We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Riad for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #25 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights in early May and we were very pleased with our choice. It's not really a Riad, which tends to have only a few rooms and limited facilities, it's technically a hotel since it was formed by combining several Riads. The advantage of this is that it has many more facilities, such as a nice swimming pool, spa, full service restaurant and bar and an internet room, which you might not find in a normal Riad, but is still relatively small, so still feels quite personal.
In terms of decor and ambiance, I'd describe it as comfortable and pretty rather than seriously upscale and luxurious. We visited plusher place like Villa Flores and Jardins de la Koutarbia, which are maybe more at the luxury end. However, this is no bad reflection on the Borjs as the decor is tastefully done, but it is more of a 'kick your shoes off' style ambiance which we much preferred. It is, as others have pointed out, a very pleasant haven to retire to after a day in the madness of Marrakesh Medina.
There are two main courtyard areas, the one at the back being home to a pleasant swimming pool with a small cafe for lunch and drinks, plus the spa and hammam. The front courtyard, with fountain, is classic Riad and a lovely place to sit with an early evening glass of wine (still too cool in early May to dine outside) and includes a Majlis style sitting area at one end and a library/enclosed sitting room opposite. The restaurant and seperate bar are also situated off this courtyard.
We opted for a suite (303) which was situated away from the main courtyard and found this to be very comfortable, spacious (though I suspect the standard rooms are quite modestly sized) and surprisingly quiet, with the morning birdsong the only thing likely to interrupt your sleep. Importantly, there isn't a mosque within near earshot so you won't be disturbed by a 5am morning call to prayer amplified through speakers, which we came across in other riads/hotels.
Food is a pretty good quality, not haute cuisine, but nicely prepared and tasty. In a city where hygiene is a consideration, the kitchen can be viewed through a large glass window, which is re-assuring. Breakfasts were the standard fare of fruit, yoghourt, pastries, Morrocan pancakes and eggs any way, but most if not all were home made (including all the pastries and even the chocolates after dinner). We can vouch for there being some skill in the kitchen because we took advantage of a cooking course where, with the chef's help, we prepared our own lunch of Moroccan Salad and Chicken Tagine with preserved lemons. This was a fun and informative morning and thanks are due to the friendly and helpful chef for being patient with us.
It's a good point in this review to make a mention about the staff generally. In addition to our chef, all the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant to deal with. It was one of the things that made the stay so relaxing, and so was much appreciated.
Marrakesh actually has a surprisingly large number of attractive looking Riads and hotels. I think the Borjs would suit those who appreciate quality but want the ambiance to be more relaxed, rather than hushed tones-a place where you can be comfortable. I think Borjs de la Kasbah fulfils this brief perfectly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falcon3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

Nadia welcomed me with a smile and I was offered a mint tea with cakes when I arrived; my room was spotless, I found that it was very convenient to have a restaurant, pool, Spa, Internet cafe on site. Prices were very reasonable. Breakfast is great. Location is really good, 15mn walk from the main square. They also had a Moroccan evening just before I left with dancers, musicians, etc. A perfect spot for your holidays.
Another plus for me: i was able to have a Moroccan cuisine course with the chef; being a food lover, I thought that was a really nice touch.

Un riad absolument fantastique pour des vacances paisibles; j'ai particulierement apprecie la gentillesse du personnel, surtout de Nadia qui avait toujours le sourire. Le riad est bien place et vous permet de vous relaxer aux abords de la piscine, au Spa, ou bien encore dans les salons amenages a cet effet; vous pouvez egalement profiter d'un coin Internet, tres appreciable lorsqu'il s'agit de confirmer votre vol de retour ou d'organiser les excursions.
J'ai eu l'occasion de beneficier d'un cours de cuisine, ce que j'ai enormement apprecie; le Chef etait tres sympatique et tres professionel.
Le petit-dejeuner est excellent, jus d'orange frais, fruits frais, crepes, cereales, etc; Myriam qui s'affaire derriere la plaque de cuisson et vous regale de ses crepes Marocaines.
Un oasis de paradis dans cette ambiance exaltee qu'est la ville de Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biscouaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We were due to stay for 3 nights at the Riad but it ended up as being 9. We were stranded by the ash cloud and no flights and whilst this had its problems the staff made us so welcolm and were extreamly good at accomodating us. This is the most charming and delightful oasis in what can be a mad and chaotic city , even the Kasbah has its moments just outside. We wondered where we were travelling to on arrival when the streets seemed full of humanity , then to find the delighful patio and mint tea and be enchanted by the place. The rooms vary in style we are uniquely able to comment having been in 3 and seen others , but most have a space and charm you will fall for although the dawn chorus of birds took some getting used to!
The bar has a good range of well priced drinks and the Maroccan wine is a delight to sample especially the Cuvee de President rouge.The restaurant meals are lovely and the Maroccan cuisine excellent, the veal tagine especially. I loved the breakfasts with the pancakes and the eggs and these varied over the days, a great start to the day.
The pool area is great although the water in April was a little cool to swim in and a shock on our system, but in the summer ideal.
Then the staff are just superb I think its invidious to pick them out as all were so gracious, multilingual and so charming you really felt the benefit of a small Riad in this way. However Mohammed the manager and Nadia did so much to try and help in the no flight predicament, I could not ask for more from them. Mustapha on the restaurant was also very friendly and absolutely charming.
I thoroughly recommend this Riad why try anywhere else La Mammonuia at twice the price would not touch the personal service we received in our hour of need. Dont try the rest just settle for the best Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

From the moment we arrived we felt pampered and lucky to have found such a welcoming riad. The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms were very well equiped and spotlessly clean and the food was of a high standard.
I would not hesitate to go back or recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ngmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We had a really tough job trying to decide on a hotel in Marrakech, as there were such mixed reviews of most places. Eventually we settled on Les Borjs de la Kasbah on the basis of what we read, and kept our fingers crossed until we arrived. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! As soon as we arrived (the taxi driver had nto problem finding the hotel, and gave us free bottled water on the journey too!) we were presented with a pot of mint tea and beautiful Moroccan pastries. A guided tour of the hotel followed, and we soon realised that there were some amazing facilities, especially bearing in mind the size of the hotel. Our room, though not huge, was lovely. The bathroom was enormous, with two showers and two sinks!

Throughout our stay here we found the staff were all wonderful, they couldn't do enough to assist us! Every day our pyjamas were folded beautifully on our beds. The fresh flower petals on the pillows etc. were a lovely touch. We ate in the hotel restuarant on two evenings, and were very impressed with the food. The breakfasts were simple but very nice too.

As a city Marrakech is fascinating, but very busy and chaotic. This hotel was perfect for relaxing in between wanders up to the square and through the souks. On one day we went on a hotel-organised trip into the mountains, which we really enjoyed.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if ever I get the chance to revisit Marrakech.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaravanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Just come back from a birthday trip with the 5 other girls. We stayed in Les borjs de la Kasbah following an article my friend had read in a magazine. The hotel was beautiful and the hotel staff could not do enough for us. When we arrived we were invited to have mint tea then were given a guided tour of the facilities before being shown to our rooms which were all different and very beautifil looking into the inner courtyard. Attention to detail was brilliant, the beds turned down nicely and rose petals scattered on the bed and in the bathroom. There were towels supplied around the heated pool which also had some great showers. Food was excellent and very good value for money. A great experience in a mystical city.
Would recommend getting a guide to show you around we did and went on a 4 hour trip which was fantastic having the culture explained and finding some truly hidden gems we would have just walked passed.
The only down fall was trying to get some loose change to tip when out and about, it was quite difficult but we managed it in the end.
We were initially worried about the dress code but there was nothing to worry about as european casual dress is acceptable, its just a case of being sensible and not going out with next to nothing on, remember it is a city not a beach.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visited2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Had a lovely stay here and agree with most of the other reviews. Marrakech incredibly chaotic, but this is just the place to come back to for a rest from it all. Everywhere walkable, but we took the opportunitiy to eat out in different restaurants at nigt and the staff couldn't have been more helpful either with suggestions or transport. Would definitely recommend it to friends, probably best for couples rather than families.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GediNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#31 of 500 in Marrakech
718 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#36 of 500 in Marrakech
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £78 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007), combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff, close to the Royal Palace, 15-20 min walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. 18 non-smoking rooms, 3 lounges, bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. There is also a secluded 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah), and a SPA with traditional Hammam and treatment rooms. Direct access to front door by car and minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing