We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in The Marrakech Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Riad le Clos des Arts complements the beauty and mystique of the Marrakech Medina, and as such, enhances one's holiday experience in Morocco. It is an extremely clean and well appointed accommodation which provides personal attention, outstanding service and unrivalled cuisine. The owners Massimo and Georgina have excelled in making everyone's stay at their Riad a memorable event. Their staff ensure that you are welcomed and individually cared for in a manner that highlights warm and sincere Moroccan hospitality. For the three nights that my wife and I stayed in the Amethyst suite, we felt that we were part of the extended family. You cannot experience the charm of Marrakech without a stay in this beautiful home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

One of the most authentic, place in town.
We stayed there for 2 nights and we loved it.
The owners have very carefully decorated the place, paid much attention to details using all local materials and objects.
Our rooms was luxurious and calming, we didn't even what to go out to explore the city, the roof balcony was a outstanding, having breakfast there was just a special moment.
We also tried one of their dinners and I would as far as to say that was the best food we have eaten in Marrakech.
Could go on for a while but the best way to experience it its to go there.
Big thanks to Massimo, Giorgina and Adriana, thanks for your time and for making us feel at home
Last thing to mention is that they speak a lot of languages you won't struggle to communicate if your French isn't great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dandani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights from 14th Feb 2014 in Amethyst room.

From the moment Massimo met us from the taxi and our bags were whisked away by barrow it felt like we were in for a treat. This is a gem of a hotel in a fabulous city centre location 10 minutes from the square in the Marrakech Medina.

Once our host had guided us to his beautiful small hotel, called a Riad centred around an inner courtyard, we were plied with mint tea and biscuits and given an expert insiders guide to the Medina. Where to go and where not to go. Where to eat. How to know whether you are about to barter with an Arab or a Berber and how to handle it. Just what you need before setting out into the intense atmosphere of the Souks or markets North of the main square.

This Riad is an oasis of calm only 10 minutes stroll from the main square. Inside it's a haven of tranquility and luxury. Outside you have wolf the most exciting, fascinating and crazy city centres in the World. This is the perfect base to explore this ancient and vibrant city.

Georgina and Massimo's advice was excellent. Every restaurant was spot on. Food delicious and very reasonably priced. His description about the residents of certain parts of the city losing hope after lunch, so if you want to explore then do it in the morning was poignant, poetic and practical.

Attentive staff. Delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace if the sun shines. Great food. The best welcome you could every hope to receive and very comfortable rooms make this an easy recommendation.

Massimo also recommended several options for day trips which we took advantage of to hire a 4WD and driver to see the Kasbah at Ait Ben Haddou. Very impressive and worth an explore if you have a day to spare.

Be prepared to be woken by the call to prayers at 5:45 each morning which the first time you hear it sounds alien, the second mildly irritating, but by the fourth is strangely beautiful and restful.

Check out the cafe run by butchers called Oscar Progress and a perfect restaurant round the corner called Un Dejeuner a Marrakech. Also venture to the far North West corner of the Souks to find the Fondouks.

I hope to return to Marrakech one day and would not think twice to come back to the Riad de Clos des Arts. Thoroughly recommended,

Room Tip: Only seven rooms in this Riad. Check out owners website to see what each room has to offer. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveJCWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As you’ve read…the reviews here are overwhelmingly positive, and I’m happy to add….they’re 100% accurate. This Riad is a spectacular place to stay.

We stayed for 3 days in mid-February in the “Nacre” suite on the first floor.

Briefly (because so many others have covered it…), the Riad itself is very beautiful. The details are all nicely considered, our room was comfortable; the center “courtyard” was lovely and the whole place smelled amazing. It was a quiet, calm oasis to come home to…and when you’re coming in from the chaotic, loud, crazy streets of the Medina it’s all the more striking and appreciated.

Next, the food was excellent. We had breakfast every morning and dinner one night. Breakfast (served on the roof terrace) was great. All homemade…including the delicious yogurt and freshly baked basket of local-style breads and pastries. Dinner one night was special…a set 3 course Moroccan menu that was delicious. We had chicken Tagine with lemon and olives and it was the best single dish we had out entire trip to Marrakesh.

But what really sets this Riad apart is the hospitality and attention of the staff.

It’s immediately apparent that for the owners, this Riad is a labor of love. Georgina and Massimo made our trip measurably better-- and when was the last time you could say that about the owners of a hotel you were staying at?

They have a brilliant system that, for us, was welcoming and just what we needed during out first trip to Marrakesh. Georgina personally welcomed us at the parking area and walked us back to the Riad, pointing out landmarks and basically explaining how to “home in” on the Riad from anywhere. The Medina can be confusing, so that first 5 minutes was invaluable. It should be noted that the Riad is on a very quiet back street about a 5-7 minute walk from the Jemaa el-Fnaa. Very centrally located if you’re walking everywhere (which we were).

Georgina then sat us down for a short welcome (over Mint tea and cookies) and a review of the map of the medina. She outlined the basics and some places to see…and importantly, some neighborhoods to watch out for. All very nice and very useful for us.

Massimo was interesting (and gregarious!) and always willing to sit for a few minutes to chat over a tea. He’s a super interesting guy that has done some amazing stuff.

Both of them (and Adrianna, the daytime manager) were always available and present for a recommendation or a bit of help on any topic.

For me, the most impressive part of our visit wasn’t anything tangible. It was the hospitality provided by the owners. We literally felt like friends of theirs. Really.

And when you consider that they replicate that same level of attention (and that same feeling) for all their guests…it’s all the more impressive.

If you’re thinking about staying in the Medina, you should stay at this Riad. Full stop. Just do it…you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BodenseeAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at this Riad for one week 11-18th February 2014. We booked it over the internet without any problems and emails from Giorgina and Massimo were friendly and reassuring for first time visitors to Marrakesh. Giorgina and Massimo organised for us to be collected from the airport and when our taxi arrived at the edge of the Medina Massimo was there to guide us through the maze of alleyways to our Riad, which was great as we arrived in the dark and it would have been difficult to find without him! Massimo told us Moroccan houses are plain on the outside and all their beauty is on the inside and so it was with this Riad. Giorgina is an architect by trade and has lovingly and beautifully restored this old building and created an elegant peaceful oasis with extraordinary attention to detail. The surroundings are five star, but the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The staff are extremely attentive, and the breakfasts and dinners delicious. Breakfast is a bowl of prepared fruit with a pot of set yogurt, orange juice, tea/coffee and a plate of bread with cake, picklets, or little pancakes and you can have eggs. Dinner is three course, fresh local produce, with delicious olives and bread to nibble while you wait. The rooms have a safe, plenty of storage space and coat hangers (always a bone of contention in hotels I find) Plenty of hot water and toiletries and a comfortable bed with white linens. There is also an a/c system which can be used to heat as well as cool the room should you need it. If the sun is shining breakfast is served on the roof terrace where there are loungers and a plunge pool to relax in during the day when wrestling with the enthusiastic traders in the souks gets too exhausting. The Riad is in a great position just a five-ten minute walk from Place Jemaa-el-Fna. We had supper out at le Salama at the end of our alleyway a couple of nights where the food was good, great service, nice music, euro prices and alcohol if you wanted it. We also ate at Le Marrakeshi on the square where the views from the first floor windows of Place Jemaa-el-Fba at night were great and the food was ok, again euro prices. On our first morning at the Riad we were given a very thorough and enormously helpful induction by Adriana, (Massimo's cousin who has had a house in Marrakesh for the last 10 years and knows a thing or two) she checked us out each day to see if we were OK and organised a wonderful day trip into the Atlas Mountains for us. We had a late flight on our final day and were not rushed out of our room at day break and where encouraged to use the facilities of the Riad until it was time to go. This place is why we never go to large hotels anymore but seek out small, relaxed and beautiful places where people with local knowledge and impeccable hospitality look after you as well as you could ever expect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Turquoise room which was beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michnoquetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in Georgina and Massimo's Riad for a combined 50th celebration. A really fantastic experience, very friendly staff and brilliant advice and booking of trips and guides from Georgina. All the other comments made, we experienced as well. Accomodation first rate and a great break! Massimo also lends out his short coat djellaba if you have not got a jacket!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I visited Marrakech last week with my boyfriend and had the most wonderful time staying at Giorgina and Massimo's Riad. It feels like a beautiful and tranquil oasis away from the bustle of the town, despite being positioned so centrally and close to everything. You feel you are getting an authentic understanding of what it's really like to live in Marrakech.

When we arrived Massimo greeted us and walked us to the Riad, before sitting us down and offering us tea and delicious sweet treats, getting out a map and showing us all the key places to see and visit including authentic restaurants which are not touristy and off the beaten track.

We opted for the cheapest room Citrine which was perfect for us and a great option if you don't want to pay so much but still want to stay in a beautiful high quality Riad. All of the staff in the Riad were absolutely wonderful and so attentive, the breakfast was delicious served on the lovely sunny terrace (in February!) and the dinner we opted for one night was also very tasty and a nice option for the first night when we tired and didn't want to walk out to a restaurant.

I would definitely recommend doing the imlil trekking day trip which the Riad can organise, our guide was so lovely and informative and showed an entirely different side to Marrakech!

I could go on but overall I would recommend this Riad without a moments hesitation, the hosts are wonderful and there to help your every need as well as the staff - you honestly feel like you are in paradise!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank elynch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#20 of 502 in Marrakech
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £116 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere. Be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours. Be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing