We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location, Great Experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2010

After reading the reviews, i am pleased to say that my experience lived up to what i head read previously. Giorgina and Massimo make you feel like you are part of the family and are happy to sit down and spend time explaining the do's and dont's of Marrakech.
The meal that we ate on our first night was one of the best tasted throughout the trip.
The location was ideal, being no more than 5mins walk to the main square. the Riad was also easy to find, with a few handy landmarks along the way!
On our last night, we were offered a free upgrade to the suite, which topped off an already memorable experience. We will look back on Marrakech and this Riad with fond memories.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

Our experience herewas not at all what we were led to believe. To start off the holiday we were kept waiting at the airport for 45 minutes before the pre-ordered ( and paid for) taxi showed up.

When we arrived at the riad we found our reserved room still occupied and we were told to wait in the courtyard until the room was vacant. An hour later, we were finally "allowed" to rest in the room. We had to ask several times for soap, toilet tissue, and bath towels all of which had been forgotten as the room was being prepared.

The next morning we were served a satisfactory breakfast, but lunch was an unfortunate experience because two hours after both my boyfriend and I were ill. The management tried to blame it on eating street food, but they neglected to notice that we hadn't even been out of the riad yet. We learned from another couple who were at lunch with us that they,too, were ill. Not a pleasant way to start a holiday I can assure you.

Had we not been so ill and tired we would have left immediately. The next day we moved to the Sofitel which saved out holiday.

If you have to stay here I would suggest you avoid the food at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DehliBeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

From start to finish it was an absolute pleasure to be in this Riad. I am always a bit apprehensive when traveling, but Giorgina makes you feel safe and secure in Marrakech. It was like having a (slightly older) sister with you, who made all the arrangements spoke English, French and Italian and a little Arabic to take all of those difficult moments away whilst in a foreign country. It was a reassuring base to return to after a hard days bargaining in the souks nearby.
The decor and facilities were superb and in great taste. The food was divine, and the staff were always smiling, helpful and attentive.

Unsurprisingly, like minded lovely people go there and we made a few friends...!

We generally try and travel to new places, but if we ever go back to Marrakech; apart from the friendly people in the Souks and the the mysterious charm of Jema El Fana, it will be Giorgina's warm hospitality and the Riad that we would really like to visit again - as they say - enshallah!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SethandAnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This riad came highly recommended by a tour operator in the Uk. It was excellent and from the outset both my girlfriend and I were charmed by the hospitality of the owners and their support staff who made every effort to make our trip a memorable experience. I lost track of the number of times I found myself thanking the two for helping us in some way or another. I found Massimo a fascinating guy who shared many of his life tales with us and his lengthy experience in the hospitality industry was extremely apparent to me and explains why they have made this riad just right. The riad is well sitauted about 6 mins walk from the main square where the life of soul of Marrekesh located. The rooms were spacious in particular the bathroom which has a walk in shower and they were also clean .In general the riad has both a terrific atmosphere and is pleasing on the eye in terms of decour/mosiacs e.t.c.. The evening meal was perfect in terms of both the atmosphere and quality of the food. 9.5/10 only thing i could fault were the breakfasts which lacked a bit of imagination (just bread, jams and luke warm coffee) plus there were wasps everywhere on the terrace meaning we had to eat in our room! However overall this is a special place i am certain you will not regret booking.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank eagleeye090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2010

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your compliments but mostly thank you for suggesting to improve the offer of our breakfast.
We are pleased to share with you that recently we have started offering salty dishes (i.e. eggs or cheese or olives and olive oil) at altenate days, in order to vary the choices. And we have repaired the resistance of our coffee machine. However, we believe it is extremely important to aim at making our guests as happy as possible, and therefore your words come very helpful to us.
Many thanks again with the hope of having you again with us
Giorgina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I was very impressed by the attention to details on the food side of life and I was served on one night a Moroccan beef steak, which I will never forget. Delicious! The charm and the tranquility of the Riad exceeded my expectations. And the staff were really great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattinDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Our stay at this riad made our entire experience in Marrakech very special. Giorgina and Massimo have created a cosy and intimate environment, much of it because of their personal touch and hands-on management of the day-to-day running of the riad. Massimo greeted us where our taxi dropped us, walked us through the little lanes and alleys to the riad, and gave us a thorough intro and run-down of how to navigate the medina. Both Giorgina and Massimo are on hand to answer any questions and offer suggestions and guidance depending on our interests and needs, which turned out to be immensely helpful because we were considering organizing a family event in Marrakech some time in the near future. In fact, even after visiting another 8-10 other riads, we still concluded that we really enjoyed the cosy and casual atmosphere at Le Clos des Arts. Getting back after pounding the streets visiting spaces felt like "coming home", so kudos to G & M for successfully creating that feeling for us. That sense was emphasized especially since the riad is located in a quiet, low-traffic cul-de-sac, away from the crazy traffic (human and otherwise) of the main drags leading to the souks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bignchunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We chose Riad Le Clos des Arts based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor and we are very happy to say that our stay far surpassed our expectations(which are high) and from the moment we got there to the moment we left it was absolutely perfect. It is a stunning and beautiful riad in a location that can't be beat and every detail is so carefully thought out...they think of every possible thing that could make your stay better. Besides the fact that the place is so relaxing and peaceful you barely want to leave and see Marrakech...what is even better are the people behind the riad...Georgina, Massimo and the entire staff and just fantastic people. We left there feeling like we had made some new genuine friends who are doing what they are doing for the sheer joy and passion of it. I couldn't wait to write a review for them so that hopefully other people who might read this could find the gem that we found. Thank you Georgina and Massimo :) :) :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musichalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#16 of 499 in Marrakech
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#24 of 499 in Marrakech
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#6 of 499 in Marrakech
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £111 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere. Be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours. Be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing