We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Shemsi
Nearby Hotels
The Capaldi(Marrakech)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$474
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
265
43
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
43
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclock caferoof terracemint teathe main squarethe hustle and bustlean oasismad citybusy citythe ground flooryogurttaginea great place to staymajorelle gardensmin walkcomfortable roomsour night stayshort break
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Shemsi. Abdellah was really helpful and informative. On the first evening he sorted the meal in the riad and helped us choose and book a restaurant for the following evening , he then walked us up to the square which is a must see at night but a mad place ! The following day he helped us plan our route around some places of interest. If you don't like bartering you might want to ask him where "Harrods" is. Our last evening was spent at a fab restaurant just round the corner called jardin in the medina. We could definitely rec this riad even at 46 degrees the pool was cool and the bedrooms comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The riad is very quiet and has a lovely plunge pool for cooling off after a day in the heat of the city. The staff are extremely helpful, Abdellah in particular, and nothing was ever too much trouble. They provided lots of useful information and helped with organising tours, taxis etc. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was very nice and with plenty of variety.
Marrakech is a fascinating city and well worth spending two or three days minimum exploring the souks etc. Djna el Fna at night is an amazing spectacle and its great place to eat at the stalls. Delicious food at very reasonable prices. From the riad it is about a 15 minute walk to the centre.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor near the pool which meant we didn't have to carry heavy bags up the stairs (as in most other riads in Morocco).
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here for just one night, the last of our holiday. The riad is lovely, with the suite we stayed in large, and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom. Abdellah, the manager, could not have been more helpful. The location is in the "posh" end of the medina, handy for the palace and Kosybar etc and its easier to negotiate than the northern Medina. The score reflects the price relative to other riads we have stayed in. Lovely though it is, you can rent a 3-4 bed riad in its entirety with similar high levels of service for the same price (though you wouldn't get a swimming pool which in the heat was a real luxury). So it is perfectly good value relative to most hotels- with the exception of our final lunch which we did find a little steep (€28 for 2 omlettes & salad). Overall, we were not dissapointed with our stay, but with so many options available, you could get better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubymusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shemsiMarrakech, General Manager at Riad Shemsi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Ruby,

Thanks for coming to stay, we're glad you and the children enjoyed our lovely riad and especially the swimming pool. It's a unique feature of Riad Shemsi and the reason many guests book with us.

Thanks also for your kind words about Abdellah.

The suite you chose was the only room that could accommodate your party of 4 people. It is the most expensive room, but we have other equally gorgeous double rooms for half the price.

Lunch for 4 people was priced at 7 euros per person - we think it's probably a fair price.

Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We went to Marrakech for a 4 days short trip. Tried to have it all, staying in the Riad, touring the souks, visiting the mountains, bit of trek. The stay was pleasant, something we never tried before. Actually coming from India and living in a villa amidst slums was not very relaxing, a hotel would be more suitable. The place itself was not the issue. The Riad was definitely very well done, clean, welcoming staff (Noura, Nadia, Abdella) except Mr Rude Badr. I think Mr. Badr was upset because we did not take his recommendation for restaurants. The simple rooms with nice colours, thoughful art decor are all very charming. Small nice terrace. Lovely welcome with mint tea and rasted almonds.

Breakfast should really be upgraded since the cost is like any hotel. Even homemade stuff can be served well, if done with more care and attention. The place is close to necessities, and easily accessible.

Room Tip: Try it for the experience.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_adiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A quiet, relaxing Riad amongst the hustle and bustle of the Kasbah. A very warm welcome from Badr and the rest of the staff - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews