We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relax place in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Shemsi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Shemsi
Ranked #1,042 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A relax place in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

This Riad is recommended for the ones who are tired from a busy, dirty and noisy Marrakech. The location is a little nit far from Jamaa El Funa (15 minutes walking) and there is no bank or ATM near this Riad. But the Riad has a small but a nice swimming pool and all rooms are with air conditioner. Then the staffs of this Riad are a little bit shy but very polite and helpful, very different than the people on streets of Marrakech. Home made yoghurt in the breakfast is very tasty. Mineral water and Moroccan tea are free of charge if you ask to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
173
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights we had two rooms, the Orange and Berbere. As others have said provided relaxing tranquility after the hustle and busle of Marrakech.
The staff are very friendly but not intrusive. The breakfasts are good and arrives when you are ready.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e yorks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Shemsi. Abdellah was really helpful and informative. On the first evening he sorted the meal in the riad and helped us choose and book a restaurant for the following evening , he then walked us up to the square which is a must see at night but a mad place ! The following day he helped us plan our route around some places of interest. If you don't like bartering you might want to ask him where "Harrods" is. Our last evening was spent at a fab restaurant just round the corner called jardin in the medina. We could definitely rec this riad even at 46 degrees the pool was cool and the bedrooms comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The riad is very quiet and has a lovely plunge pool for cooling off after a day in the heat of the city. The staff are extremely helpful, Abdellah in particular, and nothing was ever too much trouble. They provided lots of useful information and helped with organising tours, taxis etc. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was very nice and with plenty of variety.
Marrakech is a fascinating city and well worth spending two or three days minimum exploring the souks etc. Djna el Fna at night is an amazing spectacle and its great place to eat at the stalls. Delicious food at very reasonable prices. From the riad it is about a 15 minute walk to the centre.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor near the pool which meant we didn't have to carry heavy bags up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here for just one night, the last of our holiday. The riad is lovely, with the suite we stayed in large, and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom. Abdellah, the manager, could not have been more helpful. The location is in the "posh" end of the medina, handy for the palace and Kosybar etc and its easier to negotiate than the northern Medina. The score reflects the price relative to other riads we have stayed in. Lovely though it is, you can rent a 3-4 bed riad in its entirety with similar high levels of service for the same price (though you wouldn't get a swimming pool which in the heat was a real luxury). So it is perfectly good value relative to most hotels- with the exception of our final lunch which we did find a little steep (€28 for 2 omlettes & salad). Overall, we were not dissapointed with our stay, but with so many options available, you could get better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubymusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shemsiMarrakech, General Manager at Riad Shemsi, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Ruby,

Thanks for coming to stay, we're glad you and the children enjoyed our lovely riad and especially the swimming pool. It's a unique feature of Riad Shemsi and the reason many guests book with us.

Thanks also for your kind words about Abdellah.

The suite you chose was the only room that could accommodate your party of 4 people. It is the most expensive room, but we have other equally gorgeous double rooms for half the price.

Lunch for 4 people was priced at 7 euros per person - we think it's probably a fair price.

Kind regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aktau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We went to Marrakech for a 4 days short trip. Tried to have it all, staying in the Riad, touring the souks, visiting the mountains, bit of trek. The stay was pleasant, something we never tried before. Actually coming from India and living in a villa amidst slums was not very relaxing, a hotel would be more suitable. The place itself was not the issue. The Riad was definitely very well done, clean, welcoming staff (Noura, Nadia, Abdella) except Mr Rude Badr. I think Mr. Badr was upset because we did not take his recommendation for restaurants. The simple rooms with nice colours, thoughful art decor are all very charming. Small nice terrace. Lovely welcome with mint tea and rasted almonds.

Breakfast should really be upgraded since the cost is like any hotel. Even homemade stuff can be served well, if done with more care and attention. The place is close to necessities, and easily accessible.

Room Tip: Try it for the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_adiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

A quiet, relaxing Riad amongst the hustle and bustle of the Kasbah. A very warm welcome from Badr and the rest of the staff - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Daria
Riad Daria
#228 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#106 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ecolodge Quaryati
Ecolodge Quaryati
#19 of 276 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Awa
Riad Awa
#400 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Amina
Riad Amina
#94 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Property: Riad Shemsi
Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,042 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shemsi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing