We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Ranked #36 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I agree with almost every thing in the previous review by Helen Tilly with the exception of the room. Our room was on the ground floor and was very spacious and convenient, but if you are after a double bed then this is not the room for you. It has 3 single beds in it.
We ate and drank at the Aruba bar on a couple of occassion and it was excellent.
The staff at the Riad are wonderful, really helpful and friendly. Anything you want, is not a problem.
It's a really centrally located Riad but not noisy at all.
I will be booking to stay there again shortly.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jackie187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    58
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
138
377
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights at the Riad - would DEFINITELY recommend the airport transfer service as no way would we have found it without this!

The Riad is tucked away down a windy alley away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina, great location for the main sights, and not far from a nice bar / restaruant Cafe Arub.

The staff were beyond helpful - so attentive and friendly, served a really lovely breakfast each day - we also chose to eat dinner here 2 nights of our 4 as the food was amazing (the best I'd say out of our 2 wks in Morocco), dinner up on the candlelit roof terrace was also a really lovely experience.

The only negative I would give for this Riad is our room was a little on the small side (it was up on the roof terrace can't remember the name), but was furnished and decorated to a very high standard, it wasn't a problem at all - I'd go back here if we ever come back to Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helentilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A group of us stayed four nights and found the owner Patrick and his staff both pleasant and helpful. The owners have restored the riad beautifully - it is in fact two riads joined together. This gives rise to two courtyards , two pools and two roof terraces to relax on so one can always find a quiet spot. As with most riads in the old part of town it would not be easy to find the first time so arrange an airport or other pick up. When you arrive Patrick will give you his hand drawn map which is very easy to use when finding your way to and from the main square. All the facilities work well including the bathrooms and there is plenty of hot water. Although the riad is located down some small pedestrian (or donkey cart) access only streets I never found any feeling of insecurity, even late at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Recently stayed for my sisters 40th, and it was truly wonderful and memorable. Rooms -Merinade is a great sized room with an amazing bathroom and decor and great ac. Irissade is slightly smaller but on terrace which is lovely. The riad is perfect after a day in Marrakech which is very lively you return to a oasis of calm. The decor is great and attention to detail shows. Patrick and his staff are wonderful and nothing seems to much trouble. The breakfast are lovely and fresh and we dined in which is was also lovely and very authentic. Also dine at Cafe de Arabe which was good. Location is spot on not to far from souks and night market square.It is perfectly safe to walk around locals are friendly. I would just return and stay in riad next time, there is a gorgeous terrace for sunbathing or chilling as long as Patrick doesn't change anything!
I have stayed in some lovely hotels but this up at the top 10/10 Thankyou Patrick and your staff

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank thechickensisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved the decor as well as the very nice and thoughtful staff. If you book for more than 3 nights you get transfers to/from the airport which was a godsend. Note that it is very difficult to find and it takes a few days to get your bearings via the alley ways, but the staff will do everything they can to make sure you find your way back. We booked the triple room which is on the ground floor, next to the courtyard which was fine for us two ladies, but if you are a couple and want privacy, ask for a room where other guest won't be sitting just outside your window/door. The bathroom was a dream as well as the lovely bath products that were addicting. The food was good and the service amazing, but we cannot compare it to much else since we rarely ate elsewhere. We especially liked the attentive service and gentle nature of Mr. Hicham and the other staff, given that we were two women travelers who were made to feel very uncomfortable outside of the hotel by Moroccan men in general. We did book a great camel ride (actually a dromedary) by the owner of the Riad and it was the highlight of our trip. The owner also booked us a guide (Mr. Riz) to visit the market (zouk) which I would NOT recommend due to him only speaking French, taking us to his friend's shops, talking on his cell constantly and walking so fast he lost us twice in the market; not to mention being sexually harassed at a shoe store while he took tea with the shop owner outside. Although this is not a direct reflection on the Riad, it should be noted that any tour you book via the hotel has to be paid at the hotel, which puts the responsibility of the extracurricular services on the hotel. They also booked us a private driver & guide to Ouarzazate for the day and although we liked it, we were not told of the extra charges that were not included in the higher price (25 euro more vs. tours advertised on the back of the hotel given map) until we were at the sites. So make sure to ask for exactly what is and is not included in all hotel booked excursions. Most important note is to make sure you have enough cash at the end of your stay to pay the bill since they do not take credit cards and their exchange rate is not very favorable as that of a bank. All in all, the place is very nice and the service by all of its staff superb.

On a separate note re shopping, before you purchase anything in the market I highly recommend first visiting the "Ensemble Artisanal:" – a government backed handicraft center. Prices are fixed and without pushy salesmen persuading you to buy overpriced Moroccan goods of unknown origin. It is about one block up from the Koutoubia mosque on Avenue Mohammed V. After the hassles at the market, we found we got better deals here plus quality items minus the headaches from 2hr bargaining sessions. Also you get to see the craftsmen at work and some stores benefit women cooperatives directly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The riad is a great starting point to explore Marrakech. It is well situated close to the Medina and a 5-10 minute walk to Jemaa el-Fna. Though it is initially difficult to find, the staff of the riad will generally meet you when you first arrive to navigate you through the alleys. The riad is comfortable, well maintained and the beautifully renovated. There are several rooms available, and whilst the room that I had was small, it was clean and very comfortable. The charm of this riad is the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff. The staff were not overbearing, and provided invaluable advice on places to visit, eat and were a wealth of information. Overall I had an incredibly pleasant stay at this riad.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_ian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Our first trip to Marrakech was made special by staying at this Riad. Close to major tourist attractions in the heart of the Medina it is very well located. All the staff are extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to see that we were well looked after. Patrick the owner is a perfect host and keen to share details of his expriences as a Frenchman owning, restoring and running a Riad in Marakech.

Our bedroom was large and comfortable and the double bathroom including 3 or 4 person bath was something special!

The alleyways leading from the main street down to the riad are scary at first but safe even at night but we were very glad we had booked a driver, organised by the Riad, to collect us from the airport as this meant we were met in the main street at the taxi drop-off point by the hotel staff and escorted the few hundred yards to the door. We woudn't have found it otherwise but once you know where it is and get your bearings, it's easy enough.

Food taken either in the downstairs courtyard or the rooftop terrace was very good and some of the bast we experienced in the city, including from those reastaurants (both higher and lower priced) recommended in our guide book. A varying set meal is served each evening with no menu and no options so a simple menu on the table decscribing tonight's meal would be helpful and informative! Breakfasts are "continental" but plentiful.

All in all this riad made our holiday in Marrakech and we would thouroughly recommend to to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#38 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#51 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#44 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#33 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Property: Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Address: 35 - 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 44030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha is an amazing house built in the 18th century by a rich family of Marrakech. Very well located in the middle of the souks, Caroline and Patrick bought this Boutique-Hotel 10 years ago, made 2 years of renovation and decoration. They offer now 12 rooms, 2 pools, 2 courtyards, 3 terraces and a stunning overview on the Medina and the Atlas Mountains. They will both make unforgettable holidays for you. They will welcome you personally to Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing