We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel...shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Terre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre Resort & Spa
Ranked #410 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel...shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Have just returned from 6 days bed and breakfast at the Terre resort. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning and we were upgraded to a princess suite which was beautiful. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets.

The biggest problem with this hotel is its limited selection of food. The menu is very limited. We had pizza the first day which wasnt that great. We only ate at the hotel as a last resort which was more than we would have liked as we were so isolated. The breakfast was very simple...a few rolls, pastries, no jam, just marmalade.

The gardens are beautiful but as I said to my husband, you cant really appreciate your surroundings unless you are being fed.

To top it all, my husband and I had diarrhoea and vomitting on the last 2 days of our holiday which we presume was something we had eaten at the hotel. Not a good end to the holiday.

In summary, beautifully clean hotel, friendly staff but food is the pits and in my opinion you need to get the food sorted first before you can appreciate anything else.

I wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay at our resort. With regards to the menu selection our menu is extensive and our Food and Beverage team go out of their way to provide guests with special requests. I do have to disagree that the food from the resort was what caused your husband to be ill, as during food preparation our staff is trained in safe food handling, and follow the highest standards. Once again Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to your stay and I hope that we can serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    94
    44
    45
    44
See reviews for
55
166
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We only stayed at the Terre Resort and Spa for one night, but would have loved to stay another day. It offers a very peaceful environment, with beautiful grounds, lovely rooms and a nice bar/restaurant area. The staff are extremely helpful and very welcoming. I highly recommend the spa, where we had a hammam treatment and a massge, both of which were incredible. I stayed there with friends, but the tranquil and romantic atmosphere makes it a great place to stay with a partner. Surrounding the hotel, however, there is not a huge amount to do and the Medina is about 20 minutes away in a taxi. I would recommend staying at Terre resort for a few days of relaxation, but if you get itchy feet easily perhaps then move to somewhere in the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you comments regarding you stay at our resort. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hamman and massage. We are more oriented in relaxation and the fact that you have to disconnect from your busy schedule in order achieve this. We do have a variety of options of activities on site as well like tennis, and personal training sessions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

...I was worried before about the reviews but I can only review on how I found the hotel, and I'm pleased to say we had a great time there! However, 5* is a bit generous...!

We were shown to our room within 5 minutes of arrival. Our suite was typically Moroccan style. We were impressed with our room. With views of the mountain from one window, and roofs of other buildings on the other side. The shower was fine, always hot water. Never used the bath. The toilet did have a scent though!

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful. They would do anything for you. We had to leave for the hotel before breakfast but happily made an exception for us!! They offer a taxi service, so make use of that, although they can run late at times!

The pool area and gardens are very pretty and well maintained. It's a lovely and comfortable place to sunbathe.

Breakfast was the same everyday. Croissants, pain au chocolat, yogurts, fruit, bread and jam. They also had some ham cheese, and scrambled egg too.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so was peaceful and I always slept so well :-)
We really enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with regards to your experience at our resort. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. The purpose for our resort to be in "the middle of nowhere" is for one reason: to offer you a peaceful getaway secluded from the hustle and bustle of the city. By doing this we offer you the opportunity to relax and disconnect from the out side so that your enjoyment of the resort is greater! Once again, Thank you for sharing you comments with regards to your stay and we hope that you allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future as we look forward to doing so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We arrived at this hotel and waited one hour before we were shown to our room, and this was only because we insisted.
The first room that we were offered had a cockroch ...large...which was got rid of by the staff.
We were left there but after checking the room...the shower was of the wall and the ceiling shower was not even there.
We were then transferred to another room which in our opinion had not been cleaned properly.
The whole time we were there there was an awful smell of drains and there was a bad leak in the dressing area.
There is no room service because there is no phones in the room...well there are but they just do not work...we were told the phones were down.
The staff was pleasant during our stay.
Must mention the breakfast.. If you like sausages and bacon...forget it.. every day boiled egg or scrambled and sweet cakes,
This hotel is also very remote and you will need taxis to get to town. There is no transport from the hotel.
We arrived at this property from Agadir staying at the RUI resort and spa...fab..service great...food excellent and very smart rooms..
THIS HOTEL AS MENTIONED NEEDS FULL RENOVATION..THICK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you comments with us regarding your stay at our resort. Our resort is isolated from the city for the purpose of maximizing your relaxation. As far as the menu selection, our menu is extensive and we our can also offer you items not on the menu, it is a matter of asking! Now let me tell you, with regards to the room description that you provided. Our rooms are cleaned upon check in, and now if there is an issue like a the shower not working properly the room is put of order so that it can be fixed by our maintaince team. I have to disagree with you regarding your statement about a room not being cleaned properly. Our cleaning team ensures that the room is cleaned and readily available for our guests to use. Once again I still want to Thank you for your comments regarding your stay although I can't agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Corfu, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is very different and all the better for it! It is probably not five star in the conventional rating but it more than makes up for this with very helpful staff and top service, we had maid service every day and clean towels twice a day.
Our room was spotless and despite horror stories about cockroaches and ants there were neither in our room.
The breakfast bar was more than adequate and there was certainly no problems getting extra drinks. Room service was good and again the staff were friendly and helpful.
The pool area was very clean and there were plenty of sunbeds and shady seating areas.
I agree that the hotel could do with some tlc but as everywhere was very clean and comfortable I felt that we had had a bargain stay!!!
My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to your stay at our resort. Let me tell you are always finding ways to provide you with the highest level of service and it is your comments that help us improve our guest's experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting your stay once again the future! Thank you for choosing Terre Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

What a disappointment after my first visit two years ago, breakfast bar had shrunk to a couple of tables with very little on offer, dinner menu shrunk daily, do not order the fruit de mer salad the chef thinks it consists of tepid miniscule shrimp, squid ,and tinned mushrooms on a bed of lettuce absolutely revolting, chicken tagine swimming in oil, awful,after 2 days there were only two desserts on offer ice cream or fruit salad? (chopped apple with 2 pieces of peach). Tried room service 90 minute wait, it took 2 days before we had our safe working. The shuttle is not free anymore 2 euros pp each way. We had specified a twin room and were given a double but had nowhere to sit outside, we got moved and upgraded after complaining.Our only decent meal was at La Mamounia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you comments with regards to your stay at our resort. Please be assured that your comments do not go unnoticed, and take take your feedback very seriously. We offer a full array of items on our menu and if there is a menu item not listed we can make an exception to make you a special order. Now the shuttle is complementary for our guests so I have to disagree that you were charged for the shuttle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This hotel is fantastic...a real experience! The pool is lovely, the staff amazing and the rooms spacious and very clean. The hotel is very different and the gardens are beautiful.
It will cost you about £30 to get from the airport to 'the hotel.
It is about 7 miles from the old town(about 20 mins), the Bus shuttle is a good service and it's about £15 to get back in the numerous taxis (which is well worth doing to eat In and experience the old square at night)
If we were going to be picky the breakfast, 'the food generally, is basic...you sometimes have to wait a while for orders too...but the staff are so lovely it makes up for the slow service:)
Had a very lovely massage too
Highly recommend and would go back

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you comments with regards to your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spa services, as the spa experience is maximized when you have disconnected from outside world, and for that purpose our resort is secluded from the city so that you can enjoy the ammenties that the resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.4 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#109 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
6.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#202 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#72 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
9.0 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#73 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre Resort & Spa

Property: Terre Resort & Spa
Address: West Palmaraie | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our secluded and luxury five-star getaway is located in the Palmeraie Desert, just 7 miles from the enchanting city of Marrakech. Everything at Terre (earth), from the architecture to the cuisine, is an innovative blend of old and new. Take a step into the past and be submerged in true Morocco style while being spoiled with all imaginable present-day luxuries. Our extra large suites come in various configurations to accommodate your every need. Our friendly staff and trained staff manage our full service resort offering from dinning, relaxation, activities and venturing on to the mystical red city of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Terre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Resort And Spa
Terre Resort Marrakech
Terre Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing