We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely riad, great location”
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed at Clos des Arts for three nights in room rubis. The riad is lovely and really well located in the heart of the medina, close to the square, souks and other sights. We had a really warm welcome from Massimo and Georgiana who gave us great advice about where to go and what to do. They were really helpful booking dinner, hammam etc for us. On our last night we had a fabulous dinner in the riad, the best tagine of our week in Morocco!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    33
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
168
731
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piacenza, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2010

A very nice and charming riad in a very quiet and beautiful part of Marrakech medina, with clean and romantic rooms that merge the traditional moroccan style with lovely design furniture.
The owners, Massimo and Giorgina, and the overall staff are very lovely people whose goal is to make you feel at your home. They provided us with a lot of information and suggestions about the best ways to enjoy the city and thanks to them we could find surprising places for having amazing lunches and dinners in the earth of the medina.
It is definitely the perfect place for a romantic and relaxing stay in Marrakech.
I suggest also to ask Massimo and Giorgina to prepare a moroccan dinner for you: be ready for an extraordinary gastronomic experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasso_PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We chose Riad Le Clos des Arts because of the apparent good reviews. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We were also embarassed because we invited friends for a long weekend break.

The riad is ok but certainly nothing like the hype! Staff friendly,but overworked. Rooms cramped,damp and rather basic. We had to ask several times to get fresh towels or have the room serviced.

The management were smiling and cordial until our bill arrived and we questioned the extra charges and the 20% addition to our original quote. After a rambling response about taxes,service etc., they became very defensive and said they would not call a taxi
and did not care if we missed our plane. Very commercially driven people.

It was a mistake believing the hype and very embarassing for us having invited friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kyung53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canillo, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
We are committed to high standards, starting from truthfulness.

As the owners of the riad, we are constantly in contact with our guests.
Unfortunately we don't recall any situation where we had guests arguing about the bill.
It doesn't belong to our professional ethics to threaten our guests and anytime we have to solve inconvenient situations it is our philosophy to do our best to have our guests happy and satisfied.

All prices are quoted at booking time, including requested extras, taxes, etc. They also appear in our website for fair information. There is no service or extra charge foreseen out of those listed in the website, unless for services specifically requested by the guests such as meals, drinks, transfers, clearly not included in a BB rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This wonderful Riad is at the very heart of the historical part of Marrakesh, the Medina,
patrimony of the whole Humanity, according to UNESCO, being at the same time absolutely quiet, thanks to the house block separating the Riad itself from the closest street of the souk.
We breathed the magic of this Riad when the colors of the sunset matched those of the lanterns, shaping on the walls and columns surrounding the courtyard patterns of imaginary figures reminding us the marvels of the Arab nights, told the Sultan by the daughter of the Grand Visir.
The magic and beauty of the Riad atmosphere is largely due to the charm of Giorgina and Massimo, the owners, and to the delicacy of the whole personnel. We will remember forever the dinner with Giorgina, Massimo and wonderful people from any part of the world, tasting the excellent taijines prepared by the staff of the Riad.
The luxury rooms, each different from the others, make you part of the wonders of this
magic city. Le Clos des Arts thus helps the guest to enter immediately the atmosphere and beauty of Marrakech.
We thus advise smart and bright travellers in Morocco, to take advantage of the enchantment of this Riad.

Armanda e Roberto, Bologna, Italy

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed at Riad Clos des Arts for 1 week as part of our honeymoon, and we absolutely loved it.
Massimo and Giorgina are brilliant hosts, with fantastic recommendations and suggestions. Massimo also has some fascinating tales to tell, from having lived in Tanzania, Angola and now Morocco. All the staff were superb - friendly, helpful and welcoming.
We stayed in the Turquoise Room which is beautiful, as is the terrace and the whole Riad.
Couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

From the moment I booked via email and Giorgina responded answering all my questions I knew I'd made a great choice. For a few days I was travelling alone and the hotel would no doubt make all the difference to my discovery of this incredible city. Owners Giorgina and Masimo were great- from organising my transfer, talking me through the best places to eat and streets to visit - you must do the Museum of Photography, to kindly going to pick up a bus ticket, booking a cooking course with Souk Cuisine - immense fun, and inviting me to join them for dinner. Talking of which house chef Hiba cooked the best tagine of my holiday - just let them know by early afternoon if you would like to eat in and a sumptious feast (or snack) can be arranged. The location is truly excellent - 6 mins to Place Jemma el Fna.I felt totally safe walking around after dark. Having returned twice to the city after I left them I realised how lucky I had been in this respect - the shopping street they are next too has a good selection of most things available in the souk but without the tourist crowds. Breakfast on the roof was delicious and set you up for the day. Sun loungers with towels and big straw hats are positioned close to a small cooling plunge pool - heavenly on a hot day. I really noticed in my two weeks in Morroco how naturally curteous Morroccans are to guests and how they genuinely want to ensure you have a good time - none more so than the staff here -El Makky and Mohammet just two whose name I remember. Oh a few other bits... lovely eye for detail, great housekeeping and Masimo knows of a tremendous hammam round the corner.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxed_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Everything about our stay at Le Clos des Arts was outstanding. The service offered by Giorgina, Massimo and their team was fantastic. The location of the riad could not be any better - in the heart of the Medina but far enough away from the main street to be a quiet, oasis of calm and peace. You could not hear a single thing from the outside world, but a 5 minute walk and you are in the main square. Unbelievable. The riad itself is beautiful, the room we stayed in (Ambre) was great, spacious, clean and charming. We were here for 5 days and nights. Giorgina and Massimo gave us all the information that we needed to make the stay memorable. They booked us into 3 fantastic restaurants and the night that we ate at the riad, the food was just as good. They also gave us enough advise on local customs, language and places to visit to make it a perfect trip. We could not recommend le Clos des Arts highly enough. We will definitely return. We wanted a relaxing but interesting time and the riad was great for that - there is a fabulous terrace at the top for sunbathing and relaxing after the bedlam of the souks and the square. Thanks guys for making a birthday treat so special.

One word of warning (not to do with the hotel) - dont take money out of the post office ATM machines - we tried twice, got no money, but have been debited out of our account! Save yourself the bother and use the atm by the square!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iansally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 499 in Marrakech
2,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing