We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hidden gem in the heart of the historic Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Ranked #217 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful hidden gem in the heart of the historic Medina”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This wonderful Riad is a real gem, tastefully and sumtiously decorated it is a real treat for the senses, Cathy and her staff take time to welcome you and make every effort to ensure you have a wonderful stay. After the heat and the madness of the souks or the square it was a joy to return to this calm and luxurious house and enjoy the cooling breezes on the beautiful roof terrace, The food cooked by resident cook Mouna was authentic and fabulously tasty - the best Lamb Tajia we tasted (marinated at lenghth and slowly cooked in the woodsmoke at the local hamman) Take a cookery lesson with Mouna and enjoy the experience of buying the ingredients in the local markets and have the opportunity of buying the spices to be able to reproduce the recipes at home. We feel like we have left behind friends and can't wait to revisit them again very soon,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baytreewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    40
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Wow. If you are looking for a tranquil retreat while being steps away from the most amazing markets in all of Marrakech this is the place. This is not a sales pitch. This was really an incredible stay. I had a cooking class with the cook there Mouna where I learned chicken tagine and when I asked about cous cous, Cathey, the owner, offered to let me watch the next day. The food is sensational and actually cheaper than eating in any restaurant in marrakech.

I am a chef and will charish these recipes forever!

Thanks to everyone at the Riad. Cathey, Mouna, Medhina for all your help throughout my stay!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpackar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and wished we had of booked more! Such an amazing experience to stay in the heart of the Medina - only a 1 minute walk to the hustle and bustle of the souks and the main square, we couldn't have asked for a better location.
The staff at the Riad - Mouna, Mediha, Fouad and Imad, along with owner Cathy were friendly and so hospitable that we felt like we were at home.
They helped to make our experience in Marrakech a memorable one. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed for a few nights with a family group ranging from 13-80 yrs old. Very helpful staff who organised everything we needed. The Riad is well kept, the food (evening meals optional) very good and, most importantly, is centrally located in the Medina so that if you need a quick break from the madness of the souks, it's only a quick walk to the peace and cool of the roof terrace.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGDKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Our second stay at Riad Dollar des Sables felt like coming home. We feel like part of the family now. It was lovely to see Cathy and her marvellous staff again and they were pleased to show us the changes that they had made in response to suggestions from our last review

In addition, there is now a shower and a massage room on the roof terrace and we indulged in the full treatment after a day excursion to Ouarazazate. What a wonderful way to wash off the desert sand and relax! It was a real plus to be able to indulge on-site and just step over to the chaises on the terrace, collapse and enjoy the stars afterwards - no need to negotiate the souks to get back to the riad.

Again, Cathy was brilliant about helping us to tailor our visit. Upon our arrival, she sat down with us and listened to what we wanted to do. She arranged a couple of day excursions for us (both were great), suggested a few restaurants to try (the one we went to was fabulous), advised us on shops for purchases we wanted to make this trip (yet more tasselled key rings and babouches!), and even found a local tailor who was able to custom-make a tunic and trousers that were ready for pick up by the end of our trip.

This visit, I had a cooking lesson with Mouna - I asked to learn a recipe that combined dates with a meat of some sort. I produced a delicious lamb and date tagine and came away with the recipe so I can make it again at home whenever I get the yearning.

Another wonderful stay, thanks to Cathy and her staff - Fouad, Abdel, Mouna, and Madiha. We are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exmoor-rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Spent 2 nights at the "Riad Dollar des Sables" in Marrakesh. We arrived late on a sunday night and Cathy gave us her cell phone number so we can call her when we arrive at the place Jemman el Fna. The riad is not easy to find in the medina of Marrakesh (like all the Riad) but the security guy picked us up in a cafe and walked us to the Riad. We got in ant the tea was waiting for us!!! They was fresh roses everywhere in the riad including our bed and our shower.
When we woke up the first morning we had the chance to meet Cathy the owner and her mother (both from Canne and very nice). Cathy showed us the map of marrakesh and told us what to do during our stay. She also walked us through the medina. Everybody in the medinal knows Cathy and she had a very good reputation!!!

I recomment this riad to all of you! They make you feel like home!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Riad Dollar des Sables. We had a double room overlooking the main courtyard which was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff were all lovely and very helpful, and Cathy was an excellent host sharing her local knowledge and recommendations. The location was really central and enabled us to get our bearings in the souks. We really enjoyed our meal cooked to order, fresh that same day - the fish tagine was amazing and the traditional soup and salads to start were excellent as well. If we could change one thing, it would be be hot water! I think this just a consequence of such an old traditional house but a little frustrating you couldn't have a decent shower. I would definitely recommend the Riad and I would return for another stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_haddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#121 of 499 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#285 of 499 in Marrakech
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#250 of 499 in Marrakech
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#170 of 499 in Marrakech
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#263 of 499 in Marrakech
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#153 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dollar Des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dollar Des Sables

Property: Riad Dollar Des Sables
Address: 13 Derb Deffa Ourbaa | Laksour Smarinne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dollar des Sables is a nice traditional guest house of 6 rooms ( 3 doubles, 2 twins and a very romantic Suite for two and can be transformed into a triple with an extra charge ). The ideal location inside the Medina ( 400 meters walk from Jema El Fnaa Square) allows you to explore the city easily. The Riad is located at the entrance of the main Souk,called "Smarinnne" and the famous Square "Jema el Fna" only at a 2 minutes walk. Upon arrival, we recommend you to book our airport pick up, especially by night , to avoid the fake guides; we can also meet you at the Square , or pick you up at the airport, for an extra charge (150 Dhirams :1or 2 guests . So don't hesitate to contact me , giving me your flight details so that I can arrange this service with my private driver.Our driver will drop you at jema el fna Square within 10 minutes, and we will be there to meet you. As soon as you get inside the House , you will be touched by the enchanting atmosphere of Riad Dollar des Sables. The whole staff is welcoming you with a smile, and a special attention : coloured candles, fresh roses petals at your feet, delicate flavor in the air and oriental music..Just to make you feel in the mood and comfortable.Passing through the corridor, you will discover the peaceful courtyard and its fountain made of traditional mosaics.On its terrace, Riad Dollar des Sables offers a relaxing and traditional Hammam ( run with wood) and massages for a very good price;First, you will be invited to share with me (Cathy) a sweet refreshing mint tea and moroccan pastries.As I'm living all year long in Marrakesh since 2006, I know quite well the city and shall be happy to share with you my experience , giving you all the useful information and good adresses to enjoy your stay .We shall give you a map to sign the main monuments to visit or restaurants around. We can also provide moroccan meals at the Riad,cooking classes ( mornings) with my cook Mouna, guided tours in your language with official guides, or excursionsinthe surroundings of the city, body treatments at the Riad provided by professionals only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dollar Des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing