We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Marvel of Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Notting Hill London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Marvel of Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Outstanding place to enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of the medina -- a jewel box of a residence a few minutes walk from the bustling and fascinating main square. Giorgina will make you welcome in this beautiful old house with its delighful rooms, traditional atmosphere and friendly service. The small pool on the roof is a winner during the very hot July days of our visit .. make sure you book dinner here for at least one evening -- great food and top value. visit Cozi Club nearby for decent wines, beers and food and a cool rooftop setting. An outstanding week in old Morocco. Truthful Jim, London

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthfulJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
159
694
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed in Marrakech for two nights, and could not have asked for a better place to come home to. Giorgina and Massimo are the nicest people in the world. When we first arrived, Georgina already had tasty mint tea ready and sat down with us to explain everything about Marrakech. They actually take the time to sit with you and tell you where you should and should not visit and ask how your day was and care about your response. The breakfast is great. We also had couscous dinner one night, which is a MUST, best dinner in Marrakech hands down. We even mentioned how we enjoyed the Moroccan pastries and the next day they had them as part of our dessert. We can't recommend this place enough. Perfect location, safe, amazing. We truly felt like kings in this riad.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

(Written by the Wifey!)

I've been reading reviews here and when I see negative comments that contributors put, I somehow feel hurt because I loved this Riad very much. We've only been to Marrakesh once but stayed in two riads (as my husband wanted to try a more expensive riad). When we moved to the more expensive riad on Day 3, I wanted to go back to Riad Les Clos des Arts straight away because the more expensive Riad far inferior in all angles.
I've drafted a review straight after coming back from hols. I was hoping to spell-check it before posting but busy work schedule did not allow me. So here it is...copied and pasted from the word document. Sorry for the typos. Any questions about the Riad...I am very willing to answer.
---------------------------------------
OUR MARRAKSHI STORY (See pictures, too!)
First time in a country where the only words we know are: ‘La’ and ‘Shukran’.

THE ACCOMMODATION
Selecting a Riad in Marrakesh was indeed a tough decision for us. We were so used to booking hotels in Europe and the US, which rendered us unskilled on ‘Choosing a Riad 101’.
Surprisingly, we seriously think that RIAD CLOS DES ARTS is one of the best accommodations we’ve had so far. The moment you enter the door, you can feel a sense of warmth, hospitality, creativity and ingenuity. The whole Riad was clean and orderly.
We stayed in the cheapest room (Citrine). For the price we’ve paid, we felt that we got more than what we’ve paid for. The room was artistically decorated. The bed was comfortable, the linen were clean. The towels and bathrobes were immaculate. There is only a shower in this room but we already knew that before we booked...a shower is all we needed and wanted on this holiday. Every night, I slept like a log in this sanctuary of tranquillity.

THE NEIGBOURHOOD
It is true that in Marrakesh, donkeys and motorbikes rule the roads! Massimo warned us of this so many times...and we made sure we kept this in mind as we don’t want to go home like an Ikea flatpack! But if there is one road in our whole stay in Marrakesh where we felt truly safe, it is the street that led us to this riad.

LOCATION AND ACCESSIBILITY
The location of the Riad is near to everything that you want to see in Marrakesh -- the souks, tombs, palaces, museums. We walked to the Jma El-fnaa Square even late night and we did not experience any mishap. The Riad was also relatively close to places to eat, although you MUST try the evening dinner served here! For 25 euros, you get a mouth-watering, tasty and nicely served 3-course menu!

THE HOSTS
Massimo and Georgina have looked after us so well. From the time we arrived (we were of course welcomed with mint tea aka Berber Whisky) we felt like we’ve been talking to long-lost friends. Massimo gave us a map and gave an overview about the places and experiences that await us in Marrakesh. Georgina, on our second day, booked us to a tour to the Atlas Mountains. The tour people were so kind and accommodating, too! Georgina and Massimo also referred us to a local Imam they frequent...what a wonderful relaxing experience!
If you are a person who loves interaction, this is a place for you. The owners are always attentive and make it sure that they converse with you. We learned a lot from Massimo and Georgina about Marrakesh. And we enjoyed the great conversations we had about Tanzania, Italy, UK, and Switzerland, too!

THE STAFF
In this place, you can see in the faces of the staff that they are being treated very well by the owners of the Riad. Massimo and Georgina make it a point that tips that were left for staff go to the staff; and that they are also compensated fairly.
Emlaki – We now call him ‘our friend’. He was so hospitable and attentive to our needs. We shared nice conversations with him. He served during dinner time, too.. so we knew we were always taken good care of.
Hasna and Karima – They made our stay extra special as they always smile to us and always ask us if there’s anything else that we need.
Leila – the lady with the golden hands. She’s the mistress of the kitchen who prepared those dinners that we still dream about up until now.
On our last day, while I was with Massimo and Georgina to pay the bill...had a Marrakshi breakfast (i.e. bread, oil and mint tea) with the staff who invited her to join them. They also taught her how to make ‘mint tea’ – much to her delight as she bought a shiny Fez kettle hoping that she can serve Berber whisky to our guests back in London.
For busy people like us, it is an effort to make a review. But when a place gave us a great impression, we make it sure that we make time to write something about it so other people may benefit from the experience we had. Our stay in Marrakesh has been truly wonderful, and the RIAD CLOS DES ARTS is one of the reasons why.


If ever we come back to this great city again, we will not waste any time looking anywhere else. We already found our home in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I recently stayed at the riad, and the delightful couple that owns this boutique hotel merits kudos for their taste in all fronts. Distilled Morocan decor and gourmet food that will please exotic inclinations as well as occidental ones.

-Toti

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debschmidt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Georgina and her staff are awesome! They made our honeymoon just perfect, down to the smallest details - rose petals on our bed, mint tea whenever we returned, an everpresent smile. When the company that was managing the rest of our travel goofed, they went out of their way to try to get us back on track. We can't thank them enough for their gracious hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed a week in the Riad des Clos des Arts with a friend in July 2010. Whatever good has been said about the Riad in previous reviews is more than correct. The Riad is beautiful, well kept, very clean, very quiet, its location is excellent and it's run by an excellent manager/owner, supported by very helpful and friendly staff, all of whom speak either French or English. I had to change rooms in the middle of my stay, but this was made very easy by all staff. The first room I stayed in was a suite, the second one just a normal room. If you have the choice, and you can afford it, go for one of the suites. They are very comfortable and spacious. The normal rooms are comfortable too, just less spacious. Giorgina, the owner, goes out of her way to make you comfortable and help you out in whichever way she can. She gave us great shopping tips (Warda la Mouche was a treat), made us salads at short notice, arranged transport when we needed it, made restaurant suggestions and bookings (Giorgina, La Trattoria was great indeed!), etc. The fruit in the room, the little rose, the goodbye present, the excellent Morrocon tea were the much appreciated "finishing touches". Anyone who has been making comments on tripadvisor on for example the noise of passing motocycles at night, is simply making this up as the location of the Riad does not allow this. Airconditioning was working very well, and there is wireless internet connection through the Riad. The only very minor suggestion for Giorgina would be to let people first go their rooms and refresh before starting the explanations about Marrakesh. If you're going to Marrakesh, have no doubts, just hope the Riad des Clos des Arts has rooms available!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

The owners are very friendly and make a genuine effort to make your stay comfortable even before you arrive. They speak German, English, Italian and French, so that attracts a lot of European tourists. They can even book restaurants or activities before you actually get there. I would recommend doing that as you might find everything is full if you wait until you get to Marrakesh.

We ordered the airport pick up service and had no problem with that. Once we got to the drop off location, we were escorted through the tiny streets to the quiet street in which the Riad is located. That was the case also on our way back, so they made us feel very safe and even warned us about neighborhoods we should avoid at night. The riad itself is very beautiful, with a bit of a modern-minimalist style and the location is also very good. The only noise complaint I would have is that you can hear a nearby mosque in the early morning, which can wake you up, but I imagine that is the case in most riads in the medina.

We had several meals in the riad (besides breakfast) and they were always very good and reasonably priced. We had no problem with any of the meals (and yes, we ate all the fresh fruit and salad.) For those who got sick, I think it's a matter of bad luck... I imagine that if you travel in the summer, you are more likely to get food poisoning. (I would recommend the late spring or early fall, but avoid the summer months - too hot to walk around!)

One downside is that we were asked to pay in cash and we would have preferred not to carry all that cash around, but there is a safe in each room, so you can leave your valuables in the riad when you go out to explore the city.

As for pricing, I would not say it is cheap at all (same as an average 3-star hotel in Europe) and if you think of how little local people make, then it becomes quite expensive but that's a whole other issue.... The riad is about the same price or cheaper than some of the other alternatives in the area, so all in all it is quite a good deal, and what makes the place win points is the attentive and friendly service of the owners.

An activity I would recommend while in Marrakesh: an excursion to the Atlas Mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer-intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#9 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing