We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre Resort & Spa
Ranked #417 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The resort is in the middle of no where and to travel to the city centre it is almost a 40 minute drive.
The staff was amazing but the standard and the quality of the resort was not impressive at all.
It was dusty and during our stay, power cuts took place almost every day.
Not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SZA1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    94
    44
    45
    44
See reviews for
55
166
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I stayed here with my friend during half term as we had always wanted to visit the area and shop in the souks.
My friend chose the hotel as it was in the Palmerie area and had a spa. I personally would have liked something a little nearer the medina but the hotel did offer a shuttle bus.
I liked the hotel and facilities - it was great to relax by the pool and in the spa to get away from it all and the food and service was really good. That said, we arrived during terrible rain and had organised a transfer with a company she has used before (she works in tourism) but the journey from the airport to the hotel took ages.
We'd never visited the area before so a lengthy journey in the pitch black was a little startling. I grew alarmed when our driver was ignoring signs for the Palmerie and after an unnerving ten minutes I asked him where he was going. Fortunately, I speak French and he explained the rain had caused floods which had resulted in a toad block. Sure enough, we soon saw the Police barricade and then some lights started appearing out of the desert so we knew we were heading towards a more developed area.
By the time we got to the hotel we were so relieved to be in one piece, we didn't pay much attention to the decor or set up and went straight to bed.
In the morning, we realised (by daylight) how nice the hotel was. Our room was in its own terra cotta building, beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. Views from the bathroom window showed cacti, goats etc and I really felt as if I was away from it all.
The poolside was lovely and quiet, breakfast was plentiful and staff were pleasant and answered any queries we had.
We took up the offer of the free shuttle bus and saw by day what had appeared a slightly scary and bumpy journey from the hotel.
We were at the centre of things within about 20 minutes and raring to go! The only downside to this was the shuttle bus offered two return times - one mid afternoon and one later at night. As you can't 'reserve' places we found that later at night, armed with souvenirs and leather goods, most of the hotel had opted to come back at this time. My friend and I had to squeeze in next to the driver or we would have been stuck there or left with finding a cab. However, we got back safely and after a great, hot shower we hit the sack.
The next day we did the hop-on / hop-off bus tour and travelled right round to various districts including the Palmerie which illustrated that although our hotel was gorgeous, it was a fair way from the centre.
On our ladt day we did notjing but soak ip the sun and enjoy massages in the spa. it was a great and inexpensive wind down after the hurly burly of the medina.
On reflection, I would have preferred something a little nearer to the Medina, but I can't fault the accommodation or staff.

Pros
Clean
Friendly
No gangs / stag / hens
Lovely food
Didn't feel like a 'chain' hotel

Cons
A little out of the way
Not much going on at night

Perfect for:
Sightseeing
Shopping
Relaxing

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almijaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

17 Dec 2012 Amanali
The Rose Garden Resort and Spa is truely the jewel of Marrakech. We had the most amazing time here and we would recommend to all to book their stay at this hotel. The staff were all amazing and the service was impeccable and we were lucky enough to meet the lovely owners of this hotel during our stay. The hotel is surrounded by the most beautiful majestic gardens anyone could imagine and the views were spectacular. The suites are very grand and beautifully designed. To be totally honest, the staff is what makes this hotel as they cater to your every need and are so welcoming. We recommend having the traditional hammam bath and massage in the spa as it was so tranquil and an amazing experience. We were truely sad to leave. A special thankyou to Mustapha, Mahir and Samad for ur hospitality, you really made our holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed at the Royal Terra for 10 days, what a fabulous place to stay. We were on the 7th floor overlooking the beach and pool and couldnt have wished for a better location. The 2 bedroomed accomodation was just lovely with ensuites for both bedrooms. The language barrier was extremely difficult as none of us (4 adults could speak french) but we would defintely go back. it is a short walk into a little town where you have a great selection ot resturants.Because it isnt a huge complex it suited us much better.

Room Tip: any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rewarewa361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Firstly lets remember we're in morrocco so the same ratings don't apply as for Western Europe there are very clear pros and cons and ill list them below:

Pros
Lovely setting. Gardens are gorgeous and constantly maintained.
Huge rooms. Seriously huge. And lovely decor.
Pool area is beautiful. Lots of very comfy loungers.
Breakfast - tasty, no hot options but lots of tasty cold. Like a mini buffet at your table.
Spa- gorgeous and great massage but double the price of similar spas in the medina

Cons
First room has a broken shower. Second room wasn't clean but got upgraded to a stunning suite that had a phenenomenal shower.
Hotel has changed hands and feels like maybe it was under maintained by previous owners as lobby toilet flush was also broken but fixed during our stay.
Service at hotel is incredibly slow. And that's when it's not at all busy. Hate to see it in busy season. Try to order everything an hour before you might need it. Drinks half an hour!
No free shuttle as mentioned on previous reviews due to change of hands but they order cars at 150 dirhams which isn't bad.



Overall a good relaxing, hot winter break but don't come expecting luxury.

Oh and treat yourself to Mystic Orient for spa and maison mk for dinner- both in the medina .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was going on my own so I was making a choice between the company of other young travellers at a Riad in the Medina over the relaxation of a hotel, and don't think I could have picked anywhere better.
This was up there with one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. I had my own building let alone room; my own lounge area, my own terrace. And all the apartments are given lots of room to breathe amongst well maintained gardens.
The hotel was beautiful and offered the calm that much of Marrakech didn't. It was so serene. I spent about an hour on the last day just walking around the place looking at the plants and taking in the atmosphere.

Not many of the staff spoke much English, that's true. When that changes, more people will go, and the price will go up accordingly. It's that simple. I got by with my English and fumbling French.

For me, this was the hotel that all other hotels have said they are but aren't! It's quiet, it's beautiful and it's facilities are up to date.
I noted someone said about the jacuzzi not working - it wasn't when I was there either, but I've posted a picture of that non-functioning jacuzzi that may show how it doesn't necessarily matter.

Pros
Quiet but spacious
Picturesque but with modern facilites

Cons
The pricing of the food/drink is a bit sporadic.
English is not fluent throughout the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

People speak only french and they don't seem to understand any english at all.
The rooms are not very clean especially the bathroom. When we went there the jacuzzi was broken, apparently from the look of it, from a very long time. The best side is food, the lemon chicken tagine was amazing and the people at the spa where professional. As many people said is not a 5 star hotel, probably 3 star would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveGraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.4 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
6.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#73 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
2.8 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#202 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#19 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre Resort & Spa

Property: Terre Resort & Spa
Address: West Palmaraie | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our secluded and luxury five-star getaway is located in the Palmeraie Desert, just 7 miles from the enchanting city of Marrakech. Everything at Terre (earth), from the architecture to the cuisine, is an innovative blend of old and new. Take a step into the past and be submerged in true Morocco style while being spoiled with all imaginable present-day luxuries. Our extra large suites come in various configurations to accommodate your every need. Our friendly staff and trained staff manage our full service resort offering from dinning, relaxation, activities and venturing on to the mystical red city of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terre Resort And Spa
Terre Resort Marrakech
Terre Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing