We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad”
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Altair
Ranked #34 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided to take a short break in Marrakech and chose this small local 'Riad' rather than a non-descript hotel chain. This Riad had six rooms which were considered basic but clean and tidy with comfortable beds. Bathrooms okay but no shower curtain so made it a little wet all round. The staff were very friendly and efficient with early coffee not being a problem when requested from Yaseen and Badr - both great hosts. Breakfast was cold 'continental' style and was very good with loads of fresh fruit, various breads and yogurt. We had meals on a couple of evenings in the Riad - a set menu which changed each day and consisted of traditional Moroccan food - all cooked in house by their own young chef who was very good and we had no complaints. The Riad is not licensed and therefore you need to purchase wine from the local supermarket (not far but takes a 10 minute walk as it is outside the Medina) however there is a good selection at reasonable prices. I can recommend the nearest proper Hotel for a meal (just a 3 minute walk) - La Maison Arabe - it was very good and considering UK prices not expensive for the quality. Abdel, the hotel manager was also very friendly and he gave us good advice. Regarding Marrakech we would advise anybody travelling here to remember that 4 days is more than enough time for the trip - the Medina in Marrakech is full of tiny streets leading to the souks with many shops mostly aimed at the tourist and certainly this was not the cleanest city we have been to. It is a busy and sometimes overpowering, aggressive environment given the unwanted attention of a variety of locals and it was nice to find a good cafe/restaurant to get away from the streets - there are some nice 'modern' restaurants and we would advise you to use the Rue Dar al Bacha as we found it the most friendly. Remember that the local Mosque has a call to prayer twice in the early morning however this did not trouble us after the first night.

Room Tip: All six rooms in this Riad are similar however one on the ground floor opens directly onto the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on BA deal and it was very enjoyable. The riad is quite attractive, the location is great and after the first night even managed to sleep through the call to prayer from the mosque next door. it really is very charming in decor and all the staff are without exception very welcoming and informative. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The breakfasts were lovely but we didnt eat here other than that as found the night market food stalls enthralling and such an experience.

The riad could be improved with regard to the plumbing issues but other than that it's location is very good and once you found your way around it was easy to navigate back.

Although apprehensive about Marrakech we found the city and it's sights quite fascinating either by foot or on the bus tours. 5 days was enough to see most things and we had a very enjoyable stay. Food is relatively cheap and plentiful, the locals delightful apart from the souks were they were very aggressive and would not budge on bartering (and we are experienced Luxor hagglers) so we evenutally gave up and just used the local shops.

It is a very busy noisy city which in a way added to the whole ambience of being there and the transformation of the main square from day use into the night market was just wonderful and the bit we enjoyed the most.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Badr was the perfect host and made us very welcome. We ate in 2 nights and the fixed menu evening meal was excellent; breakfasts are OK.
The next 2 nights we explored Morroccan food stalls in the Square.
Eating out in Marrakech is exciting, authentic, cheap and noisy.
The streets are safe. Locals are helpful & friendly.
Location of Riad Altair is perfect for exploring all the city sights on foot - much better than the 5* Hotels in the New City.
Just avoid the bedroom on the ground floor (see below). Everything else is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor room which is directly off the central atrium and dining area - it is noisy d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Positive:
- Very friendly staff & service, always eager to help plan your stay
- Great value for money
- Lovely rooms with comfortable beds
- Great location almost directly at the souks and a 10min walk from "La Place"

Could be improved:
- Isolation of rooms - very noisy compared to other Riads, as the mosque is almost next door. Even conversations in the patio can be overheard with all windows and doors closed.
- Rooms have bathtubs without shower curtains or a holder for the shower head, making a shower rather uncomfortable or the entire bathroom very wet.
- Breakfast is good (great espresso!), but rather focused on Moroccan treats - although it varies from day to day, no choices are available.
- Although this wasn't relevant to us, some people might miss the TV in the rooms

Room Tip: All rooms are the same category and vary only slightly. We personally prefer to be on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARKUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Riad. Nothing to add to the previous comments, all spot on. We felt 4 nights was enough to explore the city and it allowed us some time to spend relaxing at the Riad. Good breakfasts, lunch and dinner. Nice to have a dry break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here on a short city break for 3 nights.

Riad Altair has just 6 rooms so is very intimate. No pool, no gym, no TV in room, no bar. No problem. OK, there is a little plunge pool but that is more part of the cooling system.

Located about a 10 minute walk from Jemaa El Fna (The Square) along side streets so no need for a car or taxi. Here you can get drinks or a meal, while the Riad can arrange an evening meal, part of the fun is going out and exploring. 200 Dirham will buy a simple but plentiful meal for 2. The location is very safe where the biggest risk is getting run down by cars, mopeds or donkey and cart. As with anywhere, keep your wits about you and dress modestly.

Our room (Vega) had a double bed and a bath with a hand-held shower head. The Beth itself was carved from a single piece. The water was hot enough for a shower but those wanting a full bath would be left wanting. Thick towels and robes provided. The bed was very comfortable with high quality bedding provided there is a heater and A/C is provided. No problem sleeping for 9 hours, but there is a small caveat to be aware of.

The Riad is only a few steps away from Bab Dokala Mosque so at dawn you will hear the Adhan for Fajr. In March this is around 0530. If you are a light sleeper, take earplugs but still expect to hear it. For a country where Sunni Islam is the official faith, this is something you have to expect.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay near the heart of the old city and if I come back to Marrakech, I'll be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor best as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were made as welcome by Abdel and Badr as if we had been friends. They were always ready to help. The room was excellent, breakfast delicious and very enjoyable dinner. We would recommend this Riad wholeheartedly. The bed was very comfortable - pity about the Muezzin (audible from all rooms) at 4.00 in the morning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy and Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,172 in Marrakech
673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Noos Noos
Riad Noos Noos
#27 of 1,172 in Marrakech
754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#28 of 1,172 in Marrakech
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#18 of 1,172 in Marrakech
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,172 in Marrakech
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#63 of 1,172 in Marrakech
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £63 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for rest and relaxation … named after the main star in the Eagle constellation, Riad Altair and its devoted staff provide pleasure and tranquillity. From high on the roof terrace, You have a 360° view of the Red City, while the patio and pond are a cool oasis in the heat of the day. 6 air-conditioned rooms each with a private with safe Wifi throughout the riad. We organise private functions of all kinds (birthdays, events etc). Discreet, attentive staff to meet all needs. Elegant, restrained decor. Just by the tree-filled patio and the Plunge Pool there is a winter sitting room with an open fireplace, various summer sitting rooms, 6 air-conditioned bedrooms, and terraced sunbathing areas. We are always happy to help you explore the Red City and its surroundings.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing