We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brautful Riad”
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Amina
Ranked #117 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wonderful medina in the madness of Marrakech. Miriam was very welcoming, she is just the nicest lady and very helpful. It was an easy walk to the souks and the square which is always the place to be at sunset. Cannot recommend this riad enough. It is the only place to stay in Marrakech in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Can't really add anything that hasn't already been said. We had a lovely warm welcome, the manager Miriam is friendliness personified and the other staff are very helpful too. The food is good, the rooms clean, there's a fantastic terrace on the roof and it is only 15 minutes walk from the main square. Miriam recommended a great local restaurant when we wanted to have a more special meal. I'd advise anybody to avoid the local street cafe, next to the Sidi Ben Slimane mosque, because they will rip you off, or try to at any rate.

My only quibbles with the Riad Amina would be that the service over dinner was not as attentive as it was in every other respect, but then it is not a restaurant and the staff not trained waitresses. Also, and I feel ridiculous saying it, but they could ask you what jam you want with breakfast, and whether you want croissant and/or pain au chocolat, since there are options, rather than assuming. Given that the only two things I could fault you should get an idea of how good this place is.

Thanks Miriam for a wonderful stay and I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Riad Amina is reached through a maze of tiny alleys situated in the northern part of Marrakesh's ancient Medina. You might not guess that such a beautiful and calming guest house sits behind the high flanking walls and noise surrounding you as you find your way through.

We arrived late - Morocco's passport control being the one down point to an otherwise excellent short break, keeping us waiting in rabble-like queues for two hours - but were given a warm welcome and shown to our rooms upon arrival (a bottle of wine helping to take the edge off the day). The standard rooms - that we stayed in - were a good enough size. We were up on the first floor balcony, that circled a beautifully tiled central court yard containing a lime tree, an orange tree, two tall palms, and where the french-style continental breakfast was served every morning.

The desert-red rooms have a good sized double bed, traditional Moroccan brass wash basin in the bathroom, and Moroccan wood furnishings and metalwork. We had a nose in some other rooms and can confirm they are all as nice as the one we stayed in.

The next morning we met our warm and helpful hostess, Miriam. Miriam is happy to help you with anything you might need - directions, advice on what to go and find, and how to negotiate your way around the town. She's always smiling and always friendly.

The Riad also has a lovely roof top terrace that offers great views across the Medina and is a great spot to relax and have a drink in the sun too, surrounded by beautiful flowers and with a plunge pool on hand for when things get too hot.

All in all, highly recommended.

p.s. the only reason why we rated the 'sleep quality' as a three was because the Riad is situated amongst some Mosques, whose morning prayers - at 5am, and through some pretty archaic loudspeakers - were a little harsh on the ears. But you're in Marrakesh - what do you expect?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaultnHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We cannot begin to let you know what a great place this is. Yes it's hidden within a rabbit warren of back streets but once there it is a veritable oasis of calm and quiet. Watch the door as you go in - no matter how tall. Once inside, Miriam the owner greets you and makes you feel at home. All the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble, believe us. The food is excellent. From a great tasting breakfast to an evening meal should you so wish. Very reasonably priced too.

We have just left this Riad and we could not wait to tell all. We witnessed a rainstorm which was fantastic. The taxi journey to the square is no more than 50dh but try and haggle. Great near by café to the hotel. The owners look like Moroccan 'Mitchell Brothers' but good food and tea.

The Amina is THE place to stay in Marrakech and handy for along weekend trip. Give it a go!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 - HUGE bed. Very comfy!! Quiet and good view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy.lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Staying at Riad Amina on our first trip to Marrakech was definitely the right choice. Miriam and the team were so helpful and welcoming making our stay really special. Navigating the medina streets isn't easy and we were given maps and pointers to find our way round. 10 minutes away from the main square and many of the main sights too.

We found the breakfasts to be ample and the courtyard was cool and peaceful to start the day. The rooftop jacuzzi was a welcome retreat after a long day in the hot city too. A great choice all round.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_bloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My fiancée and I came here for our anniversary and it definitely made our holiday memorable. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely French couple who are currently running the riad. They gave us traditional Moroccan tea /snacks etc and made us feel very welcome. Likewise, they always accommodated to our needs and were generally very friendly.

The rooms are stylish and cleaned daily, as is the rest of the riad. It is particularly nice at night whereby the lanterns are lit and mellow music is sometimes played, which makes for a very relaxing and romantic atmosphere.

We did however find the location a slight issue. This riad is situated in an area not too far from the souks, surrounded by hustle and bustle. It can be difficult to locate the riad and we did get lost on one occasion, which can be disorientating at the best of times but particularly in Marrakech-this is a place where we discovered that you have to be very cautious, I.e. personal belongings etc.

This is a fantastic accommodation which cannot be faulted. However, the location is not ideal for the reasons explained above. Likewise, if you have never been to Marrakech before, do your research because it did not quite live up to our expectations and on many occasions we did not feel safe, except of course, for when we were in the riad. It provided peace and tranquility away from the busy surrounding area and we would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to experience a typical Moroccan riad as opposed to a hotel complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSilva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Riad Amina is exactly what we were hoping for. A little north of the souks it is an oasis of quiet from the hectic city. Miriam and her team were welcoming.

We experienced both lunch and evening meals here and were not disappointed with the variety and choice on offer. We enjoyed drinks served on the roof terrace and mint tea and Morrocan petits four in the courtyard.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were cheerfully provided for throughout our stay.

We would thoroughly recommend the Riad Amina. One tip for the first time visitor to Marrakech - Ask the Riad to arrange a transfer from the airport, it will be cheaper and you won't get lost as vehicles can't get very near the Amina.

Room Tip: We had a simple room with en suite bathroom. For longer stays a larger suite may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#52 of 500 in Marrakech
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#60 of 1,193 in Marrakech
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Adriana
Riad Adriana
#32 of 1,193 in Marrakech
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Zouina
Riad Zouina
#132 of 1,193 in Marrakech
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#34 of 1,193 in Marrakech
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing