We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #4 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We just got back from a 4 days holiday in Marrakech. All the fantastic reviews that I found here are absolutely well deserved. The riad is a gem hidden at 5 minutes walking distance from the Jema- el Fna Square. The decor is beautiful, the service impeccable, the food fantastic - but the plus is the warm welcome that Giorgina and Massimo give to the guests, making them feel "at home far from home". Thank you so much for such a great holiday and we certainly hope to go back very soon, Inshallah!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
There are newer reviews for Riad le Clos des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic three night stay in the Riad, located right in the heart of the medina in Marrakech. From the moment we arrived to moment we left we had a wonderful trip made all the better through the accommodation and service at the Riad.

We booked a transfer from the hotel and an executive car whisked us to the nearby parking lot where we were met by Massimo to guide us through our first taste of Marrakech!!

First impressions are where are we going!! If ever the phrase "Dont judge a book by its cover" was appropriate it was for accommodation in Marrakech. Hidden behind tall walls and austere doors lies an oasis of calm and beauty. The Riad is stunning, with beautiful attention to detail by the owners. On arrival we were offered mint tea and pastries together with a detailed overview of the city - must do's and maybes of a city that has a magnificent history most in tact to this day.

Our room was lovely with everything in place that you would need. Fluffy gowns and local toiletries were complimentary and air conditioning was available. Having said that our room was used for sleeping only, the riad has a wonderful terrace with a small pool and loungers. Plenty of loungers are available and the staff are happy to provide towels and sun hats.

Breakfast was a traditional affair of fruit, yoghurt, breads and jams together with a cup of fresh brewed coffee. Very filling, in fact we did not need to take lunch while we were there.

A special mention to the team at the Riad. Massimo and Giorgina have assembled (or the team have assembled themsleves!!) a really genuine welcoming team of locals who cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much and the attentiveness of the team really add to the experience of the trip.

We went for a long weekend, and felt that Marrakech was probably more than 2 nightsbut probably 5 nights would be enough. The place was amazing and I will not try and describe the culture and atmosphere the city presents, other than if you enjoy experiencing things different to that of the UK or US then Marrakech is a must do!!

A final word to Marrakech. If like me you enjoy a drop of beer or wine then bear in mind it is virtually a dry country, very few places serve alcohol (although it can be found). My top tip would be to take in a couple of bottles of wine or a bottle of your favourite spirit together with a few double measure bottles from the plane. Fill them up every night and enjoy a "Cola Light" with your own added extra tipple while sitting watching the world go by in Jmaa el Fna.

Always happy to answer specific questions, but would not hesitate to recommend the riad as a base. Please see my other hotel reviews.

Have fun

Lee

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Myself and my husband stayed five nights at Le Clos Des Arts and had a wonderful experience.Georgina , Massimo and all the staff treated us like family and it felt like home from home in luxury surroundings.The meals were delicious and home cooked by Leila and were by far the best food we had in Morrocco.All the staff looked happy and seemed to have fun even helping us to purchase a particular pot similar to one at the riad.The rooftop garden with the pool was great to while away the afternoons enjoying tea and pastries lounging on the comfortable seats. I would certainly recommend this riad to all my friends as I couldn't imagine finding anywhere better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesykes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We enjoyed three terrific days at the Riad thanks to Giorgina, Massimo and their fine staff. All were most helpful throughout our stay. Delightful room, great meals...a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Riad Le Clos des Arts, very likely the best place where to spend a plesant stay while visiting Marrakech. Elegant, intimate, however the real luxury is the home feeling that Giorgina and Massimo, your discret but always present hosts, have been able to create which make every client feeling part of a family.
Massimo large Africa’s experience contributes to widen your view of this magic continent.
Giorgina’s personal touches are all around you and, at the end of another full day wondering around the medina, she welcomes you with gourmet food, supervised in all its aspect from preparation to the service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanzibarmodena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We were welcomed personally by the owners Giorgina & Massimo and given mint tea and freshly made pastries. They gave us information about the Riad and the area and educated us in the "Do's and Don'ts". Nothing was too much trouble for either them or the staff and there was always one of them available to answer questions or to ask for advice. They also arranged bookings in restaurants for us and also trips with a guide around the Medina and into the Atlas Mountains both of which were wonderful experiences.

The breakfasts were beautifully served in their small intimate restaurant and consisted of fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly baked breads and pastries and speciality teas and coffee. There was absolutely no stone left unturned in order to make us welcome and provide for our every needs and we cannot praise Giorgina, Massimo and their staff for making our stay so memorable in this fascinating, vibrant city.

The Riad itself was luxuriously furnished in true Morrocan style and was a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle, yet so conveniently situated for the main square Jemaa El Fna. Our family shared four beautiful suites and the teenagers also loved the whole place and the true Moroccan atmosphere and felt very comfortable and relaxed there. There is a small pool on the roof terrace with comfortable seating, towels, sun hats and everything for your convenience.

I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful Riad to anyone and have to say that Giorgina & Massimo treat people as friends and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Having spent five incredible days in Marakesh - unforgettable thanks to the the truly warm welcome, and to the efficiency of the proprietors -
my time in the riad "Le clos des arts" was memorable...
In its glorious situation right in the medina and yet sheltered from the noise, this riad is a perfect replica of the maroccan homes, with its comfort,
beautiful architecture and its impeccable service ( I recommend the typical local specialities and the cook's patisserie ! ).
The owners are quietly present and attentive to the details which make their guests' stay such a pleasure; nothing is too much trouble and the
place runs smoothly for the comfort of everyone.
The success of the visit is also due to the ideal number of visitors, not too many rooms, and therefore very personal attention ,indeed a family
atmosphere allowing welcome and discretion in equal balance. One can always find a quiet corner to be alone if one wishes.
In all, my stay will remain a delightful memory. Thank you to those who made it such a success
Violaine from Switzerland

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violaineMorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#44 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £113 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere. Be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours. Be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing