We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility in the heart of the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #32 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility in the heart of the old city”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Highly recommend this lovely hotel which is literally built into the walls of the medina and is within walking distance of the main square. It was lovely to return to the peace and tranquility after the hussle and bustle of the streets (we especially enjoyed relaxing in the 'Moroccan lounge') and the room was very comfortable and incredibly quiet. A little disappointed with the food and the service could have been a bit more attentive but not enough to spoil our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    87
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
94
286
82
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Arriving here through the hustle and bustle of the casbah is an amazing experience,.the contrast is unbelievable. Norah on reception greeted us with a smile and proved to be helpful and informative all the time on our 6 day stay.our room was spacious and spotless,the whole place is very very clean.the reception rooms are comfortable and full of local character. the atmosphere is so peaceful and quite. Norah in the dining area is a real character with a real sense of humour ably assisted by Mohamed.We also enjoyed the hammam; ,had a body scrub and massage ,very relaxing.we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yentocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great Riad with excellent facilities. Pool and spa, nice room, very good service from all staff, particularly reception, nice breakfast, location towards the edge of Medina area but great to be close enough to the action without it being noisy. Very little to fault. Would stay there again which is always the best test. If you want the Moroccan / Marrakech experience in a small and friendly hotel without being in a large standard 'Western' hotel then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in a premium room - not sure what the other room types are like
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for five nights in need of some winter sun and relaxation. We picked Les Borjs for the good reviews, the facilities and the price. We had both visited Marrakech once before, separately, so had something with which.to compare this experience.

Our room was comfortable and well appointed, my only criticism was that the beds were very hard (I do like a firm bed but this one did keep me awake a bit!). The hotel is built around a pretty courtyard so lovely views from everywhere.

We each had two spa treatments which were excellent, I particularly enjoyed my hammam. We also did the cookery class which the hotel offers; this was good fun and very good value as it fed us for both lunch and dinner as well as teaching us the rudiments of Moroccan cuisine.

All the staff were efficient and very friendly and the atmosphere was at all times both relaxing and convivial. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late for a one night stay and was warmly welcomed, shown to my room and presented with a pot of mint tea, lovely!
My room was on the second floor with a view of the pool on one side and and a small courtyard on the other. The double bed was very comfortable as were the chairs in the sitting area. A good size bathroom too.
The tv had several English channels including BBC 1 and 2, ITV 1,2 and 3 and channel 5. Free wifi was also available but I could only get it on the ground floor but that was ok as there are several very pleasant seating area's.
There wasn't a huge variety of food for breakfast but the pancakes I had were delicious!
As I had an evening flight I asked to keep my room on. Unfortunately there was someone else already booked into it and so the reception staff gave me a small room on the ground floor. And at no extra charge. This level of service I've rarely encountered on my travels. This hotel deserves every bit of praise already heaped on it. If you want loud music and entertainment every evening this hotel is not for you. If you want good service, good food, tranquility and a lovely clean room then this is definitely the place for you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nicely tucked away in a quiet street not too far from the main square, this place feels secluded, intimate and with a little bit of a luxury feel about it. Service was faultless from the very friendly staff and the food was very good indeed. All very laid back and a range of social and eating areas from the main courtyard, the open air lounge, the indoor dining room with the retractable roof, the pool and bar area. Be warned though the pool water is pretty chilly but refreshing on shot day which most are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull, gb
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

There are already lots of great reviews of this hotel, and we can endorse them all. But before we even arrived, we were very taken with the website which reads like a guide book of Marrakech, constantly updated by the owners who have devoted their careers to specialist tour operation. They realise the importance of a great welcome, and some of the staff who deliver it have been part of the ‘family’ since the outset. The hotel itself is created from 7 riads, re-constructed by local craftsmen with the added luxury of a pool (unique in this part of the medina). From the central courtyard, bordered by the public areas of bar, restaurant, lounge etc, there are passages to the bedrooms around a further 4 courtyards. It feels very exclusive and calm. The decor has been sourced locally, personally by the owner and is extremely tasteful; every room is different, and it’s all spotless. It's really lovely to return to a room that's been freshened up with rose petals, always in a different design, at the end of a hot day exploring. The whole place oozes 'care'. The food has been praised by others already, so I can only echo what’s been said. You must try the hammam and massage too but don’t expect to do anything much with your day afterwards!

Outside the riad, one is transported back in time - the medina is noisy, colourful, vibrant. The kasbah area is the posh end, and the historical palaces are nearby. The central square, Jemaa el Fna is about 10 minutes’ scary walk away, but only scary the first time as you soon realise that the other road users are actually very skilful. We were there around the time of Eid - an important family festival which requires the slaughter of a ram in each home, so for the first few days every second truck and moped (!) was carrying some poor unsuspecting creature. Very biblical. 

It is worth taking a guide round the souks - it is so easy to get sucked into shops and feel pressurisedI to buying spices, wooden objects, carpets, etc etc when you may have no idea of the quality. We just realised this at home, using the  "35 spice mix" for a chicken dish, to find it quite thin. The Ras el Hanout from Waitrose/Tesco, same thing but with fresher spices,  would have been much better. Of course we sniffed a very fragrant sample in the souk, but were sold a ready packed version! This is the only negative comment, however, and has nothing to do with the hotel.

Our thanks go to Tom, Fatima, Nora, Ilham, Mounia, Nawal, Miriam and the others. We have a very happy memory of our stay with you.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the 'honeymoon' suite, overlooking the pool on one side. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balanced36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 500 in Marrakech
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Property: Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007), combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff, close to the Royal Palace, 15-20 min walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. 18 non-smoking rooms, 3 lounges, bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. There is also a secluded 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah), and a SPA with traditional Hammam and treatment rooms. Direct access to front door by car and minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing