We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A perfect place in the Medina. The best thing is the management and the staff. Perfection. The management, Giordina and Massimo, have put together an exceptional staff. One could live in their Riad forever. Calm, quiet, delicious. The other best thing is that Giordina and Massimo love Morocco and truly understand and appreciate the various cultures of Morocco. One cannot go wrong. Their network is impeccable, and they share it all with love.

Forget the Mamounia, one of the very best hotels in the World. I wouldn't stay there even if as I can afford it. Le Clos des Arts is far more authentic, and much closer to the action!

Herb Stetzenmeyer

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yodlerherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
159
694
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

What an amazingly perfect place! And perfectly run by the owners, Giorgina and Massimo, whose combined skills, charm, hospitality, good taste, attention to detail, knowledge of their surroundings and genuine kindness will make it very difficult for others, in Marrakech or elsewhere, to come anywhere close to this level of excellent accommodation. The rooms and suites are beautiful, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The living and dining areas are, again, beautifully decorated, candle-lit in the evening, and perfect for get-togethers (if you rent the whole Riad, with friends) and dinners (prepared by Leila, under Giorgina's guidance) which are worthy of a review all by themselves! The top-floor terrace, with a small pool, is the perfect place for an amazing breakfast: every day another juice, different pastries and fruit, home-made yoghurts and jams, hot breads, eggs (any style).. And this with a view of the surrounding roof tops in a very nice part of Marrakech's medina. The staff is competent, cheerful and unfailingly helpful. We filled the Riad with a group of close friends, for a long week-end, to celebrate a big birthday, and it was a tremendous success. In addition to looking after us in the Riad, Giorgina and Massimo helped us plan outings, guided tours, hammam sessions and excursions; all great! In conclusion, a wonderful experience which we will undoubtedly want to repeat, soon!

Room Tip: As a Riad is by definition rather compact in layout and size, I would recommend the rooms/suites on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This riad is one of the best riad in Marrakech
we spent 1 night and love the decor.
The rooms are confy, staff are very kind and the service is excellent
i give 4 uo to 5 because of the breakfast, i found it a bit not have a lot of choices beside the moroccan breakfast, but its not a complain all was perfect
will recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Not sure that we can add anything to all the previous reviews….it’s true this Riad is amazing! Delicious food, excellent and courteous staff and beautiful traditional rooms that were spotlessly clean. From our first email enquiry to saying farewell, Georgiana and Massimo were the perfect hosts. All our requests were arranged in advance by email: taxi from the airport, a day trek in the Atlas Mountains, a visit to the Hamman (with a reluctant husband who would now recommend the experience!) and a guided walk around the city. We were apprehensive about visiting Marrakech and now we can’t wait to go back with friends and share the experience of this beautiful Riad and mesmerizing city. If everyone reads the reviews I don’t think we will get another booking for the next 10 years!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Giorgina and Massimo are wonderful hosts and the staff at Riad le Clos des Arts are welcoming and skilful . This is a secret haven. You walk in from a narrow dusty alley into a small peaceful courtyard open to the sky with a fountain at its centre. The sound of water and birdsong and the muezzin can be heard from the rooms facing the courtyard in this two storey building. There is a roof terrace where you can sit, eat spectacular breakfasts and dip into plunge pool. It is stylish and comfortable and as there are not many rooms you feel as if you have been invited into someone's home. Being in the centre of the medina, you can walk to anywhere in the souk and to many of the monuments.

Room Tip: Each room has its advantages and distinctive décor. Nacre ( on the ground floor) and Corail on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My friend and I just returned from our stay here. In fact, we planned our Marrakech dates specifically around their availability because I didn't want to stay anywhere else. It's such a plus having an ex pat couple running it. They give honest and helpful recommendations in this crazy city and it's so nice to have people looking out for you. Who knew that behind that door would be an oasis of tranquility and style? The food was fantastic and the room was chic and comfortable. I would highly recommend this riad! Can't say enough good things!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank whitecheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

After arriving in Marrakech, we thought it would be easy to find the riad from the main square Djeema el Fna. That was a mistake on our side and after walking extensively being sent in all kinds of directions, we managed to get to the riad with the help of two boys. So one word of advice for anyone staying at le Clos des Artes: contact the the riad beforehand to make arrangements to pick you up. (they sent us an e-mail a few days before our arrival to ask us about our arrival but we didn't have internet connection, so we missed their e-mail.)

This experience was a very bad start of our stay but the fact that our stay at le Clos des Arts gets a five star rating is really a big compliment for Massimo and Giorgina, the owners. After our arrival Giorgina really took time to explain about Marrakech while minttea was being served and showed us personally the best way to get to Djeema el Fna. If you don't know it is hard, but if you do know, it is only an easy five minute walk. It is uncommon for us to have long conversations with the owners of the places we are staying in, but in this case we had nice talks with Giorgina and Massimo who are really excellent hosts with interesting backgrounds.

The design of the riad is a subtle and elegant combination of traditional and modern elements. We had the amethyst suite which was spacious, clean and an oasis of rest with excellent beds. We didn't miss the television but we really liked the excellent WiFi.

Breakfast was creative with homemade options you don't often see. Some we really loved, but the avocado juice was not really to our liking and replaced with orange juice. It was beautiful to sit on the roof and enjoy breakfast in the sun. We didn't eat dinner at the riad but Massimo and Giorgina had excellent recommendations for lunch or dinner like the Kozybar and Le Jardin.

Marrakech has turned into a hype with large groups of tourists visiting which puts a lot of pressure on the experience (the Majorelle gardens e.g. are nice and quiet when you are there with a few people but not when you are there with a huge crowd) and pricing. We found Fes more authentic and maybe a better way to experience an old medina and souks.

But if you do come to Marrakech, we can fully recommend le Clos des Arts: after a rocky start because we couldn't find the riad, we really loved this beautiful boutique riad with the wonderful personal touch of the two owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#9 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing