We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely Riad”
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Alma
Ranked #116 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really lovely Riad”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just back in the UK and already missing Riad Alma, it was such a relaxing experience. It's a typical Riad, looks nothing from the outside but an oasis of calm on the inside. The hotel were great in organising airport transfers and were really welcoming. The meal we had at the hotel and breakfasts were great and the overall place was clean, friendly and spacious. It is set in a quiet area in the Kasbah but it is a 20-25 minute walk/gauntlet run to the Djemaa El Fna which is the only negative when you want to go back out in the evening after a hard days sightseeing. The area though is buzzing with locals and if you can cope with the fun of dodging scooters, bikes, cars and donkeys its fine!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaD12326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    37
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
116
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Riad Alma is a 7 bedroom well run Riad in the Kasbah area in the south of the Medina with comfortable communal spaces and a lovely roof terrace. The house is like a tardis - seems small on the outside - inside it is large and spacious. Set in a quiet and peaceful pedestrian area where the locals live, a 20 minute stroll from the main square and the souks. This can be an advantage as going to and fro you get a good feeling for every day life in Marrakech without the hustle. It is also conveniently near to fascinating attractions like the Tombs and the Palaces. Micheline and Mourad are delightful hosts and will happily advise and arrange any restaurants or taxis that are required. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Like most houses in the Medina, Riad Alma is down a twisting sequence of narrow alley ways with no direct vehicle access - at first this might seem intimidating, but in fact after a few hours acclimatisation it is very easy to find your bearings in a safe and friendly environment. If you want more pzzazz and luxury book a hotel but for a comfortable, personal sample of what it is like to live in Marrakech a Riad is the way to go and Riad Alma is definitely a good and caring example of Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goanpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My friend and I stayed four nights in the senior suite which was certainly worth the treat with lots of space, traditional furnishings, a private terrace and views down into the courtyard.

The Riad management organised our airport pick up which was jolly useful as you need a friendly taxi driver to walk you down the maze of alleyways to the front door. On arrival - well in advance of the official check in time our room was ready with twin beds as booked. Staff just couldn't be more helpful with advice on where to visit and were always on hand to supply a glass of wine or pot of green tea and nibbles as required. If you stay make time for an afternoon relaxing on the day bed and braving the plunge pool which makes a lovely contrast to the hustle and bustle outside of the Riad walls.

The Riad is a good stroll from the main square but the stroll via the Rue de Kasbah was always of interest, leads you close to a number of 'things to see' and culminates in the wonderful Kasbah Cafe which I would highly recommend for a rooftop lunch or dinner.

Many thanks to Mourad, Martine, Micheline and the catering and cleaning team for making our stay so special - excellent customer service delivered with warm smiles - lovely.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the treat of the Senior Suite you will not be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Alma with my wife for our 20th wedding aniversary and had a great stay. We were lucky enought to get an upgraded room and stayed on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The Alma was a lovely peaceful haven in the bussle and noise that is Marrakech. The staff were really friendly and helpful gave good adive about the best restaurantrs and how to get around. The room was cleaned daily and was spacious enough for two. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms do get the pleasure?? of birds walking each morning around 6:00 but by the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked this place hoping to get a bit more of an 'authentic' Moroccan experience and overall it was very nice.
There are only 7 rooms but the property feels very spacious with lots of space to relax including a lovely little pool area.
We had a junior suite with the bathroom upstairs. The room was nicely decorated and furnished although somewhat lacking in mod cons: I didn't mind that there was no TV but i slightly did mind that there was no fridge. Not being able to have cold water in the room when it was 40 degrees outside wasn't really good enough especially @ €120 per night.
We had the set dinner the first night which was very good but a bit overpriced when compared to what was on offer outside.
The staff and management were very welcoming and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The location isn't bad (about a 15 minute walk to the main square) but the riad itself can not be accessed directly by car or taxi - the streets which immediately surround it are too narrow - to be honest, lone female travellers would probably not enjoy the walk along the quiet, dimly-lit streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in Marrakech with my kids this past June, and am so happy we stayed at Riad Alma. Their hospitality is unmatched! They really made us feel at home, and what a beautiful home! We can't thank Mourad enough for all he did for us! Always met us with a big smile and willingness to help and show us around. Pierre also was always willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Their breakfast was wonderful, all homemade, including the crepes and jam. Try their dinner one night. The ladies cook it from scratch, and their brochettes and tagines are delicious. Very pretty and peaceful place! Loved staying there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiciaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Riad Alma is a great place to stay in the heart of old city of Marrakech. The biggest value of this place are people who are working there. Very friendly and helpful. They are going to help you to see what you want to see, to provide you a transportation to keep your luggage and provide you a shower once when you are checked out....
The hotel is located in the heart of the old city in very interesting area. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely furnished.
Highly recommended place for of you who wants to visit this very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamioni-Avioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#80 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#102 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#34 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#105 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#140 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Property: Riad Alma
Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alma is our beautiful house of 1200m2 , with two courtyards with a pool and another with a fountain , the patio is equipped with misters for cool summer. We have 8 rooms for 20 people. Each room has a private bathroom , our rooms are bright and spacious 50m2 up . Seven of them have private terraces allowing for privacy and quiet time . The hammam spa and massage room are at your disposal to relax. Our chef one of the most famous of the city prepares dishes with market produce. Our team is highly qualified and works hard to make your stay a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing