I would have preferred it had she pointed this out to the TA audience. That said, this reviewer also says 'she would have no qualms' about staying at Les Borjs again, an observation we are very happy to note as it would seem to put her two less positive comments into proper perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only stayed two days in this 'little oasis' but the service, food and location were perfect.
It was a birthday treat and when we returned to the room, a message Joyeux Anniversaire (Happy Birthday) had been spelt out in rose petals on the bed. The receptionist, Nora, deserves a special mention. She was absolutely charming and nothing was too much bother for her. The restaurant staff (names unfortunately not remembered) were also wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Property: Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007), combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff, close to the Royal Palace, 15-20 min walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. 18 non-smoking rooms, 3 lounges, bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. There is also a secluded 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah), and a SPA with traditional Hammam and treatment rooms. Direct access to front door by car and minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing