We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Marrakech and Palmeraie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palmeraie Village Residence
Ranked #140 of 306 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our experience of the Palmeraie Village Hotel and Golf Resort was fantastic. We were met at the airport by the hotel shuttle bus service this cost 180 Dirham each way. The driver was excellent, we arrived at the reception and were welcomely met by the staff.We stayed in one of the Pavilions which houses the apartments, ours was a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment by one of the three swimming pools on this complex.The accomodation was lovely with living room,kitchen,bathroom and two wc's and three terraces the air conditioning was great as the temperature was in the 40c's.The apartment was well appointed and above expectation, the complex was quiet probably due to Ramadan taking place.To go to the other hotels in the Palmeraie resort you arrange for the shuttle bus to pick you up at reception. The facilities included tennis courts,basketball,five a side football,table tennis and more. To eat you could do so on the resort site at the restaurants and poolside bars in the resort complex or arrange for a taxi into Marrakech to the supermarkets or restaurants for 150 Dirham each way booked at reception, most times theere are taxi's waitin outside reception, the only thing is if you are more than 3 in your party you may need two taxi's or a grand mercedes taxi which take 4 passengers! I had read articles from other travellers before going and they were mixed so go with an open mind and embrace the culture and a little knowledge of french goes a long way to making friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dave_melville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

On arrival kettle didn't work, oven hob broke, hot water packed up, electric kept tripping off, Internet connection failed. Service was terrible, after 6 days finally got moved to a better apartment if you can call it that. Cockroaches, sewer smells and the list goes on, DON'T stay it's a nightmare !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bxcoe21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stayed here for a week with three kids 6-12 years old. We had a terrific time. Best time of the year to go to Morocco, very pleasant climate, few tourists here. The lush gardens in this resort are among the nicest I have seen, and a perfect place to relax after some hours in the souk. My kids also loved the large and clean pools with different depths, equally perfect for kids’ play and parents’ swimming. There are an abundance of flowers, birds, cats/kittens, frogs in the central lake at night to hear and watch - if your kids love nature this is a good place!  We found our apartment and the resort clean (after all, this is Africa – if you want everything perfectly clean, neat and well-organized, you should probably go somewhere else).
I thin previous negative criticism about this resort is understandable, although not quite justified in my opinion. Everything depends on your needs. If you are on a “non-self-catering, hotel-service-demanding, don’t-like-to-drive-myself” holiday, this is not the right place to go. If you are a self-catering family, who usually rents a car in the airport and likes flexibility, just wanting a good basis to stay for excursions, I would recommend this as a very good place.
This place basically works like renting an apartment in e.g. a golfers’ area in Southern Spain: You rent a car in the airport (presently around 1800 Dirham a week for a small car all inclusive). You find yourself a city map (or rent a car with navigation). You drive here (Just 15 minutes outside the city if you know the way, traffic is “interesting” but kind of fun, you will learn quickly). You get an apartment key at the kind-of-small reception. You make yourself comfortable in your big apartment (ours had 3 bedrooms, quite okay kitchen, and large terrace with garden – make a wish for location close to the reception when booking). You drive to the supermarket 700 m away from the resort (ask in the reception) to fill your fridge (and buy some equipment that may miss in the kitchen like sponge, soap, coffee pot and filters, et cetera). Now you’re all set!
Trouble starts if you demand a lot of help and service, because there is not much. Staff is friendly; you can get overpriced food and cool beers at the pool restaurants, and a taxi at the reception, yes – but that’s pretty much it. If you’re self-catering, it works just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reimar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I was a bit dubious when my wife and I were invited to go with some good friends to this complex. But deciding we wanted to spend some time together with them, we went along.
When we arrived all was well and we were even upgraded free to a luxury villa for the seven of us. The villa we stayed in was amazing and had much thought put into it. With a private pool and gardens we were set for what seemed to be a good time. Then we actually realised one, how far away this complex is from the centre and second, how pricey marrakech actually is! Being used to thailand it really did come as a surprise. This meant that of course the taxis we had to use to get anywhere were on a par with Europe due to the fact you had no other choice and the drivers knew this. However after a while we started ringing taxis from the hotel which worked out to about 9 euros one way.
Service...... What service!! Everything took hours to do and though we had a villa upgrade it meant we were reliant on a free shuttle to the reception in order to get a taxi. These after ringing for one, often took 30-40 mins to arrive
Staying in was pricey and unless you rented a car I would recommend staying clear of this place.
A shout out for tarrik though on reception who you could see was trying to do everything he could....

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acidburn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Arrived at reception to be ignored and only greeted when forms needed to be filled out. The suite smelled and a cleaning mop and other equipment was left in the bathroom - they were evidently not ready for our arrival. Lighting was poor, bathroom had 1 towel and 1 bar of soap between 4 people and no toilet roll or shower curtain! Very dusty rooms, dark - could not open the shutters for daylight. A rusty patio table and chairs supplied but no cushions on them. The sofa was dirty with what looked like dried in food/drink spillages - yuk! Worst of all was breakfast which was an open buffet but was infested with wasps all over the food and the locals did not mind this! There were no bowls or plates for serving food in and got grumpy looks from the staff when requesting such - if you could find them in the first place! The hotel was large and sprawling so the walk around the grounds was nice but that's all I can recommend for this hotel.

Room Tip: Go here only if you like to rough it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldFlyer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The approach to the hotel is through a poor area of the city, not very nice, but it's reality. The hotel itself has great potential but was ruined by lack of cleanliness in the room and very poor customer service. The front office manager Mr. Hemza...
1) Refused to help with taxi prices to the city, in fact tried quite the opposite.
2) Never informed us that there was no daily cleaning service and then wanted to charge $10 for fresh towels!

Very poor attitude!

The hotel property has a lot of potential with the right management and service but I won't recommend it as is...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manupuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I was a bit nervous booking our family into this hotel as some of the reviews were so negative. In retrospect, I think the most negative reviews were the people who had perhaps unreasonably high expectations. Our experience was that, indeed, the service was sometimes slow or forgetful (and I didn't know when booking that they only clean the apartment once every four days), but given good humour and friendly demeanour, and at least an attempt at French, we won through.
All the positives people have mentioned are true - big (though cold) pools, beautiful gardens, peaceful and quiet, big apartment with enormous terrace. But it is remote, though you can use the shuttle (we found quite reliable) or take a taxi (there is always one there) to get where you want to go. Taxis aren't that cheap, but they are there, and bargaining is not bad (front desk helps) (100 dirham for a "grand taxi" into town). The hotel arranged day trips for us which we enjoyed a lot
So all in all we had a great time and were very sad to leave. We only used some of their extensive sporting facilities and hadn't taken part in their organized sports, even!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#133 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
956 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#304 of 499 in Marrakech
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#327 of 499 in Marrakech
70 reviews
5.5 mi away
Palm Appart Club
Palm Appart Club
#94 of 306 in Marrakech
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeraie Village Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Village Residence

Address: Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 306 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmeraie Village Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Village Marrakech
Hotel Palmeraie Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing