We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't consider anything else, just go to the Riad des Clos des Arts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't consider anything else, just go to the Riad des Clos des Arts”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed a week in the Riad des Clos des Arts with a friend in July 2010. Whatever good has been said about the Riad in previous reviews is more than correct. The Riad is beautiful, well kept, very clean, very quiet, its location is excellent and it's run by an excellent manager/owner, supported by very helpful and friendly staff, all of whom speak either French or English. I had to change rooms in the middle of my stay, but this was made very easy by all staff. The first room I stayed in was a suite, the second one just a normal room. If you have the choice, and you can afford it, go for one of the suites. They are very comfortable and spacious. The normal rooms are comfortable too, just less spacious. Giorgina, the owner, goes out of her way to make you comfortable and help you out in whichever way she can. She gave us great shopping tips (Warda la Mouche was a treat), made us salads at short notice, arranged transport when we needed it, made restaurant suggestions and bookings (Giorgina, La Trattoria was great indeed!), etc. The fruit in the room, the little rose, the goodbye present, the excellent Morrocon tea were the much appreciated "finishing touches". Anyone who has been making comments on tripadvisor on for example the noise of passing motocycles at night, is simply making this up as the location of the Riad does not allow this. Airconditioning was working very well, and there is wireless internet connection through the Riad. The only very minor suggestion for Giorgina would be to let people first go their rooms and refresh before starting the explanations about Marrakesh. If you're going to Marrakesh, have no doubts, just hope the Riad des Clos des Arts has rooms available!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
166
722
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
intl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The owners are very friendly and make a genuine effort to make your stay comfortable even before you arrive. They speak German, English, Italian and French, so that attracts a lot of European tourists. They can even book restaurants or activities before you actually get there. I would recommend doing that as you might find everything is full if you wait until you get to Marrakesh.

We ordered the airport pick up service and had no problem with that. Once we got to the drop off location, we were escorted through the tiny streets to the quiet street in which the Riad is located. That was the case also on our way back, so they made us feel very safe and even warned us about neighborhoods we should avoid at night. The riad itself is very beautiful, with a bit of a modern-minimalist style and the location is also very good. The only noise complaint I would have is that you can hear a nearby mosque in the early morning, which can wake you up, but I imagine that is the case in most riads in the medina.

We had several meals in the riad (besides breakfast) and they were always very good and reasonably priced. We had no problem with any of the meals (and yes, we ate all the fresh fruit and salad.) For those who got sick, I think it's a matter of bad luck... I imagine that if you travel in the summer, you are more likely to get food poisoning. (I would recommend the late spring or early fall, but avoid the summer months - too hot to walk around!)

One downside is that we were asked to pay in cash and we would have preferred not to carry all that cash around, but there is a safe in each room, so you can leave your valuables in the riad when you go out to explore the city.

As for pricing, I would not say it is cheap at all (same as an average 3-star hotel in Europe) and if you think of how little local people make, then it becomes quite expensive but that's a whole other issue.... The riad is about the same price or cheaper than some of the other alternatives in the area, so all in all it is quite a good deal, and what makes the place win points is the attentive and friendly service of the owners.

An activity I would recommend while in Marrakesh: an excursion to the Atlas Mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer-intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

After reading the reviews, i am pleased to say that my experience lived up to what i head read previously. Giorgina and Massimo make you feel like you are part of the family and are happy to sit down and spend time explaining the do's and dont's of Marrakech.
The meal that we ate on our first night was one of the best tasted throughout the trip.
The location was ideal, being no more than 5mins walk to the main square. the Riad was also easy to find, with a few handy landmarks along the way!
On our last night, we were offered a free upgrade to the suite, which topped off an already memorable experience. We will look back on Marrakech and this Riad with fond memories.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Our experience herewas not at all what we were led to believe. To start off the holiday we were kept waiting at the airport for 45 minutes before the pre-ordered ( and paid for) taxi showed up.

When we arrived at the riad we found our reserved room still occupied and we were told to wait in the courtyard until the room was vacant. An hour later, we were finally "allowed" to rest in the room. We had to ask several times for soap, toilet tissue, and bath towels all of which had been forgotten as the room was being prepared.

The next morning we were served a satisfactory breakfast, but lunch was an unfortunate experience because two hours after both my boyfriend and I were ill. The management tried to blame it on eating street food, but they neglected to notice that we hadn't even been out of the riad yet. We learned from another couple who were at lunch with us that they,too, were ill. Not a pleasant way to start a holiday I can assure you.

Had we not been so ill and tired we would have left immediately. The next day we moved to the Sofitel which saved out holiday.

If you have to stay here I would suggest you avoid the food at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DehliBeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

From start to finish it was an absolute pleasure to be in this Riad. I am always a bit apprehensive when traveling, but Giorgina makes you feel safe and secure in Marrakech. It was like having a (slightly older) sister with you, who made all the arrangements spoke English, French and Italian and a little Arabic to take all of those difficult moments away whilst in a foreign country. It was a reassuring base to return to after a hard days bargaining in the souks nearby.
The decor and facilities were superb and in great taste. The food was divine, and the staff were always smiling, helpful and attentive.

Unsurprisingly, like minded lovely people go there and we made a few friends...!

We generally try and travel to new places, but if we ever go back to Marrakech; apart from the friendly people in the Souks and the the mysterious charm of Jema El Fana, it will be Giorgina's warm hospitality and the Riad that we would really like to visit again - as they say - enshallah!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SethandAnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This riad came highly recommended by a tour operator in the Uk. It was excellent and from the outset both my girlfriend and I were charmed by the hospitality of the owners and their support staff who made every effort to make our trip a memorable experience. I lost track of the number of times I found myself thanking the two for helping us in some way or another. I found Massimo a fascinating guy who shared many of his life tales with us and his lengthy experience in the hospitality industry was extremely apparent to me and explains why they have made this riad just right. The riad is well sitauted about 6 mins walk from the main square where the life of soul of Marrekesh located. The rooms were spacious in particular the bathroom which has a walk in shower and they were also clean .In general the riad has both a terrific atmosphere and is pleasing on the eye in terms of decour/mosiacs e.t.c.. The evening meal was perfect in terms of both the atmosphere and quality of the food. 9.5/10 only thing i could fault were the breakfasts which lacked a bit of imagination (just bread, jams and luke warm coffee) plus there were wasps everywhere on the terrace meaning we had to eat in our room! However overall this is a special place i am certain you will not regret booking.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eagleeye090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your compliments but mostly thank you for suggesting to improve the offer of our breakfast.
We are pleased to share with you that recently we have started offering salty dishes (i.e. eggs or cheese or olives and olive oil) at altenate days, in order to vary the choices. And we have repaired the resistance of our coffee machine. However, we believe it is extremely important to aim at making our guests as happy as possible, and therefore your words come very helpful to us.
Many thanks again with the hope of having you again with us
Giorgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I was very impressed by the attention to details on the food side of life and I was served on one night a Moroccan beef steak, which I will never forget. Delicious! The charm and the tranquility of the Riad exceeded my expectations. And the staff were really great.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattinDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing