We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility”
Review of Riad Due

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Due
Ranked #82 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We chose to stay in this Riad because we wanted to be in the centre of Marakesh. However, we loved the fact that it was so tranquil. The water in the centre of the riad trickled, little birds flew above our heads and we were waited on with traditional pepermint tea on arrival and a vast selection of delicious traditional breads for breakfast. We felt extremely well looked after by Christian and his team. The staff were all genuinely willing to help us and we did need their help to find our way around in Marakesh. The Riad itself was very special - despite being in the centre it was amazingly peaceful once you were inside. Our room was large, it had a bed and a sofa area with steps leading up to the bathroom which was stunning. It was lovely to relax in the courtyard or on one of the loungers on the roof terrace before heading back out into the enormous street market that is Marakesh. I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone who wants to stay in the centre of Marakesh. I would strongly recommend that you organise to be collected by someone from the hotel as taxis can't take you right up to the door and the hotel will be able to collect your suitcases from the drop off point.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparklemouse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Loved this riad. The location is great, the design very “Milan meets Marrakech”, suites are HUGE, but the service is what really made all the difference for us: the staff are fantastic, sorting out any little problem and reaching out for us throughout our stay. From walking us through the maze of the souqs at night to find an open restaurant to dine very late at night, to looking for (and bringing us back) hats we forgot in a restaurant… nothing seemed too much trouble, especially for the lovely Rachid. Great service, really. We really cannot recommend Riad Due highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller room (Kemal), and regretted not having taken any of the suites because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Beautiful riad, great location, stylish and impeccably clean rooms, I have the highest praise for this riad. Fatima is an incredible chef and you won't find better food anywhere in Marrakech than in the riad. Definitely recommend eating there during the stay. Christian was wonderful at helping us before and during our stay and the staff in the riad are helpful and polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The previous positive reviews say it all - Riad Due get it right. Fantastic service, most notably from Khalid and Christian, the perfect location and hybrid of external madness and internal refuge. Breakfast was great - although expect to consume a week's worth of your daily sugar GDA in one sitting! Rooms very stylish, clean and comfortable with a generously sized roof terrace for soaking up rays. Very little to choose between the two suites, we stayed in Zan and from seeing Abdul they are both charming. Zan is on the second floor which gives you a more direct access to both roof terrace and out of the Riad, whereas Abdul is on the ground floor. Dinner on our first night was amongst the best food we ate. Also ate at Le Marrakchi by the square which was fabulous and Dar Zillijs which was a bit of a tourist mecca and food was just OK. In terms of things to do we'd highly recommend seeing the Bahia Palace and El Badi but were less impressed with the Majorelle and Menara gardens - the pics you'll see in guide books will all be the same - as there's just a few points of interest. Souks great fun - fabulous olives! Having ventured outside of the Medina walls we were delighted we chose to stay within - Riad Due really achieves best of both worlds. Booked on ba.com who have just started a partnership with Mr & Mrs Smith, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughes_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the minute their friendly driver picked us up from the airport we were treated to first class service from all of the staff (Rhizlan, Khalid and Rashid) at Riad Due. The driver dropped us off and the porter greeted us with his luggage wheelbarrow and then whisked us off into what looked like a maze of narrow streets and strange smells. Apprehension set in as he led us down an alleyway but how wrong could we have been. He knocked on a huge dark door and within seconds we we ushered inside into a cool, white oasis of calm. The host welcomed us with Mint tea and lush biscuits which later proved to be a twice daily regular treat during our stay. We were then given a tour of all of the suites which at first made us wonder if we wold be disappointed with our smaller and cheaper room. Thankfully this was not the case as our room was huge and luxuriously decorated. The breakfasts are a lovely selection of pastries and your choice of eggs. We didn't eat dinner here but you can book an evening meal which would be in such an intimate setting.
Top tip: Make sure you pack your sunbathing gear as the roof terrace is a real treat with excellent views.

Room Tip: We went for the smallest room which didn't have a bath. It was great but could be a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have just stayed for four days at the Riad Due and we have nothing but praise for it. From the time we booked until the time we left, every assistance was given to our family in circumstances that were sometimes trying and difficult.

To explain, we had come from the Atlas Mountains where one of us had a fall resulting in a broken rib, which was only diagnosed at the hospital in Marrakesh. This meant leaving the children at the Riad when we were seeking treatment and also leaving the patient behind when the rest of the family went to see some sights and to shop at the souks.

The staff (Rhizlan, Khalid and Rashid) were very hospitable and attentive. They helped us with all our enquiries, booked restaurant tables and taxis, guided us to places and were always at hand to bring us a refreshing cup of tea. We felt we were at home and that we could 'aller, venir, rester' as we wished. Cristian who is the Manager is also very knowledgeable about all things to do with Marrakesh and was always available to answer our queries.

We had dinner twice at the Riad, on our first and last nights. Our whole family agrees that these home cooked dinners prepared lovingly by the resident chef, Fatouma, were so good that they were better than the restaurant meals we had. Five stars would not be enough to rate Fatouma's cooking. If this were not enough, she is also in charge of breakfast, which to our delight was different every morning. Really, it was like opening a present every day when you woke up.

The location of the riad is very convenient. It is a short walk to the area where taxis congregate, to where the souks start and to an area of small boutiques. There is a post office and pharmacy nearby, and you can even sample local cakes and food at the many stalls that line the main thoroughfare that leads to the Riad. It is a ten minute walk to the Jemaa-el-Fnaa, that's if you can resist the ample opportunities for shopping and eating along the way.

There are just too many riads in Marrakesh to choose from that I am reminded of something our friends said to us once, 20 years ago, after their daughter was born. They decided soon after that they would not have any more children because they felt they had won the lottery. We feel the same way with Riad Due which, despite the pain and inconvenience of a broken rib, has made our first trip to Marrakesh an extremely memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLRNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you've ever been to Marrakech, you will understand the need for refuge after a long day of being haggled at the markets, and this is exactly what Riad Due provided for us during our trip to Marrakech in March. Located right in the heart of the old Medina, Riad Due is a quiet, calm oasis - with just 4 suites in the riad, you really feel as if you are living in your own Moroccan palace. It is beautifully decorated, and the staff was most helpful and accommodating during our stay. The food at the riad is the best in Marrakech; we would not even suggest bothering to dine anywhere else. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, the riad's manager, Christian, even organised a surprise massage for my wife.
We would most certainly recommend Riad Due to anyone travelling to Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanula99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#24 of 499 in Marrakech
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#101 of 499 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Meriem
Riad Meriem
#252 of 499 in Marrakech
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#93 of 499 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#8 of 1,144 in Marrakech
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Due

Property: Riad Due
Address: 2 Derb Chentouf, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Due 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the souk area in the old medina of Marraekch. Riad Due is a fusion between modernity and traditional style of the riads. Developed around an elegant patio with a central plunge pull. Fabulous location and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Due reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Due Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing