We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and secure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Amira Victoria
Ranked #454 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Calm and secure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed here on our first trip to Marrakesh. At the airport we misread a handheld sign and were driven to the wrong riad. The mistake was ours, but the owner immediately became involved and resolved the situation. We found him to be an exceptionally graceful man who made us feel welcome and at ease. The entire riad is a labor of love. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The courtyard is a delight. One could spend an entire afternoon there, reading and napping in one of the many nooks and crannies. For evenings, I recommend the rooftop terrace, perfectly designed to provide private spaces for hanging out while looking out over the medina's rooftops. The staff was courteous and helpful. Honestly, I have nothing negative to say. Our expectations were well exceeded.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    82
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
34
113
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I really liked this riad.
lovely helpful staff, good breakfast, quiet after a day in the center and really close to the museum. its really good value for what you get.

I did have to carry a leaflet with a map on the back as some taxi drivers did not know where it was. you can walk into town, but we had problems getting lost the first few nights.Some small problems with the plumbing but I would totally use this riad again.

pay by cash and CHECK THE QUOTE ! I think the manager was lovely but we almost payed for a day more than we stayed? (+ 3 euro a day each tax )

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lov3rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Upon arriving here we were very impressed with the design and layout of this beautiful little Riad in the heart of the Medina. During our stay the impression never faded as we had peaceful sleeps, a lovely breakfast (the Morrocan pancake 'beghrir' was the best we had!) and helpful service. Other reviews have stated that the English speaking manager was only there in the morning however we found him to be there in the afternoon after a long day exploring the city. Upon leaving he was kind enough to drop us at the taxi stand and when unable to spot any taxis, continued to drive us to the bus station on the other side of the town! Can't ask for much more than that... My only complaint was that the Riad was hard to find as it is in the heart of the Medina, however after staying at other Riads we've realised that this is a common problem in the Medina. That's just what Marrakech is like, and if you go there you should stay in the Medina as the Ville Nouvelle is not very interesting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haloomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed for a week in October 2010. The riad was extremely difficult to find, but after a while you get the hang of the roads. They obviously had no coherent design (being so old), so sometimes roads don't go through to other roads like you'd expect. Sometimes they turn into caves. This riad wasn't too far from the Main Square, though. Maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the town center, through the Souks. Neighborhood is pretty quiet, but the rooms are about fifty feet behind the thick entrance door, so you won't have to worry about noise. Except in the morning, of course. Then, there will be extremely noisy loudspeakers where you will hear the call to prayer. It's not easy to sleep through, but it can be heard nearly everywhere in Old Marrakech. They are all out of sync ever so slightly from all over, so if you are unfamiliar with Muslim culture, it might seem very strange.

The staff speaks Arabic and French only, with the exception of the owner. He speaks excellent English. His pricing was exactly as stated on the third party room booking website we used. He also helped arrange a trip for us, with some of the other riad guests, to visit an Atlantic Ocean beach town that was an old Portuguese port city. When you get to the riad, you'll have to knock on the door. It might take them a minute to answer, the staff lives upstairs. You'll have to have your reservation papers on hand if the owner isn't there, because they literally don't speak a word of English. It might be a good idea to translate the reservations into French. We didn't, and it took them a while to figure it all out, but they did. They took us to the common area and served us mint tea and cookies and were very kind. They cleaned our rooms quickly (they were clearly already cleaned) before giving us the keys. You will have to leave the key with the doorman every time you want to leave the Riad. But he is up at all hours of the night, so it shouldn't be an issue if you get back late-- although the city generally shuts down after midnight. They will serve you breakfast every morning. They have delicious orange juice and an assortment of rolls and bread, with some jam. Pretty simple, but good. The riad can also provide you with a city map, for a minimal cost.

The rooms are very clean. Bathrooms are really nice. Showers are cool. Beds very comfortable, lighting good. Table and chairs provided in our room. You can go to the top of the riad to find another well-furnished common area, with a view of half of the city. It's an interesting view-- the city looks different from above, covered in satellite dishes. The doorman does carpentry up there in the morning time, after breakfast.

Best of all, the riad is very large space-wise, but very small patron-wise. I think there are around twelve rooms, so while you can interact with other guests, it's going to be tight knit and cozy, rather than distant and crowded like a hotel might be.

Amira Victoria does not have power converters. Does have plenty of plugs. Good, wireless internet-- faster than I expected for this city (about 100 KB/S download speeds). The riad can help you get a taxi when you leave, or if you want to go somewhere at any point during your stay. They can also make you lunch and dinner if you ask, including vegetarian meals, but they said they charge between 15 and 20 euro per person if I recall.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

we stayed for 3 nights and i have to say the hotel is fantastic and the staff are very friendly. however, i was left with a bitter taste when it came to check out time. by the time the owner had converted the bill to euro, then converted it to british pounds, the initial price of £150 had risen to £212.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncealibertine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

This Riad was easy to find, once taxi driver dropped us near Bab Kechich. Just follow the main street going inside and look for Derb EL Baroud. You will find the name of every Derb written over the entrance of every street. 12 signify the house number.
This riad is just beside Ben Youssef Madrassa and about 5 mins walk to Souq (main market of marrakech old city). Going through the Souq, you can reach "Djemaa El-Fna".
Very convenient location. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was good.
Hassan helped us with Atlas mountain trip, which costs less if there are more than 4 people. Wi-fi is available as well.

All and all a very nice place to stay in Marrakesh. highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junaid375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Was picked up at the airport on time as arranged with the hotel beforehand. Mint tea on arrival. DOn't think we met the english speaking Mr Hassan during our stay, but everyone else seemed very competent and hard working, especially the man with the Fez, he was a legend! Twin room - need to be careful with the two way windows, during the day no problem but at night you need to be careful not to bare all to the other guests. Also wasn't too keen on the small bathroom at the corner of the room which wasn't really seperate to the bedroom and gave not much priavacy. Breakfast - too much carbs for my liking but the jam was delicious. The coffee will give you enough caffeine for the day. Roof terrace very relaxing. You will get lost finding the Souks but that is all part of the experience. Travelled with a female friend and we did get a lot of bother, being shouted at "barbie", "hannah montana" "fish and chips" by every local man we passed, but again, all part of the experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Ifoulki
Riad Ifoulki
#239 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Oliviers
Riad les Oliviers
#264 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#288 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Amina
Riad Amina
#113 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Catalina
Riad Catalina
#166 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad & Spa Mabrouk
Riad & Spa Mabrouk
#63 of 272 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amira Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira Victoria

Property: Riad Amira Victoria
Address: 12, Derb El Baroud, Hart Essoura | Bab Kechich, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amira Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Marrakech Museum and the Mederasa Ben Youssef, a genuine haven of peace and quiet, Riad Amira Victoria, welcomes you in from the hustle and bustle of the souks. Indeed, a beautiful home with over 500 square meters on the ground floor the riad boasts 11 bedrooms with views on the two tree-lined patios. Original labyrinth style architecture with Moorish lines symbolizing the epitome of traditional Moroccan art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Amira Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amira Victoria Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing