We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect antithesis of the Medina”
Review of Terre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre Resort & Spa
Ranked #410 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect antithesis of the Medina”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was going on my own so I was making a choice between the company of other young travellers at a Riad in the Medina over the relaxation of a hotel, and don't think I could have picked anywhere better.
This was up there with one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. I had my own building let alone room; my own lounge area, my own terrace. And all the apartments are given lots of room to breathe amongst well maintained gardens.
The hotel was beautiful and offered the calm that much of Marrakech didn't. It was so serene. I spent about an hour on the last day just walking around the place looking at the plants and taking in the atmosphere.

Not many of the staff spoke much English, that's true. When that changes, more people will go, and the price will go up accordingly. It's that simple. I got by with my English and fumbling French.

For me, this was the hotel that all other hotels have said they are but aren't! It's quiet, it's beautiful and it's facilities are up to date.
I noted someone said about the jacuzzi not working - it wasn't when I was there either, but I've posted a picture of that non-functioning jacuzzi that may show how it doesn't necessarily matter.

Pros
Quiet but spacious
Picturesque but with modern facilites

Cons
The pricing of the food/drink is a bit sporadic.
English is not fluent throughout the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    94
    44
    45
    44
See reviews for
55
166
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

People speak only french and they don't seem to understand any english at all.
The rooms are not very clean especially the bathroom. When we went there the jacuzzi was broken, apparently from the look of it, from a very long time. The best side is food, the lemon chicken tagine was amazing and the people at the spa where professional. As many people said is not a 5 star hotel, probably 3 star would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveGraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

We spent a week at Terre Resort and we can say we made the right choice. A the beginning we were not sure about the distance between the resort and the center of Marrakech, about 10' by cab, but after a full day experience in the mess in dowtown we have been happy to find some peacefulness. The swimming pool is spectacular as well as the entire building. The breakfast is really good, but maybe is the only thing that should be improved, especially in terms of food selection. The sandwiches, drinks and pool service is very very good and also the spa: we had a 4hands massage pool front and it was amazing. The room is huge and clean. We highly recommended this place.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SerenaSerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Overall a good 3 star, do not expect a 5 star and you will then not be dissapointed. The rooms are large and well furnished but the cleaners need a kick up the backside, dont' check under the bed, or window sills, dust and fluff awaits you. There is no choice at breakfast you are served fruit, cold meats, cheese and pastries on several different platters, lovely though it is a choice would be good. The pool area is great and there are plenty loungers and umbrella's.

There is a real problem with gettiing towels for the loungers, bottles of water and general service by the pool, the staff are helpful but are totally run off there feet. If you expect your requests to be actioned quickly then forget it, expect to wait up to an hour or two for towels and a little less for other requests.

Beware of the French guests who thrash their children within an inch of their lives, maybe the hotel could employ a resident Child Protection Officer to keep the French guests from assaulting their children.

On the whole a decent 3 star hotel with iffy cleaners and slow service, if you can get past this and the French guests performing GBH on their children then you will have a good time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I just arrived back from a week stay here with my wife and daughter.

To summarize our feelings, we were met at the airport on time, which was great, the staff were all extremely friendly when we arrived at the hotel, not all spoke English, but most spoke French and some Spanish too which was helpful.

The pool area and rooms were lovely, big, well designed and comfortable. Our bed was fine, i didn't even turn on the television as im not on holiday for that so cant comment on that area, though my daughter did watch some cartoons in Arabic which she enjoyed.

The food was actually not at all bad, i read some negative reviews on here about the food, but we ate the Moroccan dishes which were all very pleasant. Though certainly over priced. Drinks we didn't order as we came equipped with our own duty free.

The main area that let it down for me was that the pool side furniture and the furniture around the resort needs replacing, toward the end of the resort there is a second (and third) pool that is not maintained, the place has been left to degenerate which is odd as it would not take much to whip it into shape. Just a bit of initiative, to remove the old worn and torn furniture (which i may add is likely the result of the weather conditions, when we were there it was extremely hot and leather couches outside are not suited to this).

The fact that this lets the resort down has created a strange atmosphere when you stay there, most other people who we met at the hotel appeared quite dissatisfied with the place, me personally, and my wife and daughter found it fine. The staff were lovely with my daughter and she also met some other children there and had a fabulous time playing in the pool on the days when we stayed at the hotel. Most of the time we were out and it was nice to get out of the madness of Marrakech to a hotel outside the city with some peace and quiet when the day was over.

We also took a day trip into the Atlas Mountain waterfalls, which for us was the best day of the holiday, the driver was very friendly and took great care to make sure we enjoyed our day.

Some of the negative reviews on here go way over the top, its not the best hotel ive ever stayed in, but its certainly not the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had to organise a week-long business trip with very little notice. The rates for an Executive Suite at this hotel within a short driving to the Golf Palace where I had my meetings . In fact, they were cheaper than those of nearby Holiday Inns and other chain hotels in the neighborhood. I was expecting therefore to have to settle with perhaps dated bathrooms or low quality furniture or something. I was very relieved to find that the room was not only stunningly decorated and quiet, but massive! I had a huge bedroom, very spacious living room and terrace , entrance hall, dressing area, and a huge bathroom with separate shower to the jacuzzi bath. The bed was ever so comfy and soft. There was also a safe in one of the closets. The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and eager to help my stay in the city be a pleasant one. They even helped me obtain difficult to get around , tips of what to avoid, etc.. Very helpful! On the Saturday morning I decided to have breakfast in the hotel as there was plenty of options; continental, Moroccan but very plentiful. I shall be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Guys... This is not the place to go if you intend on exploring the city of Marrakech and with a budget. It is quite simply too far away from the city and costs a lot to travel around - especially with the hotel's extortionist driver costs.

This was my first "exploring" type trip on my own and this was not the ideal place to stay at. I've realized through trial and error, although quite obvious, location is key with the hotel you stay at and getting to cool places. Also researching on whether the hotel has English speaking drivers and tour guides and checking prices is essential for a good stay.

First impressions count and this place did not make a good impression.

I inquired via email about a pick up from the hotel and the cost and they replied back stating the price (250 dirhams - which is a rip off) and what time my flight is. I then sent an email stating I did not want the pick up. When I then arrived at the hotel this was among the first things they tried to get off me - saying the driver was waiting for me, without me even confirming the pick up. Very unprofessional. I ended up fighting my point off that I only inquired.

Make no mistake - this hotel is quite far on the map of Marrakech from Djemaa el Fna and therefore travelling costs a lot. For 3 hours it costs 450 dirhams, for a driver who does not speak english to pick and drop you to places (some which he doesn't know where they are) - with a return to the hotel. It costs 150 dirhams for a one way trip to Djemaa el Fna. As you can see it will cost quite a bit over the course of 4-5 days. And they ask for cash in hand before the journey. They can't put it on your bill apparently as it's a different process. This got very unprofessional at times - with people asking me for money whilst relaxing at the pool. And the driver's coming 20 minutes early or 20 minutes late.

This place does not have first aid! I cut my foot during the stay and they did not have a plaster. I asked the main receptionist at first - who said no initially. Then with some digging with the other bar staff I finally got a few plasters.

The breakfast is ok. But is the same every day. It's not really a buffet as I was expecting a line of food that you fill your plate with. It's cheese, turkey slices, croissants, boiled egg and fruits etc... You can get bored quite easily after a few days. They also charge a lot for a bottle of water (25 dirhams) and cans of fizzy drinks (30 dirhams) and you will get quite thirsty.

The pool is ok - but quite small I'd say if the hotel was full.

Don't be fooled by the website pictures etc... The rooms are not that great. Pillows are very rough.

They did not have plug transformers for charging my Iphone, but with some persistence - I finally got one from them after a day or two.

There are however, some nice workers there who speak good English and can give you advice on places to visit etc.

I will advise you guys to find something closer to the main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
5.4 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 499 in Marrakech
2,000 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#126 of 499 in Marrakech
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre Resort & Spa

Property: Terre Resort & Spa
Address: West Palmaraie | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our secluded and luxury five-star getaway is located in the Palmeraie Desert, just 7 miles from the enchanting city of Marrakech. Everything at Terre (earth), from the architecture to the cuisine, is an innovative blend of old and new. Take a step into the past and be submerged in true Morocco style while being spoiled with all imaginable present-day luxuries. Our extra large suites come in various configurations to accommodate your every need. Our friendly staff and trained staff manage our full service resort offering from dinning, relaxation, activities and venturing on to the mystical red city of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Terre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Resort And Spa
Terre Resort Marrakech
Terre Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing