We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

While all the guests of this riad can wax rhapsodic about the location, staff, beautiful accommodations and the amazing food (and I can only echo their sentiments), I would also like to add onto the accolades given to Massimo and Georgina. My husband and I came to their riad for a romantic weekend away only to have a medical emergency arise almost immediately back in Italy with my daughter. My mother (who was watching her) was unable to reach us as our cell phones were not working for some reason. For the same reason, neither could Massimo. Instead, Massimo went above and beyond the call of duty as he handled my worried mother and the doctor back in Italy.Thankfully, my daughter was perfectly fine and we were able to continue our trip; however, there are not enough words to express our gratitude for all that Massimo did to help us during that time. While I hope that no other guest has to have the same type of experience, I tell all this to assure future guests that they can be completely confident that if their vacation involves an unexpected crisis, they will be in competent and generous hands. Thank you again, Massimo and Georgina!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbjs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
158
692
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This riad lives up to its reputation. Not only are the owners extremely helpful but their staff are the best I have ever come across in any hotel/guesthouse across the world. The location is perfect - extremely quiet yet positioned so that you are ideally placed for visiting both the souks and the other major sites to the north and south of the medina. There are excellent bars, restaurants and good value restaurants close by, as well as ATMs and bureau de changes.
Cannot also speak highly enough about this first experience of general Moroccan hospitality, courtesy and friendliness - very refreshing when compared with some other non-European countries. Overall an amazing experience and one I hope to repeat in other parts of Morocco.

Room Tip: As all rooms are around an inner courtyard I would suggest that they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in November. What a lovely place and lovely staff and hosts! After welcoming us to this beautiful house, Georgina took a lot of time explaining us how the medina is set up, where to go and - even more importantly - where not to go and how to interact respectfully with the people who want to sell you something.
We've enjoyed a delicious dinner on the night we arrived and were pampered with a great breakfast every day. Fresh juice and fruit, several types of bread, eggs, you name it. The staff is very friendly and makes sure you get everything you ask for.
Georgina and Massimo go out of their way to ensure you have a great time in Marrakech: we've had a great spa treatment (go for the Angsana experience) and ate in wonderful places, thanks to their suggestions.
If you want a fridge in your room, big breakfast buffets and walk around anonymously in your hotel: do not go here. If you want to feel special, welcome and feel the warmth of people who enjoy making sure you have a great time: go to this riad!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verkaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Le Clos Des Arts for 4 nights in late October. It was our first trip to Marrakesh and to Morocco. The riad is a short walk to the south of Jemaa El Fna and a roughly equal distance north of Bahia Palace. Simply stated, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend the riad to others.

Giorgina and Massimo were wonderful hosts. I had communicated with Giorgina by e-mail prior to our arrival on things to do during our visit. She arranged for transportation from the airport to the riad in the early evening. Massimo met the taxi at the parking area with a porter to take our luggage and walked with us to the riad (it’s hard to find if you haven’t been there before). Since we were arriving around 9:00 pm, Giorgina had arranged dinner for us at the riad, which was excellent. She also provided suggestions for a tour guide on the first morning, for a guide to the High Atlas Mountains on the second day, and for a cooking class on the third day. She also made a reservation for us at the Restaurant Le Marrakchi (it is close to the riad, but compared to the food and service at the riad on the first night, the restaurant was disappointing). We had breakfast at the riad each morning and ended up eating dinner there the third night as well. All of the meals and the service were very good.

We stayed in the Ambre room. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, and the public spaces were exceptional. The only downside is that the enclosed nature of a riad allows sounds to carry (you’re living around an enclosed courtyard like an extended family). However, turning on the air conditioner at night provided just enough ‘white noise’ to muffle nearby sounds without being intrusive.

Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay for four days, in part because of the riad itself, but also because of all of the help provided by Giorgina and Massimo that made us feel like pampered guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC-Garden-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great communication all the way through. Nothing is too much trouble for Massimo, Georgina and their staff. They are delightful and you feel like you are staying with family. They will organise taxis and reservations for you and ensure a smooth journey to and from the airport.
The taxi will drop you at the parking spot a short walk away but they ensure that the driver takes you to and from the Riad with no hassle. That is just what you want when you arrive and it puts you in a good frame of mind from the start of your trip.
We quickly got orientated with Massimo's help and always managed to find our way back ok.
It was fun just sitting and having a chat to Massimo, he has some great stories.The Riad is in a nice quiet spot and is a delight to come back to.
We had a great trip to Atlas Mountains (Massimo will book if you ask), best night at Marachki overlooking the square (live music and bellydancers), excellent meal (French food) at Le Loft and good pitstop food at Oscar Progres.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I've waited a couple of weeks since visiting before writing this review, as I wasn't entirely sure if I could put into writing how fantastic this place is. Even now, I don't think anything that I write can do this beautiful Riad any justice.

My husband and I visited Marrakech for a long weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday. Within minutes of confirming our booking via the Escapio website, I had received an email from Giorgina and Massimo to confirm the booking, request our flight details to arrange airport pick up, and ask if we wanted to eat at the Riad on our arrival night. Good vibes so far!!

On arrival at Marrakech airport, our driver was waiting for us in arrivals (as stated) and drove us to the Riad. We were taken down back streets to find this beautiful building and although it was a matter of metres from hustle and bustle, was in fact, very quiet. On arrival, we were treated to Mint Tea (the best we tasted at all during our visit) and pastries, whilst Giorgina provided us with a detailed map of Marrakech, which also, on the reverse, provided a more magnified map of the Souk area, which was invaluable (and having spoken to some other English tourists whilst out there, this is not something that is generally provided by other establishments). Giorgina went into a great deal of detail with the map; areas to avoid at night, areas where you will find specific items, locations of interest etc etc.

We were then shown to our room, which was beautiful, clean and tidy and provided everything we would need.

Our meal that evening was delicious and I would certainly recommend that anyone staying here enjoy at least one evening meal.

The following morning was my birthday and when we went to our breakfast table, I was greeted with a vase of Roses, with a note wishing me happy birthday from the team, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast each morning was delicious (fruit, fresh juice, yogurt, pastries and the option of eggs). Each morning the fresh fruit and fresh juice were different, but lovely.

Another birthday gift of a beautiful pair of moroccan slippers were given to me by Giorgina after our day of exploring and no matter how busy Giorgina or Massimo were, they would always take the time to come over and greet you, ask you about your day etc etc.

The building itself is beautiful and peaceful. In addition to Giorgina, Massimo and Adriana, the entire staff were friendly and helpful and always smiling.

I want to carry on writing, because I really don't want to miss anything out and I also want to make sure that I get across exactly how fantastic I thought this place was. I have stayed in many lovely places, which I have thought could never be topped, but after having stayed here, I really think anywhere I visit in future will be hard-pushed to match Riad le Clos des Arts. I will definitely stay here again whenever I visit Marrakech.

Thank you to Giorgina, Massimo and Adriana - you made my 40th birthday one that I will never ever forget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the moment we arrived, it was outstanding. Giorgina, Massimo and their staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, and really made us feel at home. The Riad was beautiful, very comfortable and ideally placed - near enough that it was within easy walking distance to anything, but hidden away so that it was peaceful and relaxing. The food - both the breakfast and the meal in the evening - was first class. I couldn't recommend this Riad enough - we will definitely be coming back to Marrakech, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#10 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing