We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sham Shama”
Review of Riad Shama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Shama
Ranked #179 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed in this Riad and was totally disgusted by the state our room was in. We thought we had the best room in the place, a large room facing the pool, that is until we went into the room. The room was very badly lit even with all the lights switched on. The shower was disgustingly dirty and the tap at the basin was wobbling so badly it felt like it could fall off anytime. Staff lied to us about how a taxi booked through them at 100DH would be cheaper than the ones we would get off the street at 150DH. We got one off the street at 40DH! Staff was friendly but could barely cope with dinner order for 9 people. When asked for receipt after paying for dinner, we were told receipts weren't given. Upon checkout, there were arguments about bills not being paid.
Far from the main square and when we got back late, there were some dubious figures lurking outside the Riad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DiTravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadShama, Responsable commercial at Riad Shama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hello,
we are so sad of your comment, as we did the best to enjoy your stay. Indeed, the bathroom couldn't be completly cleaned as you left your clothes evey where in the bathroom, and in the bedroom too, and the cleaning staff is not allowed to move them. The taxi at 100dh (9€) was a private car, and not a street taxi, so for 100dh, you forget to say it was the way to go and to be dropped back, with he ease to stop everywhere you want, and was taking you on time, at the doors of the riad, for only 1.8€ more than a street taxi. So we don't think you have been abused. We are really sorry you think all these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Riad Shama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Shama, with a very warm welcome from the minute we arrived. All the staff were very courteous, and the main receptionist spoke very good english. The breakfasts were amazing up on the terrace, and excellent quality, mixture of moroccan food and western.
The place smelt lovely, with a calm clean atmosphere,and was always a pleasure to come back to. Every time we returned from a busy day, we were offered lovely mint tea. The beds were very comforable. it was outside the central medina and down an alleyway, though we never felt particularly threatened. in fact it was nice walking bak seeing normal life, not just the touristy bits. It was possible to get taxis just outside the old gate. very convenient and excellent choice. we were really happy and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arunrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at the Riad Sharma for 4 nights in January. the Riad is an oasis of calm. It is beautiful, amazing. The staff could not do enough for us. Everyone was extrememly helpful and went out of their way to accommodate.

The Riad itself is a bit of a walk from the main square but once shown the route, the walk there became easier.

We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at the Riad to our friends. Thank you to all at Riad Sharma.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarlochan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, with friends in January. The Riad Shama is an oasis of loveliness within the Medina, which, as mentioned by others, does exhibit some poverty, but whose inhabitants are, in the very significant majority, welcoming. The staff at the Shama are incredible. They are always helpful, well beyond their basic roles, and perform their duties with courtesy, and enthusiasm, with nothing seeming to phase them. Food (we had breakfast, an evening meal, and numerous nibbles) is good, freshly prepared for you, and I have to say, their mint tea was by far the nicest I came across during my stay..... and I drank a lot of tea! The Raid is an excellent base for exploring the Medina and its Souks, but is also good for exploring further afield. Staff in Reception speak fluent English, as do their colleagues who form the public face of the enterprise. The rooftop affords a view of the Medina and beyond, with the Atlas Mountains forming a lovely backdrop, especially when snow capped, and at dawn or sun set. Rooms are large, being beautifully and tastefully furnished with lots of Moroccan ware. The bathrooms are exquisite with an apparently limitless supply of hot water, even in the morning in January. The room, and, indeed, the whole of the Riad, was kept scrupulously clean. In fact, the Medina as a whole was rubbish free when compared to other similar areas in North Africa and the Middle east.
As a place to visit and stay in, I can truthfully recommend the Riad Shama.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms during our stay, but, I have to say that all were equally delightful.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at Riad Shama for a week at the end of December 2012 and had the most amazing time! The staff are so helpful and nothing we asked for was ever a problem.

We were welcomed with a fresh pot of mint tea before getting settled into our massive suite with an amazing bathroom. They really treat you like kings and queens here!

The whole property is incredibile..you can easily spend a whole day relaxing in the riad. I would definitely recommend asking for breakfast on the sunny rooftop terrace (which is obviously no problem at all :) ). The pool was a bit cold (December), but we jumped in once just to test it. Must be great in summer! Theres lots of space and little hidden corners to relax, read and drink lots of (free) mint tea.

Even though Riad Shama isn't situated right amongst the souks, you're still within 10 minutes of the action and a taxi from Place de Bab Taghzout to Djeema el Fna only costs around Dh 60 - 100! The riad is a one minute walk from Bab Tagzout and very easy to find after being shown where it is once (we booked the €20 airport transfer and were greeted by a really nice man from the riad and shown to the hotel, he tried to carry as many of our bags as he could down the street!). There's also plenty of things to explore in this neigbourhood as well: make sure to try the Dh 15 brochettes with bread and tomatoes from one of the Bab Taghzout grill stalls!.

The riad also provided us with their own car and driver for numerous short trips around town with very reasonable prices.

The food in the riad was very good and breakfast kept on getting better and better every day! Lots of local specialities.

The main thing I loved about this place was that they really made you feel at home and because of the location you really got to feel how the people in Marrakech really live.

Go see for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We booked the amazing "Suite Shama" and loved it! Our friends booked the other two-story s...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Shama fabulous location to stay and take in the authentic Marrakech experience!! The staff were very accommodating and welcoming with the owner speaking excellent english. 15 minutes walk from the Souks (once you get your bearings) stepping back into an oasis of calm after the hustle and bustle of our city adventure. Food great too!

What more can I say, thank you Riad Shama for our wonderful stay and the friends we made whilst there :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icecream H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had 3 nights here and would definitely recommend a visit. Although it was Eid and there were very few guests staying, the staff were helpful and sweet. We ate in twice and the food was good and reasonably priced. Delighful friendly service from Soufiane and Jamal, and all the other staff too. Rooms were comfortable, as were the lounge areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pris0nbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#173 of 502 in Marrakech
261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#88 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#59 of 502 in Marrakech
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#198 of 502 in Marrakech
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#118 of 502 in Marrakech
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shama

Address: 22 Taht sour Ikbir | Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#158 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Shama 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Shama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shama Marrakech
Riad Shama Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing